We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the value”

The Grape Tree Cafe
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Bodden Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Bernville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good for the value”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Located in eastern Bodden Town. Visited on a Sunday as it's one of the few places open. Fish Fry was delicious and very good for the value ($10-$12 CI). Staff was friendly. Seating is outdoor only, plenty of shade and with great view of the sea. Would recommend to anyone traveling out that way.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    47
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good lunch on the beach.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

At first we were concerned that the fish (two types) were fried.
The owner gave us a sample of each fish (nearly a full sized lunch as a sample) and it was not oily or greasy, but very light. we ended up getting one lunch of each fish type for four and it was more than enough. Come with onions and other vegetables and fritters. Outside seating (only) under shade right on the beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“All the bad in one”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our experience was the perfect storm of all the bad reviews - surly kitchen personnel, food temperature ranging from lukewarm to stone cold, country music blasting from the speakers, locals cutting line and being served before us, and so on. Shame because last time we went a few years ago the food was wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Whytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A surprise”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recommended to us. Small shack, outdoor dining. Two ladies cooking. We had Snapper and Mahi. Snapper had the head and tail still on, so once I got past that, it had wonderful flavor! A great value at $10! One of the best value dinners we had.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very popular and very good”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Grape Tree is very popular among both locals and tourists. We have been going there several times on each of our visits to Grand Cayman. We always stay at the Turtle Nest Inn, and the Grape Tree is about 100 feet away. We can definitely recommend the whole snapper. There are tables surrounding the hut on the beach, or you get your food to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnpend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grape Tree Cafe also viewed

Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman
Gun Bay, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to The Grape Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing