We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view”
Review of Hotel Olimpo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olimpo
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Isla
Reviewed 25 June 2013

On arrival we had a corner family suite with a second bedroom, lovely view across to Noja. The beach looks very inviting but actually it's a little deceptive as the beach is across a small waterway and so isn't directly accessible. I understand in the season a boat may run to the beach. There is another beach in the village.
The hotel is family owned so does not have a corporate feel at all. It caters mainly to Spanish guests, I suspect out of the Summer months mainly to coach trips of Seniors. They had a separate eating area.
We were on a B&B package via Brittany Ferries. The breakfast was extensive and service was prompt, unsurprising as we only saw 2 other couples eating in the main room.
There isn't a great eating option in the village for families and of course the locals don't really eat before 8pm which with a 3 year old isn't that easy tom cope with. There was a bar in the village; Bar del Mar which was fine, menu del dia €9.50 for 3 courses including an absolutely decent bottle of wine.
The grounds are pleasant to wander for a few minutes, the pool was clean. Overall we were happy with the Hotel, yes the carpet is worn in places and yes the drop between the lifts would be a hazard for the overly exploratory toddler but none of this should detract from a very pleasant place that it is.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpw262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

A recent review has criticised the food at this hotel, especially for groups. Our experience was different.
We travelled as a group of 30 with travel arranged by Tailored Travel; another group from Bluebird were there at the same time and seemed to be getting similar treatment.
Breakfast was a buffet, hot as well as cold, and there were no complaints. The coffee was freshly made and replenished as fast as we could drink it. The tea was not good, maybe even as bad as English coffee, I knew better than to try it. When there were two tour groups there were two buffets; the queues were not excessive.
Dinner was four courses: first, a buffet salad; second, soup, risotto or pasta; third, choice of meat or fish; fourth, choice of sweet, much as we have had in Italian hotels. One of our group was vegetarian and a special was always provided. One evening, my wife didn't fancy any of the main course choices and asked for an omelette - no problem. There was also wine included of adequate quality and copious quantity. We were asked to preorder our choices in the morning but I don't consider this unreasonable for group catering. The service was unusually efficient and friendly. This applied to the hotel overall.
Some token whinges: the light on the staircase was rather dim but the wear on the carpet helped to see the nosings where the pile had gone, the bedroom floors are tiled so clacking heels can sound a bit loud, the motorised window blinds can be a bit intrusive in the early morning. Some people thought the beds were hard.
It may be that clients of a different travel agent would have a different experience but this was ours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PH a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel has 4 stars but I don't think it really rates more than 3 apart from the stunning setting. Rooms are nice with large comfy beds,electric shutters, a small fridge and safe, bathrooms are in need of updating but have a full size bath and good shower. There is no extractor so it can get very smelly and steamy. The hairdryer is not very good if you have long hair bring your own.There are some English language TV channels including Disney and news.The tap water is drinkable. There was nowhere to hang towels etc apart from over the balcony. The public areas are very nice, although the dining room, unlike the restaurant, is noisy and claustrophobic. Drinks prices in the bar are very reasonable, a brandy and a Baileys, very large measures, cost just over 5 euros. The staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful and some of them speak a little English. If you have children watch out for the ventilation shaft on the landings, easy to climb on to the sill and fall down. The pool area is quite small and enclosed, not a lot of room for sunbeds.
What really let it down was the food. We were in an organised party and were offered no choice of dishes, the food just appeared on the table, and it was not good in terms of quantity or quality. Main courses were usually fish, just a piece of fish on a plate, no vegetables or potatoes and the puddings were usually milky eg yoghurt or custard. As my husband likes neither fish nor milk this was the only holiday we've ever been on where we've actually lost weight and been hungry. To be fair the food in the restaurant is apparently a lot better but at 21 euros a head it should be. Breakfast was a cake, a packet of biscuits and dried out toast with a small tub of jam, not very filling.
The large beach opposite the hotel is inaccessible as it is across the river, if you wade across at low tide be aware you may get cut off with a 20km walk back! Apparently there may be a ferry in high season. Beaches below the hotel are covered by the tide a lot of the time and are very wet- good for sandcastles but not for sitting. There are other beaches a 15 minute walk away.in a small village with a few hotels and bars.
Be aware that this is a very isolated spot, there are no buses within 5km. You will need a hire car ( very expensive, cost 102 euros for one day and it was a old banger) or to go out on organised excursions. A taxi ride to Santona a few miles away was 20 euros one way. If you do go out on coach trips the wildlife Parc Cabercero 45 mins away is interesting but may not be suitable for small children as you go round it in the coach, (the route in 26 km) getting out only at the highlights. Santander is beautiful with good shops and fabulous beaches, Santona is lovely, but Laredo and a lot of the other seaside towns are dominated by hideous high rise developments. The Picos de Europa are absolutely stunning in good weather, approached by a winding road through a spectacular gorge. You can reach the summit by cablecar 16 euros return. It was a 2 and a half hour trip away but proved to be the highlight of our trip, not to be missed.
All in all, if you just want to relax in a beautiful spot and not move far from the hotel I would recommend it- apart from the food!

Room Tip: Rooms with stunning views are on the front of the hotel, rooms at the back don't have a view, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hotel Olimpo has a wonderful setting right by the beach. The hotel has excellent facilities with outdoor swimming pool, tennis court, gym, sauna, childrens playroom and lovely gardens. The bar staff are friendly and after 5 days of pre dinner gin and tonics were greeted like long lost friends when we walked in! Restaurant is fine although we felt the Hotel Astuy nearby on the promenade served better food in a restaurant with better views. The main resort, which is very Sapnish is a 10-15 walk away where there is a selection of restaurants.
Rooms are nice, basic rather than luxurious..fairly compact but all have a balcony or terrace. House keeping staff again friendly.
The only downside is breakfast which is rather chaotic..lots of people arriving at same time so replenshing the buffet with food, plates, cutlery etc could be frustratingly slow on occasions

Room Tip: Rooms come with either a terrace or balcony, whilst the terrace is bigger it has a wall so that wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1mcp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

On reading the last review I have to ask myself if we are talking about the same hotel. I found that all the members of staff treated me with respect and courtesy and I, of course, treated them in the same manner. Perhaps I have just answered my own question!
We are just back after spending a couple of nights at this superb hotel. It is situated on a promontory overlooking two of the beautiful beaches of Isla and just a ten minute walk to the attractive seafront. Direct access to one of these beaches is available via steep steps from the garden. Very pleasant staff at Reception Desk. Room was very much to our liking, spotlessly clean, well equipped with a balcony overlooking the beach and a tidal inlet.
The breakfasts were taken in their grand restaurant with stunning views over the beaches. The quality of the food and range of choice was faultless and should satisfy even those of a pernickety disposition.
Did'nt eat at the restaurant in the evenings as we generally like to explore the local restaurants to sample the eateries used by the local people. (Always a good recommendation in my book.)
If you are not averse to cheap and cheerful I thoroughly recommend the Bar de Mer at the seafront. The Entremeses Frios was absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Request a room in the right hand wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Famousotterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Went on a coach trip to Cantabria and stayed at this hotel. The hotel was in a beautiful spot right near the beach. It was spotlessly clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Quite a few Spanish pensioners were staying here, but they were very friendly and quite helpful. There are some beautiful places to visit in this region and some very nice walks from the hotel. We had a lovely room with sea view and balcony and I would certainly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel, which is about 30-40 mins along the coast road from Santander for a 10 day family holiday. We were rather worried after reading the previous review two days before we left, but we had a fantastic time. The hotel is right next to a stunning sandy beach, which never gets overcrowded (we live in the South West of England and have first hand experience of overcrowded beaches in the summer!) and the weather was great which meant we didn't get much sightseeing done!! The hotel also has a small pool, which again, is never crowded, or reserved by the 'beach towel' mafia!

We booked via Britanny Ferries and there were a couple of other British families, but the hotel is mainly used by Spanish Families, so if you are looking for the 'Birdie Song' and 'The Full English' experience, you will be disappointed. You need some basic Spanish (which we didn't have) or a good phrasebook (which we did) - although the staff were very patient and amused by our pathetic attempts at Spanish! All the staff were friendly and efficient - although the Maitre d' in the restaurant seemed to favour the Spanish guests and would not give the British guests the cheaper 'Menu del Dia' option, unless it was specifically asked for, but instead gave the pricier (although delicious) ordinary menu.

The hotel and resort are quiet and family friendly. Any noise at night came from the campsite and larger resort of Noja on the other side of the estuary. It is fair to say the resort is not particularly attractive, but it is small and within 10 minutes walk of the holtel you are in pretty countryside with a wide range of walks and cycle tracks. The village of Isla itself is worth a visit, but there is not much there - a small restaurant (which we found to be unfriendly and only stayed for a drink) and a friendly deli.

The food at the hotel was good - we ate in both the bar and in the main restaurant. The two waiters from Peru in the bar were particularly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also excellent with a wide range of cold meat, Spanish omelette, cooked bacon and egg for British guests (which was kept warm during our stay), delicious fresh fruit, creals, bread and cake. The orange juice was from a machine but it was nice and you could buy freshly squeezed in the bar. It is fair to say the breakfast coffee was a bit 'hit and miss'!

Our family room at the front of the hotel overlooking the beach and mountains was spacious with a large balcony. It was kept immaculately clean by the housekeeping staff. There was a small minibar in the room, but if you want a 'brew' you will have to bring your own travel kettle and supplies.

There is a kids' club at the hotel and there is traditional Spanish entertainment at the weekend. There is also a disco bar in the basement, but we never ventured that far!

We took canoes and were able to launch them from the hotel beach.

All in all a brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JannerbirdPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Bella & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Estrella del Norte
0.2 mi away
Astuy Apartamentos
Astuy Apartamentos
#2 of 11 in Isla
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pineda-Playa
Hotel Pineda-Playa
#12 of 17 in Noja
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Liber & Spa
0.2 mi away
Alfar Hotel y Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olimpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpo

Address: Finca Los Cuarezos | Isla Cantabria, 39195 Isla, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Isla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Isla
Price Range: £53 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olimpo 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Olimpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel Santander
Hotel Olimpo Isla, Spain - Cantabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing