We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to remember”
Review of Kurumgad Island

Kurumgad Island
Ranked #7 of 23 things to do in Karwar
Attraction details
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Trip to remember”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The boat ride to the Island was memorable with ocean waves hitting us suddenly. It was like a roller coast ride. Initial thrill became fright with the third wave hitting us but it was for a very brief time. Return trip was uneventful in this regard. Short sometime steep climb to the temple and then down to the small beach. Banana ride offered. Cricket played. Sat in the rock watching ocean and contemplating. Going back to boat through another route around the island (which is longer but not steep) beautiful views from the sea. Had refreshing tea in the canteen there. If possible one can send a day in the tents they have. Since our party was staying in Sterling resorts, we did not look up at the option.( If booked privately the trip will cost less than what it would cost if booked through the resorts.) Sunset is beautiful to watch from this Island or any of the beachs in Karwar. Karwar is still clean and unspolit. Do visit this place for peaceful and relaxing holiday with fun thrown in.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nima8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Island to visit and see Dolphins”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This island is about 20 mins far on a speed boat. You can take a trip to spend time in Arabian Sea and watch Dolphins. The island has a point near their cafeteria from where you can try & also see Dolphins but going on a speed boat and watching Dolphins is an excellent exp. They have good swiss tents and nature walk where you can walk on the island and take a circle to see all over. It also have a temple on island. The food is average as they run electricity on diesel generators and visitng in summers is a pain with no refrigerator working to provide you cold drinks. But overall a good visit and value for money as we paid Rs 500per person to visit this island and come back. One can also engage in water sports actiities as the beach on the island is crystal clear and you can do snorkelng, kayaking, speed boat or even parasailing during the winter season.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank a1616061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average experience! nothing memorable”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

small island abut 30 min boat ride. it was a 2/3 hr trip. we took boat from end of road, one that goes down on the right, just after kali river bridge (while going towards karwar town). it costs 500 per adult for boat ride. no food etc for day visitor. we were taken to a tiny beach (that's the only beach in the island) after 15 min trek over the island. nothing mentionable abut the beach. there is a lighthouse/temple but didn't visit that. nothing else to see in the island. "Great outdoor" maintains a resort, one can stay in tents in the resort. visitors will be forced to wind up in 1-2 hrs as there is no other activity. this is definitely not a must see at karwar

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jeet-blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Scenic Beauty is amazing!!Resort needs lot of maintenance and improvement”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Likes-
1.A nice small private beach after climbing down the hill..
2.Blue clean sea..you can watch while relaxing on a hangmat.
3.Sea food and drinks available at the resort(very costly)..I recommend taking your own food from Swetha Lunch Home as they have vast variety of food and equally delicious..
4.They have water sports(quite expensive..can bargain)

Dislikes:
1.Not a comfortable place to stay overnight..They have tents and cottages but I didnt find them nice..
2.Resort is very very small and dont keep any expectations from the resort part of this trip. Not maintained neatly...They can do much better.
3.Food was not that great and you will have to eat what they give as there is no choice. As suggested above, exclude meals from the package..get it from Swetha Lunch Home(the best place for seafood in Karwar).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank foodfreak669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An average, different experience”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

'The Great Outdoors' is a resort situated in the Kurumgad Island. This island is around 4km from Karwar.

A different place for a weekend. We went with friends; had a nice time going around the island and partying at night. We went during the summer month of May; hence the island was all dried up.

The ride from Karwar to this island will be in their boat. Don't expect too much about this. This was a normal fisherman's boat. From the resort, they took us for a dolphin sight seeing - may be our bad luck, we didn't see any dolphins.

There was not much greenery around. It was hot climate when we went. There is a small beach in the island where we can enjoy the beach games like banana rides etc. We had a nice time there. The food in the resort is of 'ok' kind. They prepare fish - the coastal Karnataka style.

Overall, it is a different experience. An average place. A small island for you to go around, click, play and party. My advise is not to visit with too much expectations. Don't expect luxury. Use drinking water with care - With great difficulty they get drinking water for this resort.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sujith31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kurumgad Island also viewed

Karwar, Uttar Kannada District
Karwar, Uttar Kannada District
 
Karwar, Uttar Kannada District
Karwar, Uttar Kannada District
 

Been to Kurumgad Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing