We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
385
333
111
48
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
333
111
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire showhalf boarda superior sea view roomanimation teamlobby bargolf buggyshared poola la carte restaurantall inclusive guestsall inclusive packagepool restaurantmain poolcourtesy busmain restaurantevening entertainmentinclusive menuinfinity pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We went to the Mareblue Apostolata in Skala, Kefalonia on an all-inclusive basis looking for a relaxing holiday. The room and location were exactly how we had expected them to be for a supposedly top star holiday resort. However we were very quickley cheated off the all-inclusive holiday we had paid for.
From the first day half of the food choices on the (quite small) menu at the pool restaurant were not available to eat. Bearing in mind that this is the only restaurant on the resort serving freshly cooked food and the only one open at lunch time, it's a total let-down and misleading for holidaymakers on an all-inclusive basis. We ended up eating lots of fries all week, not at all the sort of food choices we expected from a supposedly top hotel. Two of the desserts (the cheese cake and another tart) were not available the whole week! Often the fish was not available as well, crazy for a resort on the med!
Also I saw guests having to go hunting for staff in order to get a drink by the pool: there'd be no one behind the bar and guests would have to go looking in the kitchen to find where the staff was.
And then one evening we were literally humiliated when at diner we ordered a bottle of a good quality greek wine but were brought a cheap one instead; the waiting staff then tried to get us to accept it saying the 1st bottle was not available; after a lenghty discussion when we kept declining the cheap wine, they eventually brought us the bottle we had initially chosen! Two days later, we asked the senior waiter to recommend a wine, thinking it would be easier to get served properly this time, but again instead of bringing the wine ordered, a different waiter brought a different bottle with the reason that the first choice was not available.
Also, we did find it weird that all the staff of the resort, from the builders and gardeners to the spa masseuses, were having breakfast and dinner, in worn-out clothes or sometimes even their work outfits, at the same time and tables as the guests.
Both the low-level quality of the food (lukewarm buffets, canteen-style, empty containers would not be replenished till guests requested!) and the fact that the staff ate together with us made it feel like we were cheated of our holiday. It didn't feel like a top hotel catering for their guests, but rather a basic one where the only difference between the guest and the staff was that the staff stayed and dined there for free! When we were endlessly waiting for a waiter to take our order at lunchtime, we wondered if it was because the cook was busy preparing food for the management staff who were openly eating there at the same time as us.
We will not use this hotel or the tour operator again as it appears that the money we paid went into subsiding the hotel staff's holidays (they were also sleeping on site, their washing hanged outside to dry) instead of paying towards the all-inclusive holiday we were entitled to but were denied, on top of which we were humiliated by the restaurants' waiting staff.
Location's nice and quiet, our advice would be to check the reviews and find another hotel, lots of them to chose from in Skala itself. Skala is also a quiet place to stay. Many of the hotels in Skala are also booked through the sare tour operator but hopefully they have more friendly staff and owners!

Room Tip: Chose a hotel in Skala, lots to chose from.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

You would find it hard to complaine about anything in this hotel it is fabulous, the staff are amazing, nothing to much troble for them. The food is very good something for everyone, the waiters work very hard but are always happy, the chefs are always there to talk to you . GO all inclusive before you go as its expensive to upgrade once you are there, you will not be disapointed , if you like a drink, you can have wine at dinner wine at tea, all our bottled beers and even whisky, bailys the lot , so enjoy as we did, our 30th wedding aniversary, and we had the room with our own pool it was the best holiday ever,, and we have had alot ,

Room Tip: we was in room 516 which had its own pool fab .
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kazyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We have just returned from our visit to the Mareblue Apostolata and have to say that we would go back tomorrow. Yes, there were the odd things that were not a 100% but everything else was so wonderful that we don't care!
We upgraded to a sea view room which was well worth the money as the hotel is situated on a hill and the views were beautiful. The room was very spacious and clean with fresh towels daily. The only reason I have marked it down on cleanliness was that I found the communal areas not the cleanest with the odd clump of dust and there was a bit of a whiff when the cleaners were in the hall thanks to the greek plumbing system of toilet paper in the bins! No ones fault though.
The location was fine for us though others may not be as keen as it was a walk away from Skala. probably about 45 minutes if you stopped to take in all the views. However the free bus service from the hotel to Poros and Skala is definitely worth taking advantage of as it is nice to get out and about and these two resorts were lovely. I really wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have walking difficulties though as to get to the pool you had to go down a lot of steps, at least 50. We didn't mind as it burnt off our lunch!
The staff were all fine and polite. The ladies in the spa were absolutely lovely and it was worth a visit. Only cost 35€ for a manicure and pedicure which was a great experience. I used the pool in the spa a lot, it's more of a large jacuzzi though so be warned! You can swim lengths in it though and when the jets are on it is like you are swimming in the sea! It was €10 an hour though so I thought that was expensive. However on the all inclusive you get one free. The gym was free though and had all the essential equipment.
I am very pleased that we paid to upgrade to the all inclusive package as we definitely would have spent a lot otherwise. We had a bottle of wine with dinner every night that would have cost €20 a time. We were very happy with the food selection. There was something for everyone and the salads were fresh and crispy. We visited the A la Carte restaurant as one visit was included on the all inclusive and it was AMAZING! Never knew that cauliflower soup could taste so good. You must try it.
Some people were moaning about the all inclusive but for us it was perfectly carried out as we didn't once feel that we were at the cattle market that some all inclusive hotels can become. it was nice to be waited on in the pool bar but I've a feeling they will change this soon.
If you are thinking of booking this for a wedding then it is a must. there was a huge wedding party there at the same time and they seemed so well looked after.
All in all we had a brilliant time and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BlueNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Mareblue in Skala. The hotel is a fairly large hotel set into the side of a bay overlooking the sea. The nearest beach which is in Skala which is approx 3km away, the hotel run a shuttle bus which is useful if you dont like walking or its too hot. The walk is a bit hilly but its not too much of a problem and providing your not in a hurry you can take your time and enjoy the views and explore some of the smaller beaches that can be found on your way to Skala.
We stayed on the half board package which suited us but all inclusive is available as another option. The food is of a good standard and plenty to choose from but if I was to level a critisicm then it would be that the food is a little too western. Although Greek dishes are available they tend to be in the minority. The food is of a good quality and with the staff in the dining room area everyone is well looked after and always greeted as you enter the reatuarant. There is a bar by the pool and in the reception area. During our stay there was a wedding which was great for the atnmosphere but did challenge the bar staff to fullfill orders etc. At busy times I hope more staff are employed in the bar as I had heard that some guests had a long wait to get their drinks. We had encountered some delays but it was not a problem, I just hope for the Mareblue to maintain its high standards that when they have a large gathering like a wedding then more staff are placed behind the bar. We would reccomend this hotel as it ticks all the right boxes, from friendly happy staff to the wonderful pools that are available.

Room Tip: Staying longer than a week hire a car.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eclipse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This hotel could be fantastic, but we found that the location and the service let it down. Be prepared for a long roadside walk into Skala - taxi services are not wholly reliable and the staff fairly unconcerned. We were made to feel like children, I believe this is because we were 20 and 21 during our stay, and seemed to be the only unaccompanied young people in the whole hotel. Despite advertising that flowers/wine could be arranged for birthday stays, they failed to bother with this when my boyfriend tried to arrange this a few days before my birthday, and I found myself being told off by staff for wearing a bikini top and shorts at one of the outdoor seating areas, and told to cover up. This was so embarrassing - especially as a teenage girl sitting with her parents a few metres away was wearing the same kind of thing, with no comments from staff. All in all I don't expect to be treated like this anywhere I stay, especially when we saved up to pay a bit more for somewhere that looked worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Triselly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews