We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me”
Review of Chester's Fish Fry - CLOSED

Chester's Fish Fry
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The woman who worked there was very friendly! The food is just not my thing. A lot of jerk and curry. If your looking for authentic Caymanian food, this is it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    17
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was closed this time for renovations, but went there in 2012. Fast, yummy and cheap (for Cayman).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MIDWESTROBIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

After a fantastic day at the beach we decided we were in the mood for some local fried fish. I ordered the fried grouper and my partner ordered the brown stew fish. Both were terrible. It took two minutes to retrieve our order from the kitchen. The fish was not brown but white and cold like it's been in the fridge! Yuck. The best thing was the rice and beans. I fed most to the bird who flew away as quickly as possible. The brown stew fish was equally as disgusting. Was I expecting gourmet food. No. But I was expecting edible food. I work in restaurants and have traveled to multiple islands. I had alot better fish out of a shack with no walls as compared to this place. I strongly do not recommend this place for people or animals.

Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWonder1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where's my rice and beans!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were very excited to visit Chester's, but left underwhelmed. Jerk pork was very mediocre--out of rice and beans, so we were given white rice. Order of plantains netted 4 small slices total. Fry Snapper was better, and I imagine other fish options would be the way to go. Loved the decor and service was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank philifor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good selection of local food.”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Went two times, liked the bbq. chicken, also the jerk chicken. Had plantains and bread fruit for the first time, very good. Good deserts!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terrilovedmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chester's Fish Fry also viewed

East End, Grand Cayman
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
 
East End, Grand Cayman
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing