We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anassa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anassa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An amazing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just back from 9 night stay at Anassa, we booked direct with the hotel following research and using tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Booking was very easy and by going direct the air conditioning was included as well as breakfast. WE confirmed the booking via email and any questions were answered really quickly via email or phone. We were looking for an apartment for 4, 2 adults plus 13 and 10 year old daughters. We could have chosen the masionette room or masionette suite, we went for the room which was a sofa bed downstairs with a double bed upstairs. I was a bit worried about the sofa bed but it had proper mattresses and was just perfect, was absolutely fine for adults. We saw the maisonette suite, it was really nice as has a separate living area and can sleep 6, 2 doubles plus bed settee like our room. Our room was spotless, cleaned daily with new sheets and towels. We were in the 2nd block on the 2nd floor, so overlooking the gardens, with a sea view, a lovely balcony, just right for 4. The room had a great bathroom, double sinks and big shower. The breakfast was continental, cereal, juice, bread/toast, fruit, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, you help yourself and we filled ourselves up on breakfast so only needed a very small lunch. The hotel itself is lovely, fantastic location, a few steps to the beach, a great pool, plenty of sun loungers, 5mins walk to the village, virtually opposite water sports, next to the pick up point for the cruises, we couldn't have hoped for more. What makes Anassa is the people, both staff and guests, everyone was really friendly. The staff work really hard, especially Claire, Nic and Hercales were fantastic at the bar, making sure everyone was ok, enjoying their lovely holiday destination. From the cleaners, gardeners, breakfast staff to Effie and George, everyone made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely time at the bbq night, with music and some greek dancing at the end, the food was lovely and you got loads. We had lunch at the hotel, it didn't disappoint, it was really yummy! We hired a car from the airport but Effie can easily arrange a taxi from the airport. Scala was a great location for us, we enjoyed the various beaches both Scala and Kaminia, used the water sports facilities, went on a cruise to Ithica, drove to the caves, lakes, Sami, visited the monastery, castle and Robola winery, went to Argostoli at night on a trip from Etam travel, as well as enjoying the pool both in the morning and when we got back from our days out. We enjoyed the variety of taverna's in the village, looking in the shops and walking back to the hotel for a drink before bed, stopping off for dessert at the frozen yog, crepes or doughnut man in the square. Yes, there can be noise from the bars around but when we closed the doors and air conditioning was on, we feel fast asleep! I can't praise this hotel enough, if we come back to Kefalonia we will definitely be returning to Anassa as there are so many things we didn't get the chance to do. We had an amazing holiday, relaxed and laughed lots, tried new things and more importantly we have come home with lots of great memories. All the staff new us by name and made us so welcome, not because we were loud or always at the bar but because that is what the do, they are all very proud of what they do and want everyone to enjoy the beautiful location and hotel. I can see why people return year after year, and hopefully we will as well. Thank you Anassa.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel as they have rooms not available with Thomson but book early as people book f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_swimming_girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    34
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
101
265
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I returned a week ago from the Anassa and what a wonderful time was had by all I travelled with. This place was amazing, it was a fantastic location right on the beach which was beautiful and clean, crystal clear water! Great beach service by Claire who also ran the hotel bar with Nik and Hercules, they were fantastic, such a laugh. I miss them!! The rooms are lovely, I didn't notice any noise at all at night apart from the crazy noise from crickets in the trees and anyway you're on holiday, there's bound to be someone having a sing song! The pool area was beautiful, never packed so there were always sun beds available and everyone was so friendly that you just felt so relaxed and that's what you want on holiday! This place impressed me so much that I've booked to go back next year for 3 weeks. Can't wait. And Claire, just wanted to say I've never had such a wonderful "SLING" as yours. They were the best..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wombourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just return from 2 weeks at the Anassa and it was fantastic from start to finish, nothing was too much trouble and all our needs we're catered for

The attention to detail to make sure that all the clients are looked after is second to none, nothing is too much trouble

We will definitely be booking again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

What can I say...so sad to be home! Arrived and instantly greeted by the amazing staff there, big hugs and kisses all round, like being reunited!

Effie and George, what beautiful people...on a daily basis spoke to me and asked after my well being.
Hercules, what a legend. Treats me like family, a beautiful beautiful man. Claire, stunning girl!! Made a v good friend there who again is so so caring. Nick...gorgeous :)

I can not wait for my return there, all happy memories! You can't go wrong here, it's just simply the best!! Met some stunning people who I will definitely be keeping in touch with and I really hope will see again soon!!

Cried my eyes out when Hercules took me to the bus and I left...it is like leaving family.

See you all again soon. Xx

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We chose this hotel by the excellent ratings it has been given and it is good, but I'm not convinced it is worthy of an excellent - though many returning holidaymakers disagree. This is just a summary of our thoughts. The holiday overall was good.
The location is good. It's on the beachfront 300m from the centre of the village. They have loungers to use on the beach at 6€ a day and promise beach service, but in reality this happens once / twice a day. It is placed between other hotels and this means that there is no nighttime peace until after 1pm (sometimes later) and this, along with early morning deliveries, workmen and binmen, means restful nights are few and far between - an annoying shame.
The rooms were good. Cleaned daily and towels bedding changed twice a week - you could pay extra for daily changes. Tea / coffee facilities are in each room but no tea or coffee is provided and cups are not washed - this is hotel so we expect this really, it isn't self-catering after all and all hotels provide the basics. Air conditioning is available at 6€ a night! Do hotels charge for heating in the winter? No. But you either pay up or leave your doors open and suffer heat and noise!
We had bed and breakfast. 2 cereals, toast, jam/honey, boiled eggs, cake, squash (not juice), yoghurt and sometimes unnamed fruits. Teas and coffee were also available but best avoided. This was every day - no change. We have had a lot better - or you could pay and have a lovely selection of breakfast snacks.
The pool / bar area is good. There were always enough sun beds and it was very clean. There was little entertainment and like many foreign bars all the Tv's show football - and I'm in Kefalonia looking for a Greek break! Snacks and drinks were fairly priced and good.
The staff were friendly (and we should expect this as a minimum in the hotel sector), but I wouldn't say that you are swept off your feet with their kindness and smiling faces. But it is my first visit - return visitors seemed to love it. Reception was ok but information about the village, good tavernas, trips was non existent.
It's our second visit to Skala. It is a lovely resort, but I'm afraid it is losing its identity and becoming another resort that feels it has to become a little bit of Britain for the summer - it is losing its 'Greekness' and that is a real shame. But there still a few tavernas that make you feel special - you've just got to find them.

Room Tip: Floors overlooking car park area are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Relaxbutenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a fantastic holiday from arrival to departure my review title says it all, Fantastic views from the pool area overlooking the coastline with Zante in the backdrop, Outstanding staff give a 5 star service making this one of the best hotels i have ever stopped in !!!!!!. LOVED IT

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngb5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The location was Fantastic just a few step across the road to the sea, the bar was allways busy and fun, curry night and bbq where filling and fun.

Effie George and the rest of the staff gave us a warm welcome and pleasent stay

will definately be returning here

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clive t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.1 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
0.4 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
19.3 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anassa Hotel

Property: Anassa Hotel
Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#1 Best Value Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Anassa Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing