We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed.”
Review of Anassa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anassa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Cephalonia, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not to be missed.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Went to Anassa on Wednesday 7/05/14. An absolutely superb night, a very good, large BBQ, great view, table service by the hard working, very efficient staff and entertainment by Hollis, the local R&R singer who is very, very good. He began at 9-00 and by 9-30 the dance area was full, and it stayed full until we left at midnight, but,,,he is R&R, and R&R is not quiet.
Despite the place being full, we never had to wait for a drink, the staff are superb. I will have no hesitation in visiting again, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank colindoddinKef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    41
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
110
296
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Anyone looking at the reviews for this hotel will note a lot of people go here year after year, and we think that once you've been you'll understand why...
The Anassa is a short walk (5 minutes) from town, it's in great location on the beach road directly opposite the beach. On arrival you'll get a lovely friendly welcome, and a cold drink while you're passport details are taken to check you in.... (I'll confess we enjoyed several cold beers and a bite to eat whilst simply enjoying the view, and when we were ready to go to the room our luggage was already there!).
Our room was modern & clean with everything we needed for a couple of weeks holiday.
For us the holiday was made by the people, Hercules, Claire, in fact the whole team really the can't do enough for you. The food is great and the BBQ night is a must.
When we go back to Kefalonia (which we definitely will at some point) we'll be going to the Anassa.
We love the Greek Islands and have visited many but Kefalonia is definitely one of the most picturesque and beautiful, the crystal clear turquoise waters are just begging you to dive in.
We went self catering (i.e. We ate out), Skala is a small resort but there is a good range of restaurants & tavernas so you won't go short on choices.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike_Jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollington, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Having last been in Kefalonia 26 years ago I expected some change to my holiday experience there. However I was not expecting Skala to have been totally Anglicised. OK for those who want The British holiday experience abroad but for someone who appreciates the food and culture of other countries this was a real disappointment. The Annasa hotel was clean and comfortable but the bar and swimming pool area did not play any Greek music at all and on several occasions the two TV's in the bar had different UK football matches on. Just goes to show you you have to delve deeper than relying on the reviews on trip advisor.

The choice of food in the tavernas in Skala was identical and everything came with chips and rice, staples like roasted lemon potatoes or Horta were non existent.

This was the first package holiday I have had in twelve years and I after this I will be reverting back to being an independent traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Katsouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed next door but had a tour and ate/drank at the Hotel. Hercules , Claire and Nic give you a brilliant reception and nothing is too much trouble. location is superb and we'll certainly be back. If you are going to Skala make sure you check Hotel Anassa out. You can book apartments S/C or stay in hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jomorganwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

first time visitor to skala but certainly it wont be the last...The anassa is everything you want in a hotel,brilliant location opposite the beach,fab infinity swimming pool and wonderful friendly staff.Our fave part though was the bar,run by claire hercules and nic(nothing was too much trouble for any of them) and hercules curry night on saturdays gets 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Recently arrived back home from another relaxing holiday at the Anassa. Everyone at the hotel works hard to make sure that you have a memorable stay, whether it's the owners Effie and George or the staff. Hercules, Claire and Nectarius run a fabulous bar whilst Daniella, Vangelia and Eddie make sure that the rooms and grounds are pristine, not forgetting new girl Laura who does an excellent job on reception. Barbeque and quiz nights are not to be missed and should you choose to eat here at lunch time you will not be disappointed. The location is ideal, a few yards from the beach whilst the pool area is idyllic. Everyone is made welcome whether you are one of the many returning guests or a first timer. The Anassa is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DACStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was Our first trip to Skala and the Anassa but will not be our last!
All the people we met were so genuine and friendly, making it easy for us to relax and enjoy our time there. From the bar staff ,Hercules,Nic and Claire, the owners George and Effie to the maids and garden/pool maintenance man who's names we didn't get to know, we say "Thanks Everybody" You all made Our time with You all a pleasure, and we look forward to seeing You all again soon. We came to the Anassa as guests and left leaving as friends. Good luck Claire on your new life, Nic, you are a real gentleman. And Hercules your curry is outstanding! Alison says look after treasure! Take care we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redman546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.0 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
425 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
497 reviews
2.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
233 reviews
19.0 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anassa Hotel

Property: Anassa Hotel
Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Anassa Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing