We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely service, fantastic pools”
Review of San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Giorgio
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have booked again for this August having spent a week here last year. The pools were fantastic and not too busy for a peak summer month, the rooms were clean, great mini bus service to main town as it is a way out from the centre. It is also near a pretty pebble cove for snorkelling. The only disappointment was a busy breakfast service which was quite a hectic and unsatisfying start to the day so this year we are taking a travel kettle and own supplies to make use of our balcony in the morning and skip that bit out.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank LipstyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We visited in May/June 2014 and the hotel was great. Nice but basic rooms, good foyer, free internet access (although the quality was sporadic). Great pools and a good breakfast.

The entertainment was only 3 nights a week, but we would've been happier with none.

Be prepared for a longish walk into the resort, so I'd definitely recommend having a car. We went with Pefanis directly (the same company Thomson use) and saved over 50% (€120 vs €280).

But as the title says, be realistic with your expectations and you'll have a great time here. We loved it.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the gods :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterGGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We visited this hotel two years ago, and loved it. So we returned with our grown up children and their partners. Once again we had a wonderful holiday. The hotel is very well maintained. The gardens are beautiful, the pools are spotlessly clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful. As an early riser, I would sit on the balcony with a coffee and watch the team of workers, cleaning, sweeping, and getting the pools ready for another day. The rooms are great, with spectacular views. They are cleaned daily, the beds changed half way through the week, and the towels every other day. That was a change from the last time, when they were changed daily. A small gripe though. They have entertainment about three times a week too. A Greek night, a band, and a karaoke night, which we only saw on our way home, but everyone there seemed to be having a lovely time. Our room wasn't near the bar so it didn't affect us, but ending at 1am, I think it would be tough if you were close by and had young children. We were self catering, so didn't eat at the hotel, but we did have a couple of lunches from the pool bar, that were reasonably priced and tasty. The walk into Skala we loved in the morning, it takes about 40 minutes, enough time to work up an appetite for breakfast. Tough in the afternoon in the heat and uphill, but as others have said it's five euros for a taxi. Skala is a lovely resort, has a great beach, watersports, a big choice of restaurants, and feels very safe. We loved it, and although we won't be going back next year, I wouldn't discount a return some time in the future. It gets you like that!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fantastic staff nothing was too much trouble and especially Sophia on reception. We were B&B but to be honest the food was excellent in the restaurant for the evening . The Thomson reps were always ready to give advice no hassle. Stayed in room 405 lovely size brilliant view and not too far up , Great Mini bus shuttle in to town . Good choice of places to eat in town and all reasonably priced however was disappointed when we ate at "The Old Village" on the main street in Skala mashed potatoes were Instant and charged extra 3 euro for this delicacy. book an island tour or hire a car too much to see on this beautiful island

Room Tip: 405 excellent or 406 both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bookitagainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visited Kefalonia on 1st May and were the first flight into the island for the summer season. We were welcomed with warm open arms - all the staff were waiting for us to arrive, our bags were driven up to our rooms for us and we also were driven up to our rooms the first time. We were in room 266 which was the furthest away from the main hotel, but we didn't care we loved the walk in the mornings and the evenings the views were stunning (they were all around the hotel) strongly suggest getting a car as there is so much you will miss out on if you don't (very cheap and reliable from 'greekstones' the breakfast at the hotel was amazing. We cannot fault it at all! It was our first holiday together and the best one we've ever been on! truely magical! the walk into skala takes around an hour but it's a lovely walk which you need to take at some point as there are some lovely little coves and a harbour to explore, but a taxi back is only 5Euros. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: 266 is absolutely beautiful, we will be requesting it on our next visit. Has the biggest balcony goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmmaFowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent holiday food in restaurant excellent rooms clean staff excellent. We walked into scala it nearly killed us. Get the mini bus. The hotel is very hilly not suitable for any one with walking difficulties
Do the onassis trip fantastic day out. Dave the rep is also brilliant

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank potterjja12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Two weeks spent here in May 2014. My first visit to Kefalonia. Hotel on a hill but no problem if you're reasonably able & those who were not had bags transported. It was a very pleasant 30 minute walk into the resort centre or a short bus ride away (complimentary). Breakfast was simple & tasty & the restaurant was most acceptable & reasonable in price. I would not hesitate to visit here again.

Room Tip: higher rooms are good for your heart! & have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glyncad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skala hotels
1.2 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
0.6 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
442 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio

Address: Porou Skalas, Skala 280 82, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Skala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Hotel Class:3 star — San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel Skala
San Giorgio Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing