We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location is ideal to check out whole island!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FellowTra...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location on the island and fantastic hosts, but noisy, not a great set-up for young kids and little outside space.”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If I did not have a 3yr old and was still used to living with road noise I would give the Sun Spott a 4.5/5 - all it lacks in that case is more useable outside space. (There is a bit of deck space, but not really enough for more than 2. There are a couple areas that could be turned into an extension of the place - the jagged pile of rocks and spiderweb filled garden that are there now weren't really conducive to letting a kid run around in.)

However since I did have a 3yr old and am a bit more sensitive to noise now, I felt I could have done better. The house is nice, Ryan and Katie are incredibly accommodating and friendly hosts, and Spotts beach across the road is really, really nice - I miss sunrises and sunsets with the sea turtles. But the road noise was too much, especially since I had avoided the 7 mile area in hopes of finding a quieter but still central location. Most roads in Cayman are 2 lane and 20-30mile/hr, cars on this stretch typically top 55miles/hr over 3 lanes - it is in fact probably the busiest stretch of road in the country, and stays that way through most of the night. Again, if you're used to city noise you probably won't notice it. The fact that a noise machine was supplied (which our daughters used) tells me I am not alone though and not something I really wanted to try to sleep through on vacation.

The busy road and the arrangement of the house were also not very great for young kids. Our barely 3yr old still falls a lot, so hearing her try to navigate the spiral staircase in the dark was always unnerving and resulted in a few (thankfully small) tumbles. And having just about nowhere for her to run around outside was a bit disappointing since there is the space there (the aforementioned garden and rocks).
The road also made the walk to the beach a pretty unpleasant experience for our daughter - walking alongside trucks barrelling down at 80km/hr is not a big deal for me, but pretty unnerving for a little girl. Especially when your crossing is a sprint to avoid traffic in the 100m stretch of visibility. (Cayman drivers are very good about slowing down or stopping to let pedestrians across, but a fully loaded dump truck can only slow down so quickly at full speed.) If you don't have very young kids though, you probably won't even think about any of that.

So overall not recommended to those with young kids, or those seeking a quiet spot - go to the east end or Rum Point for that. Highly recommended otherwise, and pretty close to everything great on Grand Cayman.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Surprised to hear about the noise - first comment ever and it's been two years. Soundmaker was left specifically for guests, like you, with kids who want a little extra privacy. We did let this guest know ahead of time re spiral staircase. Not ideal for kids under 4, agree. The rock formations are part of the iron shore landscape of Cayman. Can't help a couple spider webs. I don't know- we went out of our way to help these folks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosemarie...
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location is ideal to check out whole island!”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
4
people found this review helpful

This apartment rental is near ( across the street from) Spotts Beach- several minute walk. It is the only snorkeling location on the island where we actually swam with turtles every day there! We wanted to stay away from Seven Mile Beach and the crowds- and chose this place because it seemed to be in a location that was a compromise distance wise between Seven Mile Beach and the East end. The location was perfect! We swam/snorkeled at Spotts beach each day- but the location near Boddentown was central to explore many other places on the island.

The picture here is a tiny bit misleading- as it appears to be a rather large house. The door you see here is actually the door to the owners 2/3 of the house. The rental apartment is off to the left - on main floor a full kitchen (stove, refrgerator, table, dishes etc) and a pull out sofa bed and TV and a bathroom with a shower. Then there is a winding staircase and a beautiful yostairs bedroom with a full bath. The location looks big in the photos so we invited another couple to come with us. However, the apartment is not really suited to two adult couples. Because of theoutlay of the apartment - there is no privacy for either couple- we could hear everything up and down. That being said- it is perfect for a family- where kids can sleep downstairs and mom and dad sleep upstairs. You can be at beach in minutes nad the beach is absolutely lovely.

The owner- Ryan- was kind and accomodating - he assisted us with several special requests and as two couples in our 60's - his help made us feel safe and secure. The apartment is well appointed with excellent attention to details - snorkel equipment for 2; several coolers; cold packs; local attractions details; several keys provided; shopping bags; first aid kit ( which we used;); outside grill; clothesline; ample parking; and very quick response to directions, concerns and questions.

From this location:
each day started at Spotts Beach to swim with the turles and then take excursions to explore island

we were 30 minutes from Rum Point- on the one day we went- snorkeling not great - choppy and turbid- but the setting was not crowded- free beach chairs and tables- no picnicing allowed but good reasonably priced meals available. Lovely lovely spot. that evening we went on Bioluminescence kayak tour with Cayman Kayaks and it was fantastic!

next day- 20 minutes to play golf at Ritz-Carlton Golf course and then spend rest of the day at seven mile beach; swam and swam and rented a catamaran and it was so fun!!

next day- 25 minutes to take off point for Sting Ray city- via Capatin Marvins' group- and several snorkel stops

next day- 30 minutes to 3 hour West Bay loop bicycle tour- and then snorkeling at Cemetary Beach ( very nice- reef out a ways though)

next day - 15 minutes to Smith's Cove ( best snorkeling day for us)- right off the beach- spent the day and had dinner at Grand Old House next door

next day- drove 30 minutes to Collier's point on east end- it was ok snorkeling- deserted- we were only ones there ( would skip this beach if time limited)

last day back to Smith's Cove- had showers and bathrooms and picnic tables

This was a great location- apartment clean and nicely done- but smaller than expected by the photo. Would definitely stay here again- just not with another adult couple.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This place was amazing, just like the hosts!

The house was in such a great location! Close to everything, nothing was more than a 20 minute drive. Spotts Beach was perfect and never crowded. Swimming with the turtles everyday was out of this world.

We had everything we needed for our stay and if we didn't Ryan and Katie were readily available to help with anything. The beds were so comfy, plenty enough dishes, towels, and beach gear for our stay!!
Definitely have every intentions to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeremydo4...
Lehi, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DREAM SPOTT”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I couldn't have dreamed of a better vacation! My wife and I stayed here for 10 days and it was the greatest trip we've ever taken. This rental was beyond our expectations in every way and we feel blessed we got to stay here. Ryan and Katie were beyond gracious and they have the greatest little home ever. The house comes with everything needed to enjoy your vacation yet still feel at home. We will be coming back soon, as this is the SPOTT to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kicx
Orillia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The SPOTT to stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I really can't describe how amazing this place is!! This really is the spot to stay on the island!!!
Ryan and Katie were perfect hosts. They were quick to respond to emails from the get go and answered any questions we had. When we got there they were nothing but polite great hosts.
Now to the house. It is about 20 min from the airport, 20 min to Georgetown and 5 min from a grocery store or some fast food restaurants. It is also about 30 min to rum point. Perfect in between location to anything. It really is a minute walk to spotts beach! We swam most mornings and had turtles with us every morning there! Smith cove is about 10min which is a definite must do!
The house itself had everything you could ask for. Towels, beach towels, sheets, dish soap, any kitchen gadget and bbq (with all the stuff for that as well). They had snorkel gear and beach chairs, a beach bag with a beach blanket. I mean everything!! We loved the basket with flyers of things to do and maps, also the info sheets on local fish, birds etc.
The 2 bathrooms were a bonus. The bed was comfortable and the TV had every channel (I've never seen fido TV before?!) The Internet was pretty good for an island! We had one morning we couldn't get on but no big deal we were out most of day so didn't care, once we got home it was back to normal. Ryan had told us it could be spotty when we arrived so we didn't think to much about it.
I honestly could go on about The Sun Spotts. The island was amazing, the location was amazing, the house was beyond amazing. Thank you Ryan and Katie. . We will for sure be back and see you soon!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas, United States
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything..
Liked least: Nothing...
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than we could have asked for!”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Grand Cayman and we thought the Sun Spott was going to be exactly what we look for in a vacation rental. Turns out it was so much more!

The owners of the Sun Spott met us as we arrived and helped us get settled into the condo. He provided us a walk through and answered some questions we had regarding groceries, restaurants, etc... We immediately felt at home!

Located directly across from Spotts Beach was perfect. We were close enough to the downtown port area where we could do the "tourist thing" but far enough away that we could enjoy the piece an quiet away from the herds of cruise ship passengers.

Spotts Beach is a great location. Small and secluded, you will not be overwhelmed by other people and the snorkeling is unbelievable. We saw a ton of tropical fish, coral, and of course sea turtles. I would take Spotts Beach over Seven Mile any day of the week.

Finally I must mention the owners of the Sun Spott one more time. Ryan and Katie are so welcoming and helpful it feels more like you are staying in a place owned by family. They even bought our son a present as he turned 9 during our visit.

Our stay was perfect and we would recommend staying at the Sun Spott to anyone going to Grand Cayman!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Can't think of anything I would improve.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing