We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an unspoilt part of Italy....”
Review of Approdo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Approdo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

L'Approdo can be found at the corner of the bottom of San Marco thus giving beautiful views of the sea or the bustling fishing harbour. The rooms are kept spotless and are very well equipped with a huge bed and yes, the bathrooms are superb. The food was excellent and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. With the success of the film Benvenuti al Sud which was filmed in Castellabate, I do not think that San Marco will stay as unspoilt as it currently is, so suggest you go now and enjoy the small and peaceful town - it is Italy at its best. Molte grazie a tutti a L'Approdo. Avete un bellissimo albergo e la città e così sarò di ritorno il prossimo anno!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank ElaineBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Approdo Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

The hotel lies in a quiet position on the harbour side, with sea views from all of its rooms. I had an excellently maintained room, with a huge, comfortable bed, tasteful furnishings, good lighting and a superb bathroom. There is a pool and a small private beach. The bar is a slightly unwelcoming affair, but that is compensated for by an adjacent, sheltered terrace which provides a much better place for relaxed conversation. Breakfast is a typical Italian buffet which also includes some hot items (but don't expect boiling water if you are a tea drinker). Dinner service is fast and friendly, the choice is adequate, and the quality is good. Reception, domestic and cleaning staff are polite and helpful. Overall, this hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank oxonpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We recently enjoyed several lovely, laid back and relaxing days at Hotel L'Approdo. Our sudio apartment was spacious, spotless and very comfortable - though the provision of a kettle in the kitchenette would have a helpful addition instead of many large pots and pans! The view from the creeper clad balconies across the fishing port was gorgeous and really interesting to watch - lots of colour and movement. The private beach was great for relaxing and we didn't feel crowded, even though the hotel was busy. The staff were excellent and very accomodating when we missed one night of our visit due to an airport strike. The only little niggle was the evening meal. We ate here on our first night and though the senior waiter went out of his way to provide us with a luscious local wine at not an unreasonable cost, the starter of curried prawn risotto was little odd and the sea bass main was not fresh and was overcooked. Overall though, this is a really lovely hotel in a superb position and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the port rather than the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank revjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Spent a week here with 'Just You' holiday company. My room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had wonderful views. The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and polite. Breakfast, buffet style, had a wide range of choices and was extremely good. The evening meal was also good with a varied choice. One of our party was ill during the holiday and the chef went out of his way to provide her with a plainer alternative meal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank pmfWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

For the third time we have reached l'Approdo in July to spend a week in this marvellous setting of San Marco little harbour. Each time with the same pleasure to see again the welcoming staff and manager. The rooms are very spacious and confortable, each with a balcony on the sea. Food is perfect. From here you can enjoy the beach, the pool or trips by ship to Capri and the Amalfi Coast or by car to discover the magnificent landscapes of Cilento. As a free gift, on the evening, the sunset on the distant Capri.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Francesca1080245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just back from L'Approdo, after 2 week hols.
First observation, is really a younger family hotel, with very few English couple/families. Is very much for the Italians, but do not let this stop you going as is a really good place.
We read complaints about food, but really do not know why was stunning day after day, the buffet alone at lunchtime has 67 diff dishes, all freshly prepared, plus a massive selection of cooked to order, fish, squid, steak, chicken, sausages etc..truly brill.
The menu in evening more limiting but 3 courses, the first 2 fill you up totally !
Do not expect ANY english rubbish ! no chips/burgers/curries etc..this is the real deal ! and fantastic.
Wine massive selection from around 10 Euros a bottle, and to be fair we didn't really come across any other local bar/restaurant charging much less or more..The maitre d, is a real gent speaks perfect english and could not be more helpful.
The rooms we had 1 and our 16 year old next door, was cleaned to within an inch of its life, daily.
Very very quiet area only 3 bars in Town, but bus is brill and beaches are 10 min walk, lovely sand, great waves etc.
When being allocated sunbeds on beach, try to get central, not where sea comes in as seaweed stinks, and is cleared daily.
Agreat place..a wee bit pricey on the barbill, but that was our fault !

Room Tip: second or third floor definately, best views and balconies, we had 219/220 perfect !
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GeoffL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Very friendly, informative and helpful staff. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice. Dinners were good and as someone who is unable to eat pasta there was always plenty of choice, table wine and water included in the price. On our last night we had tiramasu as a special dessert. I had a large room which was kept spotless and towels and sheets were changed every day. I was on the first floor and had a great view over the pool, sea and harbour. San Marco di Castellabate is unspoilt, the views are stunning and the the Cilento region is very beautiful and has much to offer in the way of sight seeing and history.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Billsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marco
2.4 mi away
Hotel Punta Licosa
Hotel Punta Licosa
#1 of 2 in Ogliastro Cilento
493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
239 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel La Pineta
Hotel La Pineta
#1 of 6 in Acciaroli
384 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#6 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Approdo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Approdo Resort

Address: Via Porto, 84048 San Marco, Castellabate, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Price Range: £128 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Approdo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence L’Approdo is situated in San Marco di Castellabate, a fishing village, 120 km south of Naples, in one of the Italian National Parks.The builiding offers 41 Junior Suites and suites and 36 apartments (self-catering) for 4 or 5 persons, swimming pool and private beach, restaurant (ground floor), reception (24h), bar. All rooms and apartments have balconies with sea view. Entertainment crew in high season and centralized air conditioning (July to August) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Approdo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Approdo Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing