We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming family hotel”
Review of Asteris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Asteris Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Rossett
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Welcoming family hotel”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Difficult to think of anything new to write about the Asteris. The rooms are very large and well equipped, we did cook in the room and the kitchen was more than adequate, the room also had a dining area and a sofa.
We hired a car for the 2 weeks and so didn’t walk into Skala, but if the distance is a problem the Taxis are very reasonable and the Hotel runs a shuttle service at 18:00 and 20:00hrs.
Even when the Hotel was full, the area around the Pool was quiet and sun beds always available.
This Hotel has a very casual feel, almost like staying with friends, an example of this was during the staff’s end of season BBQ, when the guests around the Pool were invited to join the party.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive_and_Anne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    43
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
64
112
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having stayed in Kephalonia many times we can definately say that this has been the most pleasant visit ever. The images in the brochure were of a place that you hoped were 'like that' and when you arrived were amazed to find that it was better than advertised !. We were allocated a lovely room with sea view and after four days , as it was end of season, were offered an even nicer one which we nicknamed The Penthouse , a really super appartment . We cannot fault the place, the staff,food, cleanliness , a big thank you to everyone . Of course we will return !! .

Room Tip: A few rooms overlook the reception area all others are at least very good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Asteris is set atop a hillside literally overlooking the sea/coastline. From our room, we had possibly THE best southfacing view of the scenery which was stunning (you can see Zante beyond Skala resort). Our room was enormous and the balcony similarly roomy. The room was cleaned everyday & towels were replaced every day too! It is approx 2.2km from Skala resort & took us 45-50 minutes to walk to (slow pace). Each day, we would walk to the beach (the walk is pleasant & mostly downhill), spend the day at the beach, then a 5 minute taxi back (€5). In the evening, kostas runs a free minibus service into Skala at 6pm & 8pm & then we'd get a taxi back after dinner. The receptionist Marita (I hope I got that right!), was so pleasant & helpful, as was Yiannis. In fact, all of the staff were pleasant & helpful (we spent the last 2 days of our holiday as pretty much the only ones & were STILL treated wonderfully!). The pool is great as are the views from the pool. I cannot recognise the hotel that the Italian reviewer mentions because the review was so alien to our experience. Beautiful, wonderful, fantastic hotel. Will miss it & the staff SO much!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablobrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Simply the most relaxing holidayyou could wish for , Our second visit to this Hotel and as per our last holiday tow years ago this year was everybit as good.
The hotel is welcoming , The hotel staff are the most friendly and helpful people you could wish to meet.

We always said we would not go back to the same place but we are already thinking about our third visit .

If you want a lively nightlife this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Fabulous hotel with impeccable service. So welcoming. Great food, good choice and home cooked. Clean. Views to die for over the sea and across to Scala. Will return to this hotel again (I hope). All staff friendly and helpful. Pool clean and a good size.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks in the Asteris Hotel and could not be more pleased with the whole holiday. We booked with Thomas Cook and paid £1000 for the 2 of us in a self catering studio. Kerrie our rep was very nice and good at her job.
The photos of the hotel are good but it looks even nicer when you see it for real. I booked the Asteris because of the good tripadvisor reviews and fancied a change from our usual big hotel and All Inc board. The views looked very nice and I emailed the hotel a couple of weeks prior to our stay to request a high room if one was available. I got an instant reply from Yannis the manager to say he would try but most rooms were booked up well in advance.
On arrival we were met by Yannis who remembered my request and gave us a lovely one bedroom apartment, which was large, modern, clean, and had a full sea view with a partial view of the coastal route to Skala. We had only paid for a studio and were very pleased!
On our 11th day we were asked if we would like to stay in room 150 for our last 3 days as it has the best views and was vacant for those 3 days. We took Yannis up on that offer and it made our holiday extra special. All the rooms have nice views and lovely gardens and it is very peaceful there all day and night.
The apartments are in small blocks of 4 or 6 and have large balconies. It's 5 euros a day for air con if required but the safe, internet and pool towels are free. Rooms are cleaned each day and towels changed if you leave them in the bath instead of hanging them up. Toiletries on arrival and hairdryer in bathroom with shaver point. Kitchen has a fridge, microwave and hob. TV , table, sofa and large bed plus plenty of storage and utensils etc for self catering.
The pool was plenty large enough and very clean with lovely views once again. There were never more than 12 people around the pool and you could always get a sun bed and parasol. Music was played from the pool bar at just the right volume and it was pretty good in my opinion. The food served here is very good and as mentioned before, you often got a free dessert! Food and drink were about the same as the UK for prices.
At 6pm and 8pm there is a free mini bus to Skala, except for Sundays. Taxi's back cost 6 euros...you would not want to walk it as it's up a massive hill. During the day you can walk down to Skala but it is too hot to carry loads of shopping back up the hill and there are no buses. It takes 45 mins to walk down and it's nice to see all the goats and cows along the coastal road. The nearest supermarket is 30 mins downhill walk from the hotel but about an hour uphill back.
The family which run the hotel really make you feel welcome and they really want you to enjoy your stay and return in the future. I cannot fault the place or the people and it was a bargain for the price we paid. We travel a lot and love to visit different places but I'm sure we will return to the Asteris in the near future as it was so relaxing and made a nice change from the usual run of the mill, large hotel chains. No kids club, getting up at 6.am for a sun bed with no parasol unless you are very lucky. Butlin's style entertainment screeching out is not here! There was a BBQ night and a Saxophonist each week and a free pool table and chess set in reception. There are a few swings and a slide for small children.
Skala has a few good bars and taverna's with a small selection of supermarkets and gift shops. The beach has crystal clear water and sand and shingle beach, which really hurts your feet!!!! Wear beach shoes and you'll be alright. Two sunbeds and a parasol is 5 euros for the whole day, so good value.
We did the trip to Lefkas called the forgotten islands, a day trip to Ithaca, tour of Kefalonia and an evening in Argostoli...all were excellent! Kefalonia is a beautiful Island and we saw most of it on our trips out.
A big thanks to everyone at the Asteris for making our holiday so good. Hope to see you all again soon. Phil & Jan Dunn

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elleHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A great hotel with excellent value for money. Spacious, very clean rooms. We were shown to the room on arrival and some missing glassware was sorted out immediately. Breakfast is very good. Maid service is excellent, the room was cleaned on a daily basis and fresh towels were laid on the beds every day. Fantastic swimming pool with amazing views. Excellent food at the pool snack bar. Very friendly, accommodating and efficient staff. The surprise was the amazing music at the pool bar every day! Because we had small kids with us, we would have appreciated a better quality TV that got more local channels for them to watch cartoons in the morning.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniellaBikoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
16.1 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
773 reviews
17.7 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
17.9 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asteris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asteris Hotel

Property: Asteris Hotel
Address: Skala 28086, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#5 Family Hotel in Skala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Asteris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Asteris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asteris Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing