We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Olimpo”
Review of Hotel Olimpo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Olimpo
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Isla
New Forest, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Olimpo”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Bernard and the staff at the Olimpo made our stay very special. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The food was sublime and reasonably priced and the area of Isla Playa was a delight. The hotel itself was lovely and even the areas that were a little worn only added to the Hotels' charm. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    66
    30
    13
    15
See reviews for
55
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

44 people stayed in the hotel for a week from the minute we arrived we were given a warm welcome the rooms were very large comfy beds and all with a nice view.The food was delicious and plenty of it the staff were so friendly and could not do enough for us

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade and is no way in our opinion 4 stars its barely a 3.. We had intended to stay for longer but onced we checked in we felt that we just could not stay for longer than we needed to in such a shabby hotel. Our room had a nice view, but that was about it. The bathroom was small, the sink had a plug which didn't fit and didn;t have a chain, the bath enamel was rough, the toilet paper was dispensed from what looked like something from a public toilet, the plastic bathroom stool was broken and the pedal bin had no pedal and was rusty. The bedroom was not much better, The beds and pillows were hard and the facing wall had four drilled holes together with the rawlplugs intact obviously where the tv once hung. The hotel itself had a strange smell about it and the corridors and hallways were dark and dreary together with a well worn carpet on the stairs and strange flower arrangements dotted about the place not to mention the dated furniture.. The staff however were very helpful. pleasant and clearly hardworking. Its a shame the owners of the hotel don't appreciate what a gem of a place they could have and be striving to get 5 star rating. . .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAH1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel should be - and with a bit of work could be - the best in Isla Playa.
I have stayed here a number of times either at the beginning or end of trips to Spain and have always been happy. However it is looking a bit worn at the edges. For instance, they have a worn carpet on the stairs covering a perfectly good stone surface, which does not help the first impression. We had a room with a separate sitting room but the sitting room was completely without any ambience and not welcoming, with furniture seemingly from the 1970's.. Things like this and a number of broken light coverings on the balconies could be sorted easily without a lot of expense and would improve the whole place dramatically.
Having said this, the hotel's situation could not be bettered, set as it is on a promontory with beautiful views all round. The staff are all efficient, friendly and welcoming, for instance our request for a late checkout was granted without any problems, and the food is good and very good value for money. My wife is diabetic and they were happy to prepare meals to cater for her needs.
I will definitely continue to stay here, but please owners, spend a bit of money !

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area give the best views. Largest balconies are on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RKF001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

On arrival we had a corner family suite with a second bedroom, lovely view across to Noja. The beach looks very inviting but actually it's a little deceptive as the beach is across a small waterway and so isn't directly accessible. I understand in the season a boat may run to the beach. There is another beach in the village.
The hotel is family owned so does not have a corporate feel at all. It caters mainly to Spanish guests, I suspect out of the Summer months mainly to coach trips of Seniors. They had a separate eating area.
We were on a B&B package via Brittany Ferries. The breakfast was extensive and service was prompt, unsurprising as we only saw 2 other couples eating in the main room.
There isn't a great eating option in the village for families and of course the locals don't really eat before 8pm which with a 3 year old isn't that easy tom cope with. There was a bar in the village; Bar del Mar which was fine, menu del dia €9.50 for 3 courses including an absolutely decent bottle of wine.
The grounds are pleasant to wander for a few minutes, the pool was clean. Overall we were happy with the Hotel, yes the carpet is worn in places and yes the drop between the lifts would be a hazard for the overly exploratory toddler but none of this should detract from a very pleasant place that it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpw262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A recent review has criticised the food at this hotel, especially for groups. Our experience was different.
We travelled as a group of 30 with travel arranged by Tailored Travel; another group from Bluebird were there at the same time and seemed to be getting similar treatment.
Breakfast was a buffet, hot as well as cold, and there were no complaints. The coffee was freshly made and replenished as fast as we could drink it. The tea was not good, maybe even as bad as English coffee, I knew better than to try it. When there were two tour groups there were two buffets; the queues were not excessive.
Dinner was four courses: first, a buffet salad; second, soup, risotto or pasta; third, choice of meat or fish; fourth, choice of sweet, much as we have had in Italian hotels. One of our group was vegetarian and a special was always provided. One evening, my wife didn't fancy any of the main course choices and asked for an omelette - no problem. There was also wine included of adequate quality and copious quantity. We were asked to preorder our choices in the morning but I don't consider this unreasonable for group catering. The service was unusually efficient and friendly. This applied to the hotel overall.
Some token whinges: the light on the staircase was rather dim but the wear on the carpet helped to see the nosings where the pile had gone, the bedroom floors are tiled so clacking heels can sound a bit loud, the motorised window blinds can be a bit intrusive in the early morning. Some people thought the beds were hard.
It may be that clients of a different travel agent would have a different experience but this was ours.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PH a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciutadella
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel has 4 stars but I don't think it really rates more than 3 apart from the stunning setting. Rooms are nice with large comfy beds,electric shutters, a small fridge and safe, bathrooms are in need of updating but have a full size bath and good shower. There is no extractor so it can get very smelly and steamy. The hairdryer is not very good if you have long hair bring your own.There are some English language TV channels including Disney and news.The tap water is drinkable. There was nowhere to hang towels etc apart from over the balcony. The public areas are very nice, although the dining room, unlike the restaurant, is noisy and claustrophobic. Drinks prices in the bar are very reasonable, a brandy and a Baileys, very large measures, cost just over 5 euros. The staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful and some of them speak a little English. If you have children watch out for the ventilation shaft on the landings, easy to climb on to the sill and fall down. The pool area is quite small and enclosed, not a lot of room for sunbeds.
What really let it down was the food. We were in an organised party and were offered no choice of dishes, the food just appeared on the table, and it was not good in terms of quantity or quality. Main courses were usually fish, just a piece of fish on a plate, no vegetables or potatoes and the puddings were usually milky eg yoghurt or custard. As my husband likes neither fish nor milk this was the only holiday we've ever been on where we've actually lost weight and been hungry. To be fair the food in the restaurant is apparently a lot better but at 21 euros a head it should be. Breakfast was a cake, a packet of biscuits and dried out toast with a small tub of jam, not very filling.
The large beach opposite the hotel is inaccessible as it is across the river, if you wade across at low tide be aware you may get cut off with a 20km walk back! Apparently there may be a ferry in high season. Beaches below the hotel are covered by the tide a lot of the time and are very wet- good for sandcastles but not for sitting. There are other beaches a 15 minute walk away.in a small village with a few hotels and bars.
Be aware that this is a very isolated spot, there are no buses within 5km. You will need a hire car ( very expensive, cost 102 euros for one day and it was a old banger) or to go out on organised excursions. A taxi ride to Santona a few miles away was 20 euros one way. If you do go out on coach trips the wildlife Parc Cabercero 45 mins away is interesting but may not be suitable for small children as you go round it in the coach, (the route in 26 km) getting out only at the highlights. Santander is beautiful with good shops and fabulous beaches, Santona is lovely, but Laredo and a lot of the other seaside towns are dominated by hideous high rise developments. The Picos de Europa are absolutely stunning in good weather, approached by a winding road through a spectacular gorge. You can reach the summit by cablecar 16 euros return. It was a 2 and a half hour trip away but proved to be the highlight of our trip, not to be missed.
All in all, if you just want to relax in a beautiful spot and not move far from the hotel I would recommend it- apart from the food!

Room Tip: Rooms with stunning views are on the front of the hotel, rooms at the back don't have a view, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isla Bella & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Estrella del Norte
0.3 mi away
Astuy Apartamentos
Astuy Apartamentos
#2 of 11 in Isla
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alfar Hotel y Apartamentos
1.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Liber & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pineda-Playa
Hotel Pineda-Playa
#13 of 17 in Noja
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olimpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpo

Property: Hotel Olimpo
Address: Finca Los Cuarezos | Isla Cantabria, 39195 Isla, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Isla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Isla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olimpo 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Olimpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel Santander
Hotel Olimpo Isla, Spain - Cantabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing