We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As everyone says - SPOT ON !”
Review of Anassa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anassa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Boston Spa Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“As everyone says - SPOT ON !”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Not going to wax lyrical as its all been said quite correctly above for several years, and that is that the Anassa is truly SPOT ON.
This was our first trip to Scala and the Anassa [ having been twice to Lassi in Kefalonia before ] and our 14th trip to the Greek islands. So we have stayed in very varied standards of accomadation over the years as other Greek reguars will know !
However the Anassa is right up there at the top of the tree as far as we are concerned, very friendly owners and staff, spotless rooms and grounds and right on the beach as well.
Only once in my lifetime have I stayed at a place more than once, but I would add the Anassa to that list no problem......

Often I have found on these reviews that little is said of budgeting for a visit, well if I may be of assistance so to speak regarding general prices in and around Scala which may be helpfull to travellers going soon.
On our first night we had a starter, two main courses, a half jug of wine and a large bottle of water all for just 27 euros at a restaurant just along from the Anassa. On another night we went elsewhere and had just two main Greek dishes and again a large bottle of water for a meagre 18 euros !
Not really expensive at all, and no we are not tight but we struggle to eat when its so warm........
None of the restaurants are overly dear as most are competing with each other so the prices dont vary much. I can't comment on none Greek fare as thats all we eat..
The bars are excellent in Scala in particular "the captains bar" and "Veto" . Both lively and busy till late. There are loads of others but we stuck mainly to these two after 11 ish, or "Sallys bar" for a quieter drink as an alternative.
I reckon all the bars do offers on prices up to 9 pm with pints of Mythos averaging 2.50 euros, going up to 3 or 3.50 after 9pm, and cocktails and long drinks following the same route.
Imported drinks are expensive such as Stella Artois 5 euros a pint, alco pops like Bacardi breezers / Smirnoff Ice all 5 euros as you would expect. Stick to the local stuff and you wont go wrong, our bar bil in the "captains" one night was 70 euros but that was for a hell of a lot of vodka and cokes [ yamass time ] ! ! !
Not bad considering the three Norwegians who slurrped their way through 162 euros worth of cocktails, headaches all round for those guys next morn......
Overall you will enjoy Scala and the wonderfull Anassa, if I had one tiny gripe, and it is tiny, that the beach was too gritty and stoney for me, and watch your young kids as it drops off depth wise very very quickly........

Room Tip: We were in room 301 in the new block at the rear of the complex, nice and quiet and didnt get direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carpface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    38
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
105
284
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

There is not a lot i can say that has not already been said. All the good things you have read in other reviews are all true, the hotel and resort are fabulous. We have just returned after spending a fortnight at the Anassa and can honestly say it is the best we have stopped in out of all of the many islands we have visited. Effi, George and the staff run a very efficient , clean hotel which is a pleasure to stop in. The rooms are clean and modern and have the best shower that you will ever come across in Greece. We loved the bar area and pool and spent a lot of time just chilling out there. Very easy to pass an hour or two whilst looking over the beautiful Ionian Sea with a Mythos in hand !. A very special mention to Hercules, Nectarius ( sorry for the spelling ) and Claire who work very long hours but still remain happy and only to willing to look after you. " Thank you " we really appreciate what you did for us. A special thanks to Claire who mixed us many a cocktail including "Singapore Sling " which is our favourite and good value if you visit the bar before you go out to eat at night as this is during Happy hour.
It only takes a short walk to get on to the main high street where you will find a huge selection of Tavernas and bars which all serve very good food at a variety of prices. There is also an ATM which is on right as you walk up from the bottom of the street. Skala is very pretty and safe and we loved it. In the words of the Terminator " we'll be back " !

Room Tip: The studios at the rear are the newest and are modern and fitted with best showers you will get in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was our second visit to the anassa and it was just as good as last september. I would like to thank Hercules, Claire and Christina for making this a great holiday for us everyone is so friendly here, we spent every day on the beach and the evenings eating out in Skala the taverners are great we would recomend the galerea the food is really nice. For lunch we stayed at the Anassa as they are very nice plus you get loads and they are very reasonably priced. you can order food and drink from the beach if you wish wich is great if you really want to be lazy !!!! we would also recomend the captains bar. Thanks again for a great hol Barry & Susan

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank baz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This was our first time at the Anassa, having chosen to stay there after reading the reviews.
We weren’t disappointed and overall couldn’t find fault with any aspect of the hotel.
The breakfasts are fairly basic: fruit juice, cereals, toast etc although for five or six Euros you could have an English fry-up but we never bothered.
The hotel pool area is clean and in a nice setting overlooking the sea which is just across the road. We’re not really pool people, preferring the beach, but there always seemed to be sunbeds available. Our room was a good size with a kettle, fridge and a spacious double bed which we found quite comfortable compared to other flimsy hotel beds we’ve slept on. My only gripe regarding a peaceful sleep was the extremely noisy early morning (6.30am) rubbish bin collection on the road running alongside the hotel.
The owners and bar staff are welcoming and majority of the guests are English, most being couples 40 – 50 plus. There is the usual entertainment on particular evenings: quiz night, BBQ and a Sinatra type singer who was ok.We don’t spend a lot of time around the hotel so didn’t get involved in the socialising scene as we prefer to hire a car and go off exploring other places.
Kefalonia is a lovely island with some breathtaking scenery and we would have no hesitation in returning to Skala (and the Anassa) as it has some lovely restaurants and a relaxing, laid-back ambience.

Room Tip: Room 301 has excellent views,however the forfeit is the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyclingmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Just returned last night from a week’s holiday in Kefalonia staying at the Anassa Hotel in Scala. Everything about the hotel and the people who work in it were fabulous.

On arrival, Effies greeting was so lovely, she remembered our names and that we had spoken on the phone when booking, plus the welcome drink was a great start. She then showed us to our room which was spotless, had a huge super king bed, lots of wardrobe room and drawers, a kitchen area with fridge, sink, 2 ring cooker, kettle and toaster, with a fabulous big balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. A tip is to book direct with the hotel if you can and find your flights separately as you get a much nicer room (ours was 116 and I would recommend it), and it can be done just as cheaply as booking through a travel agent. We had a little trouble when first looking for the web address, so here it is for you to find easily - http://www.anassahotel.gr/

Even without the wonderful people who worked there, the hotel is very very good, immaculately clean, very up to date – you don’t feel as with some hotels that it is a little unloved – the bar and restaurant area’s are cosy and look out onto the pool and over to the beach, and the pool area itself is really well designed with an infinity pool, great to sit in look over the wall and people watch.

Now to the people, Effie and George who run the hotel are lovely and made us feel so at home. Hercules, Claire and Aliki who work the bar look after your every need and always have massive smiles for you, as do the girls who look after you at breakfast and through the day. A hotel can be wonderful, but it is the people who work there that really make that special holiday

The hotel also provides entertainment most evenings, the quiz on a Sunday is worth doing as you can win free tickets for the Barbeque Evening the next night (which we won), the singer Harrison on the Friday evening was pretty good he sang lots of rat pack songs etc.

We would recommend eating at Galera, Chopsticks and the Italian for the food (the service at the Italian was really off the night we went but the food was good). If you fancy a shop for clothes, definitely go and see Angela at Valentinos on the corner, she will make you really welcome and a little lighter in your wallet.

The only thing that we could find a fault with and this wasn’t anything to do with the hotel, were the guests who must have been up at 4am to put out their towels to save sun beds then didn’t use them for hours, and as the days went on, more and more people did this – it’s ok to dump your bags and towels then have breakfast, but to put towels down before 7am then not sit there until 11am is a little much – Effie and George, could you make a 30-60 minute ruling on this, it would be so much better

How good is this hotel and the fantastic people who work there – I am going back with my mum in October

Room Tip: A tip is to book direct with the hotel if you can - http://www.anassahotel.gr/
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephencd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a-i-m england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Made to feel very welcome from the first minute we arrived. The location could not be better .All the staff were very friendly , one word of warning the lunches are excellent but you get so much you have to sleep afterwards. Wonderfull hotel ,great people .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexA_i_mEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool couple
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Have just returned after a weeks stay at the Anassa... My wife and I have stayed in many Greek resorts over the years.. Lots of different islands and quite a few places on the mainland, but we both agree that the Anassa in Skala has been by FAR the best.

Perfectly located for either the pool or the beach...A short stroll into town for the many excellent tavernas... The best BBQ night we have ever attended and Effie, George and all their staff made us feel genuinely welcome. I would not hesitate to recommend a holiday at the Anassa.. I know we will be going back.


I would not hesitate

Room Tip: All the rooms are really well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holmlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.0 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
398 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
213 reviews
21.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
779 reviews
29.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anassa Hotel

Property: Anassa Hotel
Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#2 Best Value Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Anassa Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing