We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for low budget”
Review of Villa Marquez

Villa Marquez
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Marquez
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Vila Marquez is a decent, clean guesthouse, with a frienly old landlady as a host, who speaks Portuguese and Spanish. The price is low, € 25,- for a night for a room with tv and separate bathroom, not big but adequate. The guesthouse doesn't serve breakfast, but a great number of restaurants, cafés, taverna's and bars are closeby, all centered around a beautiful square, which is lively in the evening (especially when Benfica is playing that night...).
On top of the building is a terrace with a good view over Vila Real de São Antonio and a possibilty to sit behind a table with a laptop in akind of barlike room. Nothing is though served there.
Disadvantage is the lack of internet and WiFi. But on the big square and around there are several free internet accesses with restaurants and cafés.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent location by marina and ferry to Spain. Town centre 3 minute walk away. Room was cleaned daily and a good job was made of it by friendly staff. Pleasant room with tv and small bathroom. A quaint rooftop terrace and microwave, fridge area for cooking. 25 euros was a bargain for a single room. Big downside was the terrible clashing of doors by inconsiderate guests day and night. It spoiled an otherwise excellent budget hotel, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gulfveteran91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I got a single room for 25/euros a night, just as cheap as your average hostel in a city. My room was quite large, private bathroom and tv. Villa Marquez is family run and the owners were very friendly to me, even though we don't speak the same language (me, English, them Portuguese and Spanish.) It is right next to the bus station which has buses every half hour during summer season (July 1-Sept 9) to Monte Gordo, a 7 minute ride for a gorgeous, free beach. Very popular with families with young children I have noticed.

No internet, but the town center is equipped with free wifi if you bring a laptop.
They have a fridge/kitchen upstairs if you want to make your own food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inandoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Clean and cheap. Small bathroom, good beds. Some traffic noice. Walking distance to a beautiful square.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank labedabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Un paradis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank why_cafe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsastina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Real de Santo Antonio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apolo
Hotel Apolo
#1 of 2 in Vila Real de Santo Antonio
119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#12 of 14 in Monte Gordo
118 reviews
4.5 mi away
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn
Casablanca Inn
#5 of 14 in Monte Gordo
343 reviews
13.1 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#12 of 15 in Tavira
121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marquez

Address: Rua Jose Barao 61, Vila Real de Santo Antonio 8900-316, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vila Real de Santo Antonio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vila Real de Santo Antonio
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Marquez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marquez Vila Real De Santo Antonio, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing