We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Dining on the Water”

South Coast Bar & Grill Breakers
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Bodden Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Managed by the Powell family,South Coast Bar & Grill is located in the village of Breakers, amongst swaying coconut palms and the ocean, in the district of Bodden Town and is approximately 20 minutes drive from George Town the capital. We specialize in local and Caribbean cuisine.We have various dining options, choose from on our seaside patios, Beach dining or in our AC dining room. The atmosphere is relaxing and the prices beats all the restaurants in east end.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Island Dining on the Water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We got hungry for lunch on our way to Rum Point and stopped at the sight of the lunch specials written on a chalkboard outside. Inside, there were only a few people and we picked a table in a small room all to ourselves overlooking the sea. What a view! Amazing. I had chicken stew, my son had fried snapper and my daughter had a burger. My stew was really good and accompanied by greens, rice and beans and some vegetable unknown to me but tasty. We'd certainly return for the chance to dine on the water and mellow island atmosphere alone. $56 US for lunch for the three of us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great lively place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great lively place, (no racial slurr intended) but never seen a black elvis before but was great entertainment

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sghislop035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We are locals (expats) and wanted to try something new towards the East End. we opted for South Coast. Although the balcony seating was tempting, once we saw the beachfront picnic tables with umbrellas, we knew that was what we wanted. Truly 5 feet from the water. I had very tasty and large conch fritters and the Lobster Breakers. This was a wonderful dish and only $18 for a huge lunch portion with sides. My companions ordered the wahoo, which, though slightly dry, was still very tasty. We will definitely return!! oh, friendly service as well. If you like lo-key, delicious and waterfront, this is for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Food, Atmosphere not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We visited here over the Christmas break. When we walked in there where a few people sitting around the bar and as everyone turned to look I felt a little uncomfortable. There only appeared to be a couple of tables off to the side but we asked to be seated outside. For most of our meal, we were the only ones there. We had a slight problem with communicating with our server but once we got past that, the service was very good and we quite enjoyed our meal. The conch fritters were probably the best we've eaten we also ordered the red conch chowder which was very good as well. Both my husband and I had the catch of the day which was nicely prepared with fresh vegetables and rice. Once again, 15% was automatically added to the bill which seems to be common practice in Cayman.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sazzycat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent simple food. Lots of it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We visited on the evening of New Years Day 2014. It was our first full day in Cayman and we wanted something reasonable at a fair price - we have already discovered Cayman isn't cheap!

We had shortlisted 3 places near to our accommodation. South Coast won on their online menu choice. We sat near the kitchen on the balcony watching the waves break against the shore beneath us. We shared a calimari starter, home made batter cooked just right. The sweet chilli dip was obviously not home made, but was good quality with the right amount of 'kick'.

For mains I had the Shrimp Alfredo Pasta. DELICIOUS! I couldn't eat it all (it came with garlic bread). My wife had the Rasta Pasta. Once again the chorizo came with a kick... which was perfect!! She couldn't eat it all and took half home in a box for lunch.

Overall the South Coast grill served our needs perfectly. Not the poshest place around, but good value!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John9807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Coast Bar & Grill Breakers also viewed

East End, Grand Cayman
 
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
 
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to South Coast Bar & Grill Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing