We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't speak highly enough”
Review of Approdo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Approdo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I can't speak highly enough”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. My room was clean, airy and comfortable, with a wonderful view. Despite the rooms either side being occupied, and the room being close to the stairs, I wasn't disturbed by noise (save for the sound of the sea). The food was wonderful, with no Euro cuisine at all. The staff were friendly and helpful. They didn't all speak English, but you can't expect them to in an independent hotel in a small village not much visited by the British, and anyway, if you go abroad the onus must be on you to learn a few words of the local language, at least to be able to get by in a restaurant.
And the fireflies around the edge of the hotel's beach, and occasionally on the balcony, were a real bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leedsbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    129
    33
    13
    12
See reviews for
88
199
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Went on the Travelsphere Cilento Coast tour 23rd to 30th September. Weather was cool in the evenings and early mornings but loveley and hot during the days. Two superb tours to the archealogical sites. Salerno trip was OK, wouldn't bother to go again. The first day tour up to Castellabate Alto and Santa Maria were also interesting. Tour guide Gian Lucca made the week great fun. There is a tour every day, but we opted out for two days to make sure we got some rest before going back to work! The little town of San Marco is pleasant with a couple of restuarants and small super markets. A three quarter hour walk along the beach to Santa Maria is worth while. Also picturesque and more amenities.
The Approdo is rather unusual. All of the rooms are at the front overlooking the harbour or beach. The corridors at the back are amazing. Food was nice and the service polite and efficient. No problems with being understood. Wine was served with evening meals which saved a few bob! The small beach is OK for sun bathing and the sunset views are stunning. Also a nice walk round the headland to Punta Licosa light house.

Room Tip: Mozzies took their toll, although we took spray, I didn't expect to be nailed as many times as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jools_and_Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After reading all the fab reviews about this hotel, what a disappointment it turned out to be. The food was pretty dire to say the least, the pool bar was a joke, and as for the staff, you were lucky to get any of them to understand what was being said.
How can a hotel not even have an ice cream on sale when they have a massive refridgerator standing empty ..
I think to much emphasize has been given to the new spa that has just been open
and corners have been cut with regard to the services at the hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are different and have better amenities than others, overlooking the pool is very pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Beautiful location, fabulous situation. Basic clean rooms, but omg the noise. Music nearly all day long on the terrace blaring out. Same tape every day. Also they have a theatre beneath the hotel which is a hoot, but there is a show every night from 10pm-midnight..so if your room is near there you will have loud music day and night. Having said that it was the jolliest of places, we would go back as long as we could guarantee a room on the far far side of the hotel overlooking the beach and away from the frenetic noise. Also note...pool closed after lunch for hours when everyone naps (just the point when we English crawl out and are enjoying the silence and need a dip!).

Room Tip: Away from terrace and theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emmarose98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

What a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location! We recently held our wedding at L’Approdo. Our wedding planners at Slow Dreams took care of all the arraignments from beginning to end and we were a little apprehensive that the pictures would not be a true representation of the current state of the hotel. Our expectations were greatly exceeded! Not only did the pictures not do the hotel justice but when we ran into travel issues, the hotel worked with Slow Dreams to ensure our wedding still went off without a hitch. Additionally, our room was spacious, comfortable and clean and the large pool area was beautiful and refreshing. We were also impressed by the food. The daily breakfast had so many choices all of which were delicious and the wedding dinner was extraordinary. We also can't say enough about the staff. They were helpful and hospitable at all times and always provided service with a smile. Following the wedding, we toured the rest of Italy for our honeymoon but still consider our stay at L'Approdo the best part of our trip. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Rhetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I want to echo all the lovely reviews about this hotel. I was part of an organised package and was very much surprised by the quality of this place.

It is in a small quiet village, so not a place for night-clubbers, which is a relief. Rooms are spacious and airy with a view over the fishing harbour where you can see the boats bring in their catches. The food is imaginative and local, with meat, fish or vegetable choices every day. Very acceptable wine served with dinner each evening.

All staff are friendly and helpful, and the drinks prices are very reasonable. I'd certainly be happy to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose_of_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is in a quiet but fab location, right onto the sea, with its own private beach with lots of sun loungers & you can swim in crystal clear sea. Rooms are huge & spotless clean, mine had a great balcony & I could hear the sea. Food was fantastic, something special & different from other hotels that I've stayed in, staff couldnt have been more helpful. I was with Travelsphere & had great trips out, the Cilento coast is very unspoilt & felt like the real Italy. There is one big BUT with this hotel, the temperature was at times 40c... But the hotel refused to put the air conditioning on, they said they can not do this till 1st July, despite many of us complaining. This is a 5 star hotel & in everyway it was this & more but to have rooms that were unbearable hot is not what I expect & that is why I have only given the rooms average. It was a shame as this matter took the edge off what was a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: If you have a room overlooking the pool/sea it is great to hear the sea but if it is very hot you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
232 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Punta Licosa
Hotel Punta Licosa
#1 of 2 in Ogliastro Cilento
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Castellabate
Hotel Hermitage Castellabate
#7 of 18 in Castellabate
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Approdo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Approdo Resort

Property: Approdo Resort
Address: Via Porto, 84048 San Marco, Castellabate, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Approdo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence L’Approdo is situated in San Marco di Castellabate, a fishing village, 120 km south of Naples, in one of the Italian National Parks.The builiding offers 41 Junior Suites and suites and 36 apartments (self-catering) for 4 or 5 persons, swimming pool and private beach, restaurant (ground floor), reception (24h), bar. All rooms and apartments have balconies with sea view. Entertainment crew in high season and centralized air conditioning (July to August) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Approdo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Approdo Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing