We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the west side of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dionysios Studios & Apartment
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location on the west side of town”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My partner and I had a great week at the Dionysus in early July 2013. The owner 'Dennis' met us as we got off the coach and took us to our room himself. We spoke to him many times during the week and he was always absolutely lovely - helpful, informative and wanting to provide guests with the best service his accommodation had to offer.
Room 16 balcony faced east with views of trees and the sea to the south. The room was extremely clean on arrival with the décor being in an excellent condition, albeit a bit small and rather dated circa 1970's! We had taken a travel kettle but this was un-necessary as there was one provided (along with a toastie machine and there was even a shower curtain!). After that initial arrival we found bins were not emptied again until 2 days later and we had one clean and one change of towels and sheets throughout the week. The sheets weren't an issue but given the sanitary arrangements in Greece it might have been advisable to have emptied bins every day. In the event we did this ourselves using the skip up the road and it wasn't a problem for us.

The Dionysus is fantastically situated in a fairly residential part of Skala. Although there seemed to be apartments/studios across the road these appeared to be very Greek oriented and looked more like villas or private houses. It was a 5 minute walk to town and the beach so the lack of a pool was never a problem and made the arrangement excellent value for money.

On the down side, we did experience several nights when dogs barking woke us. Speaking to locals it appears that this is an on-going problem related to how these animals are kept (ie outside, chained up and often away from the owners whose vegetable patch they are supposed to be protecting!). The hoteliers do seem to be aware of it, however, so something might be done if enough visitors have an issue.

Over all we felt the Dionysus represented great value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank reavley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    12
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had a very pleasant stay here for a week. Very basic kitchenette but good for breakfasts and lunches. The room and bathroom was very clean! The room was cleaned thoroughly every 2 days bins emptied every day. A lovely large balcony. you have the option of air con which can be payed for daily or weekly which i would recommend. Lovely trees and flowers to admire.

There is no swimming pool but there is a pool bar within a 2 minute walk and the beach is a lovely 5 minute walk away. Very close to supermarkets/restaurants/bars also a nice 2-5 minute walk. In a lovely location overlooking the sea & trees in the distance. Quiet at night.

the owner is very friendly and will help you with any questions etc.
I would love to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amberm93_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We received a warm friendly welcome from the owner Dennis. The room we had was quite large, with a/c paid locally, basic but very clean. The bathroom shower even had a shower curtain. The balcony was a good size and overlooked the well maintained garden. Bedding and towels were changes 3x over the 2 week stay and the room was frequently cleaned through. The Dionysios is located just on the outskirts of the village of Skala and within easy reach of restaurants and bars. There is a restaurant, Manolis, just a short distance away and proved yet again to be one of our favourites. The owner, Kosta, presents a warm, friendly welcome. We will return to Skala and will definitely book into Dionysios again. We wish continued success to Dennis and look forward to staying with him once again in the future.

Colin & Lesley

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We loved our stay at this little haven. There was a small kitchenette in the room, so it was easy to wake up and have a pleasant breakfast with the gorgeous sea view from the balcony. It is a short walk from nice beaches. Quiet at night so we slept so well. Front desk Panos was kind and helpful, giving us advice, late checkout, and storing our bags. We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 11angelwithana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Good location, air con, nice rooms, owner very helpful. Great place to stay.I really enjoyed my stay here and would certainly recommend it as a budget/ middle of the road option. It is nice and quiet too with lots of lovely pots of plants and flowers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank etchellsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The hotel was very cleane, and had a greate location. There is no swimmingpool at the hotel, but that is no problem. It is a 5 minutes walk to the beach.
The hotel is not in the mainstreet, but it is just a 5 minutes walk. It is so quiet at the hotel.
Dennis, the hotel owner is so nice and sweet.
We loved it there. Recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisse86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vestfold
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Me and my boyfriend took a last-minute-trip and ended up in skala.
Every room had a balkong and it was cleaning once a week. The man who owned the hotel was very nice because on our last day all the other hotels had check-out at 10, we could keep our room the whole day for no cost! (the new turists arrived late at nigth).
Its basic, i would guess our room was 5x5m and we could see the sea from the balkong! we drank many mythos there.. ;)
200m to the sea, 100m to the shops.
One resturant that's bad is la luna, wery dry and overcoocked food with bad service.
Flamingo and the pine was relly good! we ate at flamingo 3 times in 1 week :)
symposium is also worth a wisit...
The Island is beautyful, myrthos beatch looked like heaven (we didn't go down to the beatch, big shame), snoorkling by skorpios island is fantastic, it's clear water 7m down! the beatch at skala is also good, if you're going to skala you should relly try it!
The caves are cool too. Fiskaro isn't worth wisiting. Nothing special just a small village. But Assos - so cute and romantic.. had the best strawberryicecream there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wftomdttwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.1 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
41 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
398 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#100 of 140 in Cephalonia
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysios Studios & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysios Studios & Apartment

Property: Dionysios Studios & Apartment
Address: Skala 28086, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dionysios Studios & Apartment 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIONYSIOS STUDIOS set on the outskirts of SKALA village, in an excellent and quiet location, only 100 m from the center and 300m from the marvelous and famous SKALA beach. Consisting of 17 studios and 1 apartment, recently renovated. The simply and warm furnished studios, most of them have twin and some double beds. Apartment, one bedroom with double bed and the other bedroom with two sigls. All studios have private balcony, some with sea or side seaview and others with beautiful countryside view. Also they have A/C, REFRIGERATOR,KITCHENETTE with the basic cooking items, TOASTER, SAFE, T.V and easy parking at the side of accommodation. In center of SKALA you can find bars, super markets,restorants taverns e.T.C. SKALA Kefalonias is ideal place for unforgettables holidays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your Dionysios Studios & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing