We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Everything we were looking for... and more!”
Review of Approdo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Approdo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We returned yesterday after 10 days at L'Approdo and we had the best holiday in recent years.
San Marco di Castellabate is two hours drive from Naples. It is an unspolit resort favoured by Neopolitans for their summer break. English and other nationalities are in the minority. This does have its downsides. Being unspoilt means very few restaurants in the village of any note and only the most basic of supermarkets. But if you have a car then this isn't a problem.
The Hotel itself is typically Italian. The rooms are lacking in frills and are functional but comfortable. They are spotlessly clean and they all have views of the beach or harbour, all with private balconies. We had a 'top suite' with half board. This meant one bedroom for us and two single beds for our young children in the kitchen diner area. As a combination for the afternoon siesta/ night it worked very well. Aircon only works for July/August for siesta and nightime up to 2am - this wasn't a problem for us.
Being half board we were able to choose between lunch or dinner. Lunch was definitely the better option. There was a selection of fresh seafood and various cuts of meat which were cooked to order as well as a selection of antipasti and first courses. Wines were very reasonable with a selection of excellent local whites, though nothing special for the red drinkers. Dinner was often just adequate. There were some good dishes, but there were also some distinctly average dishes. The pasta tended to be a bit disappointing but the main course more often than not left you satisfied. If you chose dinner for your half board option then getting a lunchtime snack at the hotel was very hit and miss. We got some superb freshly made caprese paninni some days, but some average pre-made ones on other days. The waiting staff had a smattering of English, but one of the head waiters was fluent and was always on hand if we had a query. As so often when abroad, we found that making the effort to try and communicate with our limited foreign vocabulary reaped dividends. All of the staff went the extra mile to try and help.
Evenings had entertainment on every night (though this is in season - July/August). There are a group of dancers from a Roman dance academy that come for the two months every year. They were fantastic and put on some really amazing shows. They also organise pool exercise sessions, step classes, run the children's club, organise beach activities, days out to the local beauty spot of Punta Licosa, archery sessions, volleyball, organise the music at the pool, take photos during the day (on sale later in the evening) and run a special children's show once a week. English was limited, but enough for the children to be able to join in with the predominantly Italian group. On a couple of evenings there was also a pianist/vocalist who had a superb range of songs.
Reception staff all spoke good English and were able to book restaurants/boat trips form the harbour, advise on travel times for ferries and trips to/from the airport. They were also excellent in helping us out when our son fell and broke his arm (nothing to do with the hotel - all his own fault!)
During the day, the on-site facilities were just right. There is a children's pool a short walk from the main site, but next to the private playground and activity area. The main pool was more used by teens/young adults as it had music and activities. The beach was more relaxed and that is where most of the families with younger children spent their time. There is no rush for sunbeds at 6am either - every room gets allocated one sunbed and one deckchair for the duration of the stay.
There is plenty to do within a short drive if you feel the need to leave the hotel - we only did once to Paestum, a wonderful pre Roman site with some outstanding excavations.
I would have no hesitation in returning to L'Approdo and would recommend it particularly for families with young children right up to teenagers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sennockred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2009

Excellent location, all rooms overview marina and bay.
Plenty of comfortable seating indoors and on terrace. Sun loungers have seen better days. Space around pool limited.but more loungers on the lovely private beach.
The advertised childrens pool and play area was still under construction and was adistance from the hotel grounds. It is some distance up an unmade track and up a flight of stone steps which would be difficult to negotiate with a push chair(avoidance of stairs means a longer walk. The area is on the side of a steep hill and at the time of my visit the area was unkempt grass and there was only a boundary of varying trees and shrubs. As it was I think it is totally unsuitable for small children even when supervised.

DESPITE DAYTIME TEMPERATURES UP TO 34 DEGREES THE MANAGEMENT REFUSED TO ACTIVATE(UNTIL THE BEGINNING OF jULY)THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM.

The food in the restaurant was very limited for choice with no 'international' menu items. In my opinion it would do justice only to a 2 star hotel. This view was supported by several other British guests. Restaurants in St.Marco were few and far between.

The reception staff and cleaning staff were very helpful but the restaurant staff needed a better grasp of basic 'English Restaurant speech.
There was no entertainment of any sort on any evening. But as we left (19/06/09 a group of dancers were rehearsing on the small stage.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0bin1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: scegliete le stanze con balconcino. tutte godono di un silenzio oramai dimenticato.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guerinoferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LiberoBrambilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Gaetano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApprodoResort, Direttore at Approdo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yahoo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#12 of 33 in Paestum
466 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Il Ceppo
Hotel Il Ceppo
#7 of 14 in Agropoli
82 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Approdo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Approdo Resort

Address: Via Porto, 84048 San Marco, Castellabate, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Price Range: £100 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Approdo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residence L’Approdo is situated in San Marco di Castellabate, a fishing village, 120 km south of Naples, in one of the Italian National Parks.The builiding offers 41 Junior Suites and suites and 36 apartments (self-catering) for 4 or 5 persons, swimming pool and private beach, restaurant (ground floor), reception (24h), bar. All rooms and apartments have balconies with sea view. Entertainment crew in high season and centralized air conditioning (July to August) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Approdo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Approdo Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing