We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtle Nest Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sea Palm Villas(Bodden Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Caymanian Vacations(Grand Cayman)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset House(George Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Club(Seven Mile Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveller rating
1,206
113
25
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
113
25
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrental carrum pointbeachfront apartmentseven mile beachgrand caymangrape treefull kitchenfishoff the beaten pathminute driveturtle grassgeorge townbeach towelsexplore the islandocean frontliving roomsnorkel equipment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
934 - 939 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2009

The hospitality by the staff was over the top, from giving us the best room available, to giving extensive advice on restaurants, tours, sightseeing, even to the extent of making calls to make reservations. They are knowledgeble locals who care.
Next, the place is small and quiet, with a good snorkeling beach and pool. And it is central
on a small island so that in your rented car(included at a reduced price with your package at Turtle Nest if you choose-recommended) so that all important sites are no more than a 30 minute drive. You can go to the north side of the island to the best quiet beaches, or go to Seven Mile Beach, where most people stay. Stay there if you want to see Burger King, Pizza Hut and McDonalds on every corner, but if you want to see the real Carribean and meet locals, have easy access to one of the best botanical gardens in the world-don't miss it, and great remote seaside restaurants, stay at Turtle Inn.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank mrose1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stayed in Turtle Nest Condos (Condo #6). These are 2 bed “town” homes with a kitchen/diner/sitting room downstairs together with lavatory and 2 en-suite bedrooms upstairs. In our condo the sitting room and master bedroom looked out over the beach to the ocean and lovely sunrises (if you are up that early!). John does a great job manning the front desk at the Inn, always helpful and ever friendly and makes pino coladas on demand. The condo was clean and well equipped; the rooms had fans as well as central air-conditioning if needed. Note that if you stay here a car is essential, with a drive into George Town taking about 20 minutes and the East End a similar time, subject to traffic, which on occasion can get quite heavy on this road. We ate at a few of the recommended restaurants including The Lighthouse, Eats, Cimboco and Sea Side Paradise (limited menu) just up the road. Our favourite for price, food and relaxed ambience was Cimboco. Additionally we would recommend Kaibo on the north of the island near Rum Point for its setting and food. Kaibo seems popular with residents and expats but not the mass tourism market – thankfully. We ventured on to seven mile beach and, although a nice beach, it’s all about tourism and probably the place you would rather avoid if you are looking at Turtle Nest in the first place. We much preferred our beach at Turtle Nest and the relaxed ambience and although the water is not so suited for swimming being shallow and rocky (coral) in many places, the snorkeling is good. We dived with Ocean Frontiers in the East End and would highly recommend them. All in all a great week and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Too all the bad reviews, I am glad that you won't come back ....That leaves more openings for the people who love TNI. The condos are very large and the location could not be more perfect. This is a true gem. If you want action, stay on seven mile, this is for us low key people who want to relax! Staff is wonderful too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Lovely Turtle Nest Inn, truly your home away from home.

I have found it, when I was planning a few days of snorkeling in the Caribbean.Many exotic places offered good deals, but what struck me about Turtle Nest Inn, after I have read encouraging views about it in Fodor,NYT and Trip Advisor was its size and location. There are only 11 self contained apartments, fully equipped kitchens,all conveniences, including free internet service. And, the deals that you should be able to get from Marlaine and Alain, the proprietors, include the use of a small car that you pick up at the airport on arrival. The Inn is only 10 miles from the airport and you drop off your car as you leave the island and fly home.
You do need a car to get into "town" and the famous 7 mile beach area, just to see how the huge and expensive hotels manage to look after hundreds of guests in each...The 7 mile beach is located on that part of the island, its public area is huge with the clearest water and sand in the Caribbean. There are shaded picnic areas with tables, sweet water showers and changing rooms, all free. Your car will be handy as you go to the supermarkets to pick up your provisions for the duration, and of course going out to dinners to the many restaurants in and out of town.
I have driven all over on the small island, looking for the best snorkeling, which I have found, as the good people of the hotel told me: right in front of my oceanview apartment!

The highlight of my trip was an afternoon catamaran trip to Stingray City at the outer reef. Our guide and stingray "trainer", Simon, a bag full of squid in hand showed us how to "embrace" the tame and playful stingrays in shallow waters, some of them weighing 50/60 pounds! What man and animal (and fish) will do for food! Their soft underbellies were a texture like giant portobello mushrooms, while the top part coarse and rough. So much fun playing with them. Before sailing back to port we had a chance to check out the reefs out in the open with our masks and pipes.

All in all, if you are looking for a wonderful, friendly inn, the Turtle Nest is it in historic Bodden Town on Grand Cayman. Bring your gear, books and laptop and have fun.

Peter Urban, Florida

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank eurobirdFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Turtle Nest Inn last week. It was hard to leave. The beachfront condo, deck, pool, and beach were wonderful. The staff at the Inn, as so many others have said, were extremely nice and helpful -- John, Donna, Marleine -- thanks! We even booked a return trip next December, something which we rarely do a year in advance. TNI is located in Boddentown, a historic little town on the south side of the island. The location is pleasant and quiet, but everything is easily accessible. There are a few restaurants close by serving good traditional Cayman food, and many others within a 15-30 minute drive. Having stayed at the TNI, you would never get us to stay on Seven Mile Beach. John recommended Dexter at Fantasea tours for our trip to Sting Ray City, and we weren't disappointed. We highly recommend Turtle Nest Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcs-eas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews