We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skala a beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nirithes Studios and Apartments
Ranked #16 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Booked late for the Nirithes aprts and after reading reviews of previous travellers I was very aprehensive of staying there and had fingers crossed. We stayed in room 305 one bedroom apartment which was spacious but very basic in furnishings. No complaints about the cleanliness and I was prepared for the cleaners coming in without knocking. Apartment was cleaned with fresh bedding and towels after 3 days and bins in kitchen and bathroom emptied every day. The hill into town was a killer during the day so we decided to go onto the beach after having breakfast which we catered for ourselves. We hired a car for 2 days which gave us the opportunity to visit other parts of the island. Don't buy excursions from the holiday advisor as they are cheaper in town. I am afraid our advisor was less than honest with us when our booking for a boat trip on the Sunday went wrong and even threatened us with not letting my partner off the island. Will be definately returning to Kephalonia but not to the apartments as they are too far out of town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airborne065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

I really couldn't fault this place, we booked last minute and hoped for the best but were pleasantly surprised. Nice big rooms, good powerful shower, always plenty of beds by the pool and not too far from the main stretch. People whinge about the hill, but it isn't that bad at all. Our only complaint is that the maids were a pain on our last day and kicked us out of the room before our checkout time so we left with a sour taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessnrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

It was my sixth visit to Skala, I love it there. First time at Nirithes though and wont be returning there! Although the apartment was spacious, it was dirty, the sofa bed was covered in dust and hair as was the floor. The bathroom was filthy, mould growing on the tiles in the shower, orange bacteria on the shower curtain, foul smell from the toilet and drains and the toilet never flushed properly. The maids do the bear minimum and dont even knock your door, they just walk in without warning. The food is not good at the pool so you have to go out for lunch which is a trek, ok going as its down hill but coming back in the mid day heat is no fun. I had a ground floor apartment which was not good as you can hear everything above you, even people going to the toilet! The pipes and plumbing noises also wake you up to early.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The bathroom was dirty and made the whole room smell very damp,the owner napolion lets his poor mum do all the work from 9:00 am until 2:00am in the morning she makes food and tends bar wear is he? The cleaners never did any sweeping or moping of the room in the 2 weeks we stayed,this place could be a gold mine in the right hands he cant be botherd!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shawy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Basil napoleon fawltys most famous line to his guests. Napoleon being the owner of the hotel is a top bloke, with a great sense of humour. Nothing is too much trouble for him or his mum to make sure you have a good holiday. We have got no complaints at all, the pool and patio was lovely, always lots of sunloungers and space around. I loved the location because we had fantastic views of Zante and after an excellent meal and a good few cocktails in town carrying Jim and Stacy back up the hill kept me fit. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

After booking our recent holiday then we came onto Trip Advisor & read several reviews warning about the hill !!! It's not that bad, but in the peak of the days sun it can get a bit hard work !
In general the apartments are pretty basic, offering basic kitchen equipment (no teatowels, cloths or washing up liquid though) & a long list of rules on the back of the door. I'm putting some of the sillier ones down to translation, but didn't start off on the right footing ! Also if anyone in any other apartment did anything then you knew about it... the plumbing system sounded like it was right next to your ear in the mornings !!
But on the whole they were pleasant & the hill did get easier as the week went on (in fact I quite liked it after a stodgy greek meal.... good to walk it off a bit)
I wouldn't particularly recommend them as would have been nicer to be closer to the sea & all the restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anon1000Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My husband, 5 year old son and I have had a great week here. And I've just booked to go back next year for 3 weeks! The studio was extremely spacious, as big as some of the apartments we've stayed at in other places, and was very clean. The pool/bar area was also spacious and there was a good selection of bar meals to choose from. I was concerned about some reviews regarding the steps/hill but we didn't find this a problem at all.... its about a 10-15min gentle stroll down into Skala, so at least it is out of the noise of the town. Skala itself is very nice, with an extensive selection of resturants/tavernas and coffee houses too, along with the traditional souvenier shops, some good supermarkets. There was about 3 places to exchange money. The beach is quite big, but a bit pebbley so best to keep your flip flops on, and children might need some swim shoes too. We didn't visit anywhere else on the island as we were more than happy to play in the pool, and take a gentle stroll into the town in the evening. If you want very lively nightlife then go elsewhere as this is traditional Greece, with entertainment centred around tavernas/resturants.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nettyscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.8 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
2.5 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
0 mi away
Koukounaries Studios
Koukounaries Studios
#9 of 33 in Skala
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Skala
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirithes Studios and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirithes Studios and Apartments

Address: Scala, Skala, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Price Range: £83 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nirithes Studios and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing