We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nirithes Studios and Apartments
Ranked #16 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one week in July 2014, (still here whilst writing this) fab hotel, slightly out of the main town,up a gentle hill.takes about 10 mins to walk. Big rooms, nice and clean. Lovely pool, nice and quiet. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank diverhp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Nirithes apartments were basic but clean. Very spacious room with basic kitchen. Unfortunately we were on the ground floor so no balcony. Rooms have aircon but its 8 euros per day. Also once you have the aircon on you can't sit outside your room as the fan is stupidly positioned right outside the door! Having said that we didn't spend a lot of time in our room and the pool was absolutely fantastic and we could always get a sun bed, and the pool bar serves snacks too. Hotel owner spoke good English and was very helpful when we asked for things. One thing I would say about the pool area is the owners family seemed to be around most days with Extra noisy children! Quite annoying when you are trying to relax by the pool! The walk into skala really isn't as bad as people on here say. Yes there is a hill but it takes about 5 mins to walk up it to the hotel. The hill to the hotel is at the top of the Main Street in skala which then takes about ten mins to walk to the bottom past the shops and restaurants to the beach front. Nice easy walk to the bars and restaurants - I'd try out the old village tavern it was lovely food! Overall not a bad hotel but on looking around at others there seem some nice ones dotted around the side streets if you don't want to have to walk as far.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jenlanc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I have just come back from 10 days at the nirithes with mixed feelings.
I have backpacked round the world for 2 years so I really don't expect a lot from cheap accomodation and this was the case here.
We stayed downstairs in room 199 and it was extremely basic but had the essentials. What I didn't like was the fact there was no fan and to get aircon I was told it was 8 euros a day!
Basically it was very obvious this place was once very busy but has fallen on hard times and as a result they try to make as much money off guests by charging for any extras as much as they can.
I was told that they had lost the contract with first choice 3 years ago and have taken olympic customers this year as olympic had an overflow of customers.
There were only 6 other guests there at the same time and for peak season that says a lot.
The plus points were that the pool was good and was empty everyday which was nice. The staff were pleasant enough but after reading the previous comments I was looking forward to meeting napolean but didn't.
This place could be so much better but it feels like they aren't interested anymore.
Skala itself is lovely and the walk into town is nowhere near as bad as people say. I will be back to skala but not the nirithes

Room Tip: The top rooms look to have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Niriides Hotel (2-3 star) is on the outskirts of Skala but a pleasant 8 minute walk in to the centre (uphill on the way back). Our studio room on the ground floor was large with 3 beds and all the basics in the kitchen area. The little balcony although overlooking the car park was quiet and had a distant view of the sea. Of a morning it was nice to sit with a cuppa and watch the locals go about their business. Corinna the hotel owner was very friendly. The swimming pool is a nice size and has lots of beds and umbrellas. Lunch time snacks are reasonably priced and tasty. Skala itself is a good size with lots of restaurants and has the best beach on Kefalonia after Myrtos beach (and we visited alot of them from the far north to south). Try Michael's bar and the family restaurant next door is the best in Skala by a long way (but I forget the name). Most other beaches are pebbles which really hurt the feet so I would recommend buying a pair of jelly shoes or swimming shoes which are only 6 euro in most shops. 2 beds and an umbrella vary from 5-10 euro. A visit to the next island Ithaca is worth it but again the beaches are small and pebbles. Kioni is the most beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Winnie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Good hotel with friendly staff ( Napoleon and Vicky). Cooking facilities limited as usual in self catering rooms but fine for making snacks and there are lots of good restaurants and sandwich shops within easy walking distance (going downhill). We complained about the shower and the toilet seat and Napoleon fixed them the same day. The pool was excellernt with plenty of loungers and it was clean. Food in the pool bar was snacks more than meals, but perfectly OK. There were 2 drawbacks. 1) the cockerel (not the hotel's) that serenaded us from under our balcony in the early morning. 2) the walk back from town. We both ended up much fitter at the end of the holiday than we were at the beggining.. Not a hotel for people with walking or breathing difficulties, unless they want to fork out 5 euros on a cab ride! All in all, a good holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwad1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Frankly I can't believe these bad reviews I'm reading about the Nirithes. It almost seems we were staying in a different place. But I've checked, and we weren't.
OK. Lets start with Napoleon. We arrived at night with just one other couple. He was obviously tired but went out of his way to make us welcome, adding many snippets of humour. We had requested a 1st or 2nd floor room with either a sea or pool view, but as we booked late understood if this was not possible. After apologising he said he would have to put us "underground" for the first night (a pleasant enough ground floor room) after which he moved us to what must have been the best room in the place - huge rooms, double balcony, terrific views etc. The move involved them in extra sheets, towels, cleaning. but this was no problem.
The kitchen was more than adequate, providing rings, toaster, kettle, fridge, pans, crockery, cutlery, sink, hot water - what more do these people expect?
Regarding Nepoleon's mother, wife and staff, I don't recall ever seeing any of them without a smile on their face. The most charming of people. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. True the maids arrived promptly upon our departure but retreated equally as quickly when seeing we weren't quite ready. I even received a hug and a kiss from one upon tipping. Perhaps they are a little mad as another reviewer has suggested, but only in a delightful way.
The place was well kept and ideally situated, with the stroll back from town providing welcome exercise after consuming inadvisable amounts of delicious wine and food at many of the excellent tavernas and restaurants. (The Pines was our particular favourite)
Will we return to the Nirithes? You bet, sidestepping the complainers and mixing with the majority who like us enjoyed a most memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stebboWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Don't be fooled by any good reviews. This place is not self catering; a hot plate, 2 pans and a spatula along with a crusty sandwich toaster cannot be classed as self catering. Napoleon and his wife run the place, it has to be said in a very slipshod manner. AirCon is just that - a con! €200 for 2 weeks he wanted paying upfront, knocking on the door at 8am the next day. Who has an electric bill for 300 quid at home? Rip off!
Rooms are not suitable for your average family. The beds were all singles and the mattresses were like what you put on sun loungers, I ended up with a bad back.
Pool cleaning is a joke, on one occasion a guest took in their baby, it cr@pped in the pool and she didn't tell anyone. After spying this I got my kids out and told Napoleon, his response was that closing the pool (to retrieve the turds) would spoil it for the other guests, so he added more cholrine. They were still there the next day.
Cleaners, although pleasant don't care if you're even on the loo when they retrieve the paper bin!
Hotel just seemed to have an absentee landlord. He onyl ever seemed to be at the bar, was never there at night. Don't stay there! I've complained to First Choice, still no answer ... BUT ... they have now removed this hotel from their 2011 brochure ... I wonder why ;-) ABTA is the next port of call.

However !!!

Skala! What a place! It's quiet, peaceful, beautiful. The beach is clean, there's plenty of bars and restaurants by the beach, so of them very new, but as a Brit don't be taken by suprise by the prices, you can easily spend €70 on lunch and €120 on dinner for a family of 4, Greece is not the cheap holiday it used to be.
You really need a car to appreciate the surrounding countryside and you can find deserted idyllic coves, crystal clear water and breath taking views only a few miles away towards Poros. For somewhere different to eat, Poros town centre and towards the square (the next cove after the ferry port) are excellent, food is good, cheaper than Skala and it's packed with Greeks and not tourists just taking in the night air and kids playing on the large paved area.

Sami and Argostoli are worth visiting, as are the large convent and some of the ancient ruins. Drive into the mountains for spectacular views and see if yon can see the wild horses! Brilliant!

Great island, we will be back next year! Never again to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Max_Ovalballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.8 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
2.5 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
0 mi away
Koukounaries Studios
Koukounaries Studios
#9 of 33 in Skala
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Skala
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirithes Studios and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirithes Studios and Apartments

Address: Scala, Skala, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Price Range: £83 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nirithes Studios and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing