We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtle Nest Inn
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman(West Bay)(Great Value!)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$511
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$461
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$637
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
US$1,073
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$914
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sea Palm Villas(Bodden Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,367)
Filter reviews
1,367 results
Traveller rating
1,212
114
25
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,212
114
25
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrental carrum pointbeachfront apartmentseven mile beachgrand caymangrape treefull kitchenfishoff the beaten pathminute driveturtle grassgeorge townbeach towelsexplore the islandocean frontliving roomsnorkel equipment
Filter
Updating list...
652 - 657 of 1,367 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

On a cruise in 1984, we stopped at Grand Cayman and fell in love with this Island and its firendly people. We came back years later and stayed at Seven Mile Beach several years.We also stayed several years on the east end. On the we back to the airport one year, we stopped at Turtle Nest Inn, saw the view and talked to Donna. That was all we needed to decide where we were going to take our future vacations. The one bedroom apartment with full kitchen is perfect for us enables us to spend maximum time enjoying the pool, beach and sea. Snorkling by TNI is great. The TNI staff takes care of everything you need. Wi-Fi is free and allows you to Skype and keep in touch with family when desired. The rental car is reserved for you by TNI which makes staying here even more easy.Besides the beauty of the TNI and surroundings, there is a strong feeling of genuine welcome that you receive from the staff at TNI.
The people that stay at TNI are also very friendly, coming from all parts of the world. We met very nice people again this year. Sadly, we missed Tom and Salty this year (we did get to stay in apartment 8). We have stayed in apartment 6 also.
Most of our breakfast and lunches we prepare at TNI. This allows us to relax and spend most of our time at TNI. We ate dinners out at various retaurants like the Italian Kitchen, Over the Edge, and The Brickhouse.
We spent time at Rum Point, Seven Mile Beach, George Town and the east end. Where ever we would go on the Island, we would realize that we would really like to go back to our spot at TNI.

Room Tip: Traveling into George Town is best on Saturday or Sunday to avoid the cruise ships. Also, don't take your wife into the jewlry stores. We like ocean front rooms. Appartment 8 has a nice covered balcony for less sun and in case of rain.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have vacationed at a Beaches Ultra All-Inclusive resort for 3 years prior to staying at the Turtle Nest, so we were used to a Luxury style accommodation. This was completely different and we absolutely loved it! We stayed in the condos which were clean and spacious and very well stocked with items we needed. Although the beach is not the most beautiful on the island, it is still pretty and in our opinion is better because it had the best sea life right in front of the property! That is something you will not get on 7 mile beach. As the other reviews state, Marlaine ,Dwayne and Alan are so pleasant and go above and beyond to help you with any needs you may have.

I chose the Turtle Nest because it is pretty much in the middle of the Island and we wanted to see the entire island. The Beaches resort we stayed at in Turks and Caicos was amazing and the beaches in Turks and Caicos still remain the most beautiful we have ever seen (been to many Caribbean islands), but we would rank Grand Cayman as our #1 favorite overall island. There was never one time we felt unsafe. They don’t have the poverty and drug problems like many other islands. And they have so much to do and see!

General Breakdown---
Turtle Nest Inn:
Positives
• Centrally located so nothing is more than a 15-45 minute drive.
• Clean and well kept! Do note that you don’t have housekeeping, but you have a full kitchen and washer and dryer and PLENTY of bath and beach towels.
• AMAZING snorkeling right in front of the property.
• Above and Beyond staff
• We will go back and stay at the Turtle Nest Inn. We visited Morrit’s one day and it is a nice property too, but a little more removed and further away and more ‘hotel’ like with more people.. We really liked the quietness of such a small property.
Negatives (only a few and definitely not show stoppers!)
• The 2 pools both start at 4ft.. so not a good pool for young swimmers.. BUT Turtle nest has plenty of rafts and kickboards to make it work.
• Condo Arch Window in Master – There is no blind on an arch window in the master bedroom. We and our neighbors stuck pillows and blankets in it because the sun shot directly in which is not horrible because we did enjoy getting our day started early.. but would have been nice to have a blind on a few days when we wanted it. We happen to sell blinds and left our info with Marlaine. And do use your sound machine in the master and maybe bring one for the guest room, because if it isn’t the light waking you up, it is the roosters all around crowing.

Grand Cayman
• Restaurants: Our OVERALL favorite restaurant was The Lighthouse and only 10 minutes away. We celebrated our wedding anniversary there one night and they have a table on one small balcony over the ocean that is wonderful! Try the seafood dinner for 2.. It is $64 and comes with a lobster tail, Mahi, Salmon and pasta. We also liked Tukka and Over the edge (not great ambiance, but good food) that was somewhat closeby. On the North side we LOVED the Calypso Grill and also liked Morgans Harbor that is right by the Calypso Grill. We liked Cracked Conch which is close by The Turtle Farm and Dolphin Discovery. After long days in the sun and not feeling like going out, we loved Chesters jerk Chicken just down the road.. maybe even walking distance. We tried Rankins which was good too, but Chesters was just kicked up a few extra notches! My husband loved the Jerk Chicken and I loved the Jerked Grouper.
• Shopping: Georgetown was a disappointment to me. Tons of shops but it seemed like they all had basically the same thing. Our favorite shopping was a little gift shop across from Tukka. They had more authentic hand-made type items that you may actually want to display in your home! We also loved Beach Bubbles which is directly across from the Turtle Nest Condos.. Nina, the store owner is so sweet and knowledgeable. She makes all natural soaps that smell amazing! We bought several. She has many other items.. but unfortunately we saved her for our last day and were packed full. She said to come see her when you 1st get there and she will give you soap samples to use during your stay so you can decide what you like to come back an purchase.
• Renting a Car: It was our first time to Grand Cayman and driving on the left which I was a little worried about, but after a couple of times it was very easy. They do have LOTS of round-abouts so the 1st few seem awkward but then you get used to it. Renting a car is a MUST. We wouldn’t have had the same great experience if we didn’t have the freedom of a car.
• Beaches: The most beautiful beach is Smith’s beach just before Georgetown, and then it would be Seven Mile Beach, Rum Point and then Cemetery Beach.
• Snorkeling: Right in front of Turtle Nest, Rum Point and Barrier Reef were the best
• Things to see: Botanical Gardens were pretty with the Blue Iguanas, stop along the East End to see the rocky shores and blow holes, stop in Hell to get some memorable photos.
• Activities: We loved the Dolphin Discovery. My daughter is 6, so she had to do the basic package which is still incredible. She also loved the Turtle Farm. I loved the stingrays at stingray city, but she was scared because they are really aggressive when they first see you enter the water with food! We went on a NON-Crusie Ship day, so there weren’t as many people which was nice, but the sting rays were more aggressive because they didn’t have as much food.
• Excursion: We went out with Captain Shaun E. Banks with 7 Seas Charters because of his good reviews on Trip Advisor and we loved it! We did a 4 hour private tour where he took us to Sting Ray City, Barrier Reef to snorkel and Starfish Beach: www.7seascayman.com
• Hang out at Morrit's one day.. Although the snorkeling isn't as good as Turtle Nest, they do have lots of fish under the doc and great for a child snorkel. Tons of Blue Tang and black-white-and yellow fish as well as large Tarpons further out. We fed them pieces of bread which my daughter loved!
• Grocery Shopping: Hurley’s is the best for your grocery needs.. There is a Fosters closer to the Turtle Nest when you may just need a few items.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms in the Condos are the best, but the Ocean View rooms are nice too.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MIDWESTROBIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

1st time visitor to Grand Cayman and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Alain, Marlaine and Dwayne were great to be around - always willing to help and cheerful. They went above and beyond to ensure our experience was one to remember. The condo felt like "home" with its quality, cleanliness and facilities. Beach was excellent, snorkelling was excellent, the drive to town was only 15 minutes and the Pina Coladas on the deck were addicting! Definitely worth a return visit but this time we will stay longer - 10 days was not enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from Grand Cayman where we spent 10 wonderful days at the Turtle Nest Inn. My husband and I stayed in apartment #7 and we could not have asked for a better room. The owners and staff are so friendly and helpful and made our stay all the more pleasant. We enjoyed the quiet and relaxed atmosphere of the Inn and enjoyed visiting with other guests. There are plenty of local places to eat within walking or short driving distance.Having the car was great and my husband did great driving on the "wrong" side of the road! I really like the round abouts, great idea and wish we had them in the US. We shopped for groceries and had many of our meals in our room. We used the grill a few times that is available for all guests. There is a lovely terrace available for outside dining. Having the choice of sitting by the pool or in the chairs on the beach was really nice. I loved the way Mango, the dog, sprawled in the floor in front of the front desk right at home and not bothered by passing guests and Vitamin, the cat, made her rounds to be petted by lounging guests. We would love to return again if circumstance allows and would highly recommend Turtle Nest Inn to anyone looking for a special place to vacation.

Room Tip: Beach front a must!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CentralCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My partner and I vacationed in GC from April 14 thru April 21, staying at Turtle Nest Inn. This was our first trip to GC and I had resisted because we prefer less developed islands. But staying at Turtle Nest provided the "authenticity" we enjoy as well as close proximity to the more developed amenities on the island. We stayed in the condos for 3 nites and the apartment hotel the last 4 nites. The condos were great--very spacious, 2-BRs with 2.5 BAs, nice kitchen--and very comfortable. Ideal for sharing with another couple. The 1BR apartment was small but had all the conveniences we needed. AND the hotel management handled the move for us. Chickens and roosters are plentiful on this island and in the neighborhood around the hotel. The condo we stayed in was on the side of a home with several chickens. We addressed the near constant cock-a-doodling with earplugs at nite. The beach was pleasant and great for walks but rocky even with watershoes so we didn't get in the water there much. The pools at the hotel were much easier on the feet. There's a little restaurant a couple of blocks away--Sunshine Cafe--with Michele cooking and Nykel hosting--where we had decent food sitting out on the deck overlooking the beach. One great benefit with this hotel is the rental car so we did a lot of exploring. Even went over to 7-mile beach which does have a really nice beach with restaurants and bars fronting it. Lots of people, too. Food in GC was wonderful. The Sunset Restaurant--aptly named--has a casual atmosphere, good food (try the seafood kabob), and a spectacular position to watch the sunset. We enjoyed our trip tremendously. The people you meet are very friendly. Being at Turtle Inn gave us a central location for exploring the entire island--as you can get from one side or the other in 30 leisurely minutes or less. And you can do as much or as little as you like. We went to the Botantical Gardens and saw the blue iguanas and various flora, the jetski tour to Stingray City (OK, but I think I prefer the boat tours as you get more substance), West Bay above 7-mile, and then noodling through the villages and finding little treasures. All in all, a great vacation. Thanks, Turtle Nest!

Room Tip: The apartment hotel was quite nice for 2 people and there was less of the village noise. The condos that front the beach probably get less noise, too. But a good set of earplugs should help you adapt. All in all, a great little property with great management,
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews