We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meraviglioso” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Approdo Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Approdo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Meraviglioso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I can only echo the wonderful comments of previous reviews. The hotel is great, the staff charming and the views breathtaking. The food is excellent quality and really authentically Italian. This is the real Italy, the village quiet and charming and the whole area an experience to be savoured. There are so many places I hope to travel in the coming years, but hope to return to this hotel at some time in the future as it was so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the small port are best, as the views across the bay to Santa Maria and uphill to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginetta632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    117
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
87
158
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have just returned from another great stay here using Just You. The hotel and it's staff have if anything improved their previous high standard by changing to buffet service for evening meal. That has improved the speed of the service.

I love the hotel and also San Marco which is why I decided to stay again. Thank you so much to everyone at the hotel for giving me another great holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bondenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed here for 8 days in August 2013. We're a family of four with children (then) aged 9 and 7. On arriving we felt rather crestfallen. So many rules! We were told that the main swimming pool was out of bounds in the afternoon. No boat hire between 2 and 3pm (or similar). Wearing a wrist was compulsory on the hotel grounds... It didn't feel much like the summer holidays! It turned out far less oppressive than I feared, though. No one wore the bands. And there was another pool we could use at any time.
The big positives
The hotel's private beach was small but lovely. We spent most of our time there. The sea was fantastically clear. We bought masks and snorkelled around the beach every day. If you venture slightly further, to the harbour walls, there's even a wreck to explore. Some days we would see huge shoals of fish. It was wonderful!
Lunches in the hotel were fab. Officially lunch was pretty expensive. But they let us just pay for antipasti. Which was the most incredible choice of around -- I'm guessing -- one hundred different meats, cheeses, breaks and amazing salads. Quite something to behold.
San Marco was small but the cafes and restaurants were all very good. Far more choice in Castellabatte and San Maria (both lovely by the way). Everywhere was relatively uncommercial, pretty and unspoiled.
Overall it was a lovely holiday. A quirky hotel. But clean and with far more pluses than minuses. Overall a strong recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B_and_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hotel is in a lovely spot by the marina in San Marco di Castellabate.
We stayed for a week and were lucky enough to have a room with it's own terrace as well as a balcony. We wiled away many a happy hour, sitting in the sun and watching the comings & goings on the marina. By night the twinkly lights of Santa Maria up the coast and the medieval village on the mountain top make a wonderful back drop.
The sunsets from this part of the coast are spectacular so, all in all, if you enjoy being 'busy doing nothing' then this is a great base.
The front of house staff were cheery and helpful and the housekeeping staff keep the place spick and span.
We were self-catering so we didn't have any contact with the restaurant.
The hotel is covered in vines which helps to disguise the fact that it is not a beautiful, period building - it's aspect and views are it's real assets.
We had some storms during our stay and there were some indoor puddles to leap across.
The communal areas are attractive with quarry tiled floors, whitewashed walls and antiques. Unfortunately, during our stay in September the hotel was in off-season so there wasn't much atmosphere in the bar and I feel the hotel misses a trick by not promoting sunset aperitifs.
It's by no means 'conference-y' but the hotel seems to be one of the main ones in this less visited area of Italy and so there seem to be lots of British and German people staying for a day or two on tours of the area.
We travelled with Long Travel who refer to the hotel as Il Cilentano. We loved the area and really enjoyed staying at the hotel.
What we did notice however was that the area is dominated by domestic tourism and whilst it is lovely to experience a less well known area - as the Amalfi coast must once have been - we were surprised that in mid Sepember, with the sun still shining, that San Marco was something of a ghost town. There was no passegiata, most restaurants had closed, remaining ones were only firing up the pizza ovens at weekends, the boat services to Capri had stopped etc. For people looking for something a little more lively, Santa Maria di Castellabate may be a better base.

Room Tip: If you feel strongly about a sea view, rather than a marina view then you need to discuss this with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fussyvegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed here in June with a group of "like minded" solo travellers. The location is just wonderful - quiet, unspoilt, a handful of bars and restaurants and very laid-back.

As for the hotel, it's difficult to know where to start... perhaps with reception. Check-in was fast and the staff always smiled and assisted with any information required. In fact, all of the staff were quite delightful and the majority spoke English. As half board guests, I found breakfast and dinner to be excellent with plenty of choice for breakfast including eggs and bacon if you wished. The dinner menu was limited to a couple of options for each course and all were local cuisine (fussier people please note). Unusually, we found bar prices to be around the same as in the village, which was good, and the bar staff were very friendly.

The rooms are an eclectic mix of small suites and larger rooms with jacuzzis depending on which floor. The grounds of the hotel are quite stunning, with tree ferns dripping from the balconies and bright arrays of flowers around the pool and terraces.

All in all if you're looking for some rustic Italian charm in a quiet spot, I think you would struggle to beat it!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea or the harbour. 1st floor rooms seemed to have a kitchette area, dining t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank JaninChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welsh Marches
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week as part of a Page & Moy Group (First time there). Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - a warm welcome and well looked after. We chose a suite (room 310) which overlooked the Marina. All rooms have great sea views. Room was spotless and the kitchenette was very useful (fridge, hob, crockery/cutlery etc). Food was local cuisine and consistently good with a choice each night.

Resort itself is fairly quiet as one would expect in April but has been featured in a successful film 'Benvenuti A Castellabate' so expect more visitors in future! Paestum visit is a must.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CroftWelshMarches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

L'Approdo can be found at the corner of the bottom of San Marco thus giving beautiful views of the sea or the bustling fishing harbour. The rooms are kept spotless and are very well equipped with a huge bed and yes, the bathrooms are superb. The food was excellent and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. With the success of the film Benvenuti al Sud which was filmed in Castellabate, I do not think that San Marco will stay as unspoilt as it currently is, so suggest you go now and enjoy the small and peaceful town - it is Italy at its best. Molte grazie a tutti a L'Approdo. Avete un bellissimo albergo e la città e così sarò di ritorno il prossimo anno!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank ElaineBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#6 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Castellabate
Hotel Hermitage Castellabate
#9 of 18 in Castellabate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel La Playa
Hotel La Playa
#4 of 6 in Acciaroli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Approdo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Approdo Resort

Property: Approdo Resort
Address: Via Porto, 84048 San Marco, Castellabate, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Approdo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence L’Approdo is situated in San Marco di Castellabate, a fishing village, 120 km south of Naples, in one of the Italian National Parks.The builiding offers 41 Junior Suites and suites and 36 apartments (self-catering) for 4 or 5 persons, swimming pool and private beach, restaurant (ground floor), reception (24h), bar. All rooms and apartments have balconies with sea view. Entertainment crew in high season and centralized air conditioning (July to August) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Approdo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Approdo Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing