We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nirithes Studios and Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ocean View Hotel(Cephalonia)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Socrates Studios(Cephalonia)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
17
32
19
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
32
19
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroomed apartmentuphill walklarge fridge freezerbig roommobility issuesbins emptied dailytoastiesspent two weeksquiet locationrelaxing holidaythe pool bar areaboiled eggscooking facilitiesnice poolnext yearlaid backsnack bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Good hotel with friendly staff ( Napoleon and Vicky). Cooking facilities limited as usual in self catering rooms but fine for making snacks and there are lots of good restaurants and sandwich shops within easy walking distance (going downhill). We complained about the shower and the toilet seat and Napoleon fixed them the same day. The pool was excellernt with plenty of loungers and it was clean. Food in the pool bar was snacks more than meals, but perfectly OK. There were 2 drawbacks. 1) the cockerel (not the hotel's) that serenaded us from under our balcony in the early morning. 2) the walk back from town. We both ended up much fitter at the end of the holiday than we were at the beggining.. Not a hotel for people with walking or breathing difficulties, unless they want to fork out 5 euros on a cab ride! All in all, a good holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwad1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Frankly I can't believe these bad reviews I'm reading about the Nirithes. It almost seems we were staying in a different place. But I've checked, and we weren't.
OK. Lets start with Napoleon. We arrived at night with just one other couple. He was obviously tired but went out of his way to make us welcome, adding many snippets of humour. We had requested a 1st or 2nd floor room with either a sea or pool view, but as we booked late understood if this was not possible. After apologising he said he would have to put us "underground" for the first night (a pleasant enough ground floor room) after which he moved us to what must have been the best room in the place - huge rooms, double balcony, terrific views etc. The move involved them in extra sheets, towels, cleaning. but this was no problem.
The kitchen was more than adequate, providing rings, toaster, kettle, fridge, pans, crockery, cutlery, sink, hot water - what more do these people expect?
Regarding Nepoleon's mother, wife and staff, I don't recall ever seeing any of them without a smile on their face. The most charming of people. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. True the maids arrived promptly upon our departure but retreated equally as quickly when seeing we weren't quite ready. I even received a hug and a kiss from one upon tipping. Perhaps they are a little mad as another reviewer has suggested, but only in a delightful way.
The place was well kept and ideally situated, with the stroll back from town providing welcome exercise after consuming inadvisable amounts of delicious wine and food at many of the excellent tavernas and restaurants. (The Pines was our particular favourite)
Will we return to the Nirithes? You bet, sidestepping the complainers and mixing with the majority who like us enjoyed a most memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stebboWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Don't be fooled by any good reviews. This place is not self catering; a hot plate, 2 pans and a spatula along with a crusty sandwich toaster cannot be classed as self catering. Napoleon and his wife run the place, it has to be said in a very slipshod manner. AirCon is just that - a con! €200 for 2 weeks he wanted paying upfront, knocking on the door at 8am the next day. Who has an electric bill for 300 quid at home? Rip off!
Rooms are not suitable for your average family. The beds were all singles and the mattresses were like what you put on sun loungers, I ended up with a bad back.
Pool cleaning is a joke, on one occasion a guest took in their baby, it cr@pped in the pool and she didn't tell anyone. After spying this I got my kids out and told Napoleon, his response was that closing the pool (to retrieve the turds) would spoil it for the other guests, so he added more cholrine. They were still there the next day.
Cleaners, although pleasant don't care if you're even on the loo when they retrieve the paper bin!
Hotel just seemed to have an absentee landlord. He onyl ever seemed to be at the bar, was never there at night. Don't stay there! I've complained to First Choice, still no answer ... BUT ... they have now removed this hotel from their 2011 brochure ... I wonder why ;-) ABTA is the next port of call.

However !!!

Skala! What a place! It's quiet, peaceful, beautiful. The beach is clean, there's plenty of bars and restaurants by the beach, so of them very new, but as a Brit don't be taken by suprise by the prices, you can easily spend €70 on lunch and €120 on dinner for a family of 4, Greece is not the cheap holiday it used to be.
You really need a car to appreciate the surrounding countryside and you can find deserted idyllic coves, crystal clear water and breath taking views only a few miles away towards Poros. For somewhere different to eat, Poros town centre and towards the square (the next cove after the ferry port) are excellent, food is good, cheaper than Skala and it's packed with Greeks and not tourists just taking in the night air and kids playing on the large paved area.

Sami and Argostoli are worth visiting, as are the large convent and some of the ancient ruins. Drive into the mountains for spectacular views and see if yon can see the wild horses! Brilliant!

Great island, we will be back next year! Never again to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Max_Ovalballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We love Skala having been there 3 times previously staying at the Aeolos on the sea front. We booked the Nirithes last minute as we could not get in the Aeolos and the First Choice brochure review seemed okay. On arrival it seemed as though the place was deserted but were soon met by Napoleon (the owner?) whose welcome was warm enough. We were shown to our first floor studio (room 108) which was spacious but very basic. The views however were lovely. Immediately we noticed that the cleaning regime for the hotel was very basic, all the cleaners did was empty the bins with no cleaning of floors, bathrooms etc. The comments in other reviews about them just walking into the room without knocking are very true. Beware! The fixtures and fittings in the bathroom were falling off the walls and there was mould on the tiles and shower curtain. We asked the owner to repair the shower and a very poor attempt was made at this as the shower head soon fell off again. As we were self catering we would have liked some facilities for preparing food but again this was very basic. Comedy comment from Napoleon - ' if you want more toilet rolls you'll have to come down to reception as the Albanian cleaners don't replace them'. The pool and bar area were nice though with great views. The walk back up the hill from Skala is tough in the heat especially when you're carrying the shopping. This hotel has great potential but it seems the owners are letting it go into disrepair by apparently running it on a shoestring. Shame as Skala is such a beautiful place! We will be back there but not to the Nirithes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevandSops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Booked late for the Nirithes aprts and after reading reviews of previous travellers I was very aprehensive of staying there and had fingers crossed. We stayed in room 305 one bedroom apartment which was spacious but very basic in furnishings. No complaints about the cleanliness and I was prepared for the cleaners coming in without knocking. Apartment was cleaned with fresh bedding and towels after 3 days and bins in kitchen and bathroom emptied every day. The hill into town was a killer during the day so we decided to go onto the beach after having breakfast which we catered for ourselves. We hired a car for 2 days which gave us the opportunity to visit other parts of the island. Don't buy excursions from the holiday advisor as they are cheaper in town. I am afraid our advisor was less than honest with us when our booking for a boat trip on the Sunday went wrong and even threatened us with not letting my partner off the island. Will be definately returning to Kephalonia but not to the apartments as they are too far out of town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airborne065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews