We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Mareluna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mareluna
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Mareluna was a beautiful modern hotel with a warm Italian feel. Accommodation was very comfortable and clean. Lovely ambiance through out the hotel. Lovely pool and gardens. All the staff from the top person to the handy man were very friendly, helpful and kind. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were a large family group in various rooms. All were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmela172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    96
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
86
93
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good, modern hotel in a great location. Wonderful view from our balcony over the sea. Quiet, huge room. Huge private, easy parking. Helpful staff. Super breakfast. Easy walk into San Marco. 45 minutes to 1 hour walk along beach to Santa Maria. Only downside was the wi-fi is only in the lobby area. Nice pool but it was too cold to use it.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are the best. We had room 407.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My friends and i stayed at this hotel for three nights. It was very nice by Italian standards, very clean, a nice full breakfast buffet, clear pool, close beaches. The place had many families with young, well-behaved children as well as some older people. It is difficult to find places in Italy that are accessible for people with mobility problems but this town and hotel were almost wheelchair accessible (a few stairs and slopes but much less than other places). The staff were nice and unobtrusive.

San Marco is not very picturesque but it is close to many interesting places and the sea is cleaner than beaches closer to cities.

Room Tip: There are rooms with views of the sea and others without. If you want to save money, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The idea to visit Castellabate is obviously waved by the Italian movie "Welcome to the South" (Benvenutti al Sud). So if you have the same reason to visit Castellabate, don't hesitate to go to the Mareluna Hotel in San Marco di Castellabate.
The hotel is good in general: position, sea-view, parking etc. Anyway, in particularities some bad things happen. For example the worst thing is that Wi-Fi is only available at the reception zone. Come on, guys! The extra router's price is some 50 bucks, and they would let me forget all the rest and give the hotel maximum 5 points. Also I had a broken shower holder and slightly leaking shower trunk.
Yes, I must admit that it's not critical, yet I also must admit that I was there in early May, i.e. in the in the beginning of the season, what means that the owners of the hotel try to save as much as possible on us, guys, on dear clients. Another sign of that is very poor breakfast.
Finally I must let you know that the staff of the hotel is excellent. All the people are very polite, nice, ready to help you, give advice and all the rest what we mean, saying good words about hotel's staff.
To be short, I recommend this hotel. In Italian understanding it's a good hotel, though my opinion is that it's not a 4-star hotel, 3 stars is maximum.
P.S. There are no special pool or beach towels. I'd rather recommend the hotel to have it at least for some extra money.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evgeny_Maltsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

What really lifts the mareluna from good to great is the charm and attentiveness of the people who work there. The hotel was clean, modern and functional - perhaps not the most charming, and the breakfasts might have benefitted from the addition of some of the many fresh products from Cilento - but the front of house team were really top notch (thank you!) and would have done a hotel 10 times the price proud. Really did all they could and much more to make our first trip to this beautiful, unpretentious part of Italy truly memorable. Benvenuti al Sud!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sedgwick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I can't recommend the Hotel Mareluna enough. It provided excellent value for money and was at all times absolutely spotless and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, offering us a cup of coffee on arrival after our drive from Roma. San Marco itself is idyllic although a week is long enough to use it as a base as there is very little to speak of in the sleepy little village itself. The absolute highlight of this hotel is the fact that it has a little beach at the bottom of it's steps where all the locals congregate on hot afternoons. This reasonably priced hotel provided us with a 5* experience....can't recommend enough.
Ti amo Cilento! ;-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbu, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We went to this hotel by chanse. And what a good one! The location by the sea in the small town of San Marco is excellent. The rooms are very clean and nice. ( the beds in Italy are often too hard for a big Norwegian guy - here too). The food is good - we had half board. The staff was for the most very serviceminded and nice! And the region og Agropoli and Castellabate is really worth visisting. Don't miss Paestum. It's breathtaking!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norwegianguy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marco
0.2 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antonietta Hotel
Antonietta Hotel
#3 of 3 in San Marco
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mareluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mareluna

Property: Hotel Mareluna
Address: Via Carlo De Angelis, 84071 San Marco, Castellabate, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Marco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mareluna 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mareluna Hotel is a 4 stars hotel, 39 rooms, pool, dining room, conference room with Wifi, audio and screen. The hotel is in the heart of San Marco of Castellabate, Cilento coast. It's near Paestum , the archeological area of Velia and the small village Acciaroli, Palinuro. It looks on the harbor of San Marco, near Licosa island famous for the Ulisse myth. The art decò style is well- balanced with the surrounding environment. The superior rooms with sea view offer emotional sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mareluna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing