We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makis Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Makis Studios
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Walthamstow, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Totally agree with the other reviews for these appartments. So peaceful and clean but also close enough to main High Street with bars , Taverna's and shops. Not a single bad meal in any of the Tavernas during our 2 week stay. If you don't fancy a sit down meal then try a scrummy 'gyros' from Pitta Bozo cheap alternative at only 2.20 euro. Favourite bar was Akri Bar, really friendly and really good cocktails but best for Mojito's has to be B's, undrinkable in Metaxa Beach bar , think barman needs a bit more training.
The Roman mosaics are worth seeing , not very big but its free . Water taxi to Poros was great but Three Islands boat trip was disappointing , only because the boat was packed with too many people and seating was really hard and uncomfortable for so many hours of sailing , views were stunning though. Would definatly recommend Makis Studios , very enjoyable 2 weeks stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
89
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013 in a room overlooking the pool. Despite it being peak season Makis Studios still felt quiet and peaceful, and there were always sun loungers available by the pool. The room, the grounds and the pool were cleaned daily. Makis is a lovely place that offers excellent value for money and you are just a few minutes walk from the lovely little high street and its restaurants and bars. Just perfect! We didn't use the self catering facilities really but it was nice being able to make a cup of coffee in the morning and keep bottles of water cool in the fridge. We succumbed to air con after our third night and slept much better for it (it is August after all!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monsoon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have just returned from my stay at the Makis Studios where I had a fantastic stay. The Studios are, what they say, studio apartments. Our room was a decent sized room with a small kitchenette with a fridge, plug in two ring cooker, kettle and enough crockery and cutlery for two people. The only thing missing that I would’ve liked was a toaster but we made do and toasted in the frying pan. The room itself had two single, comfortable beds, a dressing table with hairdryer and built in wardrobes. There was enough room to pack away all our clothes. The only slight let down was the bathroom had a hand held shower and a curtain but I’ve heard that is typical of Greek apartments. Each room has an air conditioner at a cost of 35 Euros a week which was essential as it was just far too hot to sleep in August so a must and totally worth it. It must be said though that the owner was slightly reluctant to give us the remote control to the air conditioner on the first evening and told us it was set to 23 degrees and should we need it adjusted then just to ask. We had it adjusted and asked to turn it down to 20 degrees which was fine to start with but half way through the night it was too cold and we couldn’t adjust ourselves as we didn’t have the remote control! Our rep from Thomsons was fantastic and sorted this out the following day. All rooms have a balcony but the ones on the ground floor are more private as you have to walk past the ground floor balconies to get to the pool. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and pool is fantastic. The place had plenty of sun loungers for everyone and the place was nice and quiet with mostly adults staying (A must if, like me, you’re a teacher and wanted a break from lots of children!). In my opinion, the location was perfect. It was just a short walk to the main street and only a 5 minute walk down hill to the beach. Overall, apart from the slight blip with the air conditioning, I would highly recommend the Makis Studios.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor if you want a private balcony and don't want to greet everyone on their w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigdlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Makis Studios for two week in August and found it great value. The rooms were clean and had aircondition, free wi-fi, a hair dryer, kettle, fridge and cooking facilities.Plenty of space to store clothes. Nice bathroom with a window and always enough hot water. All the windows had a net when open so insects isn't any problem. Rooms were cleaned daily and we had a balcony which overlooked the pool. It felt private to sit on the balcony to enjoy mornings or evenings. Makis Studios are kept spotless clean inside and outside. The staff are friendly and work hard too keep everything in top shape. You can also park your car for free at the Studios.The apartments are close enough to be in the Main Street in 3 minuts but they are very quiet and peaceful. From the studios the beach is a 7 minuts walk mostly downhill. The beach are going fore kilometres and tavernas, showers and toilets are in reach. Set of 2 sunbeds and embrella costs 5-6 Euro per day. After walking back from the beach you can enjoy a nice cool swim in the Studios pool.The pool was clean and there were enough sunbeds for everyone. The snack bar is reasonably priced and serves great toasties.You can also buy nice breakfast if you want for 5 Euro each. All in all great value! We will come back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MBJ1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Makis Studios for a week in August and found it great value. The rooms were clean and had a hair dryer, kettle, fridge and cooking facilities. The shower facilities were typically Greek, as we expected, you need to hold the shower head, this isn't a five star hotel but it doesn't claim to be! Rooms were cleaned daily and we had a balcony which overlooked the pool. The apartments are close enough to be in the Main Street in 5 mins but they are very quiet and peaceful. The pool was clean and their were enough sunbeds for everyone. The snack bar is reasonably priced and serves great toasties. Be aware you need to pay extra if you want air conditioning. All in all great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katmc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We went to the Makis Studios in May/June this year as a family group of six adults. This is a lovely little studio block at the end and to the left of the busy little high street in Skala. There are two or three little supermarkets near to the studios, and then a few more down the hill in Skala high street. It takes about 10/15 minutes to walk from the lovely beach at Skala to the studios (if you don't stop to browse the shops or be tempted to eat/drink in any of the nice tavernas along the way!). The walk is a bit uphill but my Mum, who was with us, is 84 and she managed a slow stroll up the hill. The studios themselves are basic but kept very clean, as are the pool and surrounding gardens. Most of the balconies are very private, although on the small side but there are other areas to sit too. In the mornings when the sun was on the front of the property we sat and had our breakfast overlooking the nice garden. There are a few stairs up and down to the pool area and younger children would need to be well supervised, but this is the same in a lot of accommodation abroad. Although Skala is a busy little resort the studios are well away from the high street and we didn't get any noise at night. There's only a small parking area in front of the studios but an overflow parking area behind the studios. All in all a very good, clean reasonably priced accommodation.

Room Tip: The balconies on the lower floor rooms are a bit on show from people walking to the pool but when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHRISTINE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Wonderful Studios-nice rooms-with kettle and fridge-hairdryer. Cooking facilities available. Very clean-plenty of sunbeds and a lovely pool. Bar prices at pool are good. 5 Minute walk to the main shopping/restaurants and beach. Rooms cleaned daily. Excellent.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are not as private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susie740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#10 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#17 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Studios

Property: Makis Studios
Address: Skala, Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Makis Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makis Studios, Skala, Kefalonia Makis Studios is a small and friendly family run complex situated in the beautiful village of Skala, on the East coast of Kefalonia.The studios, with lovely surroundings and views, are set off the main high street making them private and peaceful. Yet, they are only 500 metres from beautiful Skala Beach and only a short walk from Skalas' shops, bars and restaurants. The complex is made up of 2 seperate blocks housing a total of 24 studios, which have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the pool area.Each studio is furnished with 2 single beds. The kitchenette area is equipped with a 2 ring electrical hob, a kettle and fridge.Airconditioning on charge payble localy. There are hairdryers in each room.The attractive pool area has an on site bar with a nice shaded terrace where you can enjoy breakfast, snacks and drinks, including cocktails, from the reasonably priced menu. There is free use of sun loungers and umbrellas for our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing