We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the beds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Makis Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makis Studios
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Shame about the beds!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Nice quiet spot once you get used to the barking dog! We were on the top floor, good views and quite private - in our opinion much better than the ground floor for privacy. Good pool and although the sunbeds were fairly busy, the pool rarely was. The apartment was on the small side but kept clean and the shower did have a hook - we didn't find it for a few days so it may be that others missed it too as it's high up! Good powerful shower. The beds are very hard, not good if you have joint problems, I was in agony every morning and my husband, who doesn't have joint problems, was also suffering. The drinks at the bar were very reasonable but if you're looking for music and a busy bar this isn't the place for you. We were there at the beginning of September and didn't need air con even though it was hot, we hired a fan for 15 euros which was very good value as we had it on most of the time. The safe was 20 euros - these were 2 weekly charges. Crockery and cutlery was very thin on the ground, only 2 of everything. We had 2 chipped bowls and a chipped glass, nothing matched, this could definitely be improved. It was good to have mosiquito screens on the windows so that they could be left open at night. Although we liked the studios we wouldn't go back because of the problem with the beds and also the walk up and down the hill was quite difficult for us - it's fine if you're reasonably fit - we would stay nearer the beach another time and we will definitely go back to Skala.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
89
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked the holiday through Thomson wanting a good base for a relaxing holiday on a bed and breakfast basis. I am pleased to say we got exactly that.Our room was on the ground floor next to the well kept pool area which has plenty of sunbeds.
The rooms are very basic but kept very clean by the staff who clean the rooms daily and change bedding / towels once in the week. Two single beds were provided with adequate storage for clothes. A fridge and some very basic cooking equipment is also provided. Air con for the week was 35 Euro with a further 12 Euro for the safe.
Breakfast provided at the pool bar was good with bread , cheese , cereal and coffee.
We were leaving late on the Sunday and the owner very kindly provided us with a room to shower and freshen up without charge .
We had decided to try different restaurants for lunch and evening meal and can recommend the following:
APOSTOLIS - Great welcome and service - excellent Moussaka
SIROCO - great salads, pizza and Kefalonian meat pie
OLD VILLAGE - really good beef stifado and Lamb Kleftico
AQUARIUS - tasty sea bass and garlic prawns

The water taxi from Skala to Katelios is great fun and an exiting way to get to a different resort. It costs 30 Euro return for two persons.

The Captain Vangelis boat trip to Fiscardo and Lake Melisanna is well worth the 35 Euro price. It is very well organised , safely run and is an excellent day out. If you want to sit on the top deck get there early.

Overall a very good holiday. Makis Studios are ideal for a no frills quiet relaxing holiday in a very nice resort. Will return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveandFreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed in Makis Studios for 7 nights. The location is great, it is very central but hidden off the main road which makes it really quiet, peaceful and with lovely views with no passing traffic. It's just off the main road which is where most of the restaurants, bars and shops are and it leads down to the beach so you have everything you need within a 5 minute walk.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and the communal areas are well maintained. The drinks at the bar are really cheap and the food is good. The only grumbles I had were that we had to pay 35 euros for the pleasure of having air conditioning for a week and the host wasn't as friendly and helpful as she could have been. The younger girl behind the bar gave really good service. I'm also pretty sure we booked a room pool side and the one we got wasn't. That really isn't a big deal but other people may have cared more.
Overall, I really liked staying at Makis Studios and I probably would go back again mainly because of how peaceful and private it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Makis Studios for 11 days in August. They are clean, have modern furniture, private balcony and all you require for self catering (although we never used it for that apart from having breakfast). Despite all the apartments being occupied there was never a problem getting sunbeds, in fact it being so peaceful made it even more enjoyable.
The apartment was cleaned on a daily basis and towels changed regularly. Aircon is a must and after initially not having a remote, once one was obtained we were able to adjust it to our own settings. The Makis is just around the corner from the main street and a ten minute stroll to the beach. If you go to the beach and want to swim, beach shoes would be very advisable.
Our thanks to Rita and the rest of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.
As for Skala itself, it is a charming resort. There is more than enough tavernas and bars to eat somewhere different each day. The best taverna is without doubt the Old Village where Dannny and

the rest of the staff make you more than welcome and the food is superb.
We will certainly be back to stay at the Makis in the future and enjoy the delights of Skala and the rest of Kefalonia.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandlad025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A peaceful stay enjoyed by my partner and I at the Makis Studios. They are clean, tidy and well maintained. In a great location, near to the restaurants and beach, but hidden away in a peaceful location. Would definitely return, wish we'd had 2 weeks there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walthamstow, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Totally agree with the other reviews for these appartments. So peaceful and clean but also close enough to main High Street with bars , Taverna's and shops. Not a single bad meal in any of the Tavernas during our 2 week stay. If you don't fancy a sit down meal then try a scrummy 'gyros' from Pitta Bozo cheap alternative at only 2.20 euro. Favourite bar was Akri Bar, really friendly and really good cocktails but best for Mojito's has to be B's, undrinkable in Metaxa Beach bar , think barman needs a bit more training.
The Roman mosaics are worth seeing , not very big but its free . Water taxi to Poros was great but Three Islands boat trip was disappointing , only because the boat was packed with too many people and seating was really hard and uncomfortable for so many hours of sailing , views were stunning though. Would definatly recommend Makis Studios , very enjoyable 2 weeks stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2013 in a room overlooking the pool. Despite it being peak season Makis Studios still felt quiet and peaceful, and there were always sun loungers available by the pool. The room, the grounds and the pool were cleaned daily. Makis is a lovely place that offers excellent value for money and you are just a few minutes walk from the lovely little high street and its restaurants and bars. Just perfect! We didn't use the self catering facilities really but it was nice being able to make a cup of coffee in the morning and keep bottles of water cool in the fridge. We succumbed to air con after our third night and slept much better for it (it is August after all!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monsoon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
377 reviews
1.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.4 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#112 of 142 in Cephalonia
45 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#17 of 23 in Skala
78 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Studios

Property: Makis Studios
Address: Skala, Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Makis Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makis Studios, Skala, Kefalonia Makis Studios is a small and friendly family run complex situated in the beautiful village of Skala, on the East coast of Kefalonia.The studios, with lovely surroundings and views, are set off the main high street making them private and peaceful. Yet, they are only 500 metres from beautiful Skala Beach and only a short walk from Skalas' shops, bars and restaurants. The complex is made up of 2 seperate blocks housing a total of 24 studios, which have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the pool area.Each studio is furnished with 2 single beds. The kitchenette area is equipped with a 2 ring electrical hob, a kettle and fridge.Airconditioning on charge payble localy. There are hairdryers in each room.The attractive pool area has an on site bar with a nice shaded terrace where you can enjoy breakfast, snacks and drinks, including cocktails, from the reasonably priced menu. There is free use of sun loungers and umbrellas for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Makis Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing