We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Holiday Again”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned ,after 2nd holiday at this little hotel and was not disappointed. Great to find that nothing had changed. Simple clean room,clean bed linen and clean towels every day,cant fault the place! The staff are friendly,the breakfast good,and the pool area kept immaculate. It is mostly an adult only hotel which is good if like us one seeks peace and quiet on holiday.Cant think why the management doesnt bite the bullet and make it an adults only hotel full stop,as the guests are mostly senior citizens and couples,we dont think they would lose custom and maybe even gain some new guests! Thanks again to management and staff for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivairons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    110
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
124
466
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent another two glorious weeks at the 9 Muses,,, we love it there and have already booked to return next year. Staff and hotel still perfect,,, we are made to feel so welcome and its lovely to see the staff again,,Big warm welcome from Maria on reception ,,,Excellent service from Maria at the top pool ,Manos at the main bar and all staff in restaurant ,, Amanda making everybody happy with her cocktails ! We love to meet up with friends we have made over the years and always return home fully chilled after a fabulous holiday. We hire a car through Pefanis and his rates are very good . So many places to visit on the island it is worth hiring a car while there. Can recommend the Avra restaurant , and also The Old Village , the Scandinavian restaurant, there are so many to choose from ! Also had fab times at The Captains bar ,,, We are so looking forward to returning , just a shame we have to wait till next year !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BODANDWALLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel has everything you need for the perfect holiday.
In a great location, straight across the road from the beach and close to many restaurants, spotless accomodation- cleaned everyday, hospitable and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you.
The breakfast was lovely, overlooking the sea with plenty of choice and the Avra restaurant served delicious meals.
Kefalonia is a beautiful island and we would visit again as many do, if we did we would deffinitely stay again at the 9 Muses.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have just returned from my third holiday at the 9 Muses with my parents, aunt and daughter.. We are always welcomed and remembered and nothing is too much for the staff who work such long hours but always have a cheerful disposition. Having lived in Greece for over 11 years and I am fortunate enough to be able to speak the language which only adds to the experience. The staff in the Avra Restaurant are amazing and even well it is full the service remains outstanding (co-ordinated by Takis who doesn't miss a trick). It puts the service in England to shame. Before our evening meal a nice cocktail with Amanda who is so lovely and make sures the atmosphere is friendly and after a few drinks all the hotel guests are chatting and having fun.
The whole experience is so enjoyable, the hotel is clean and we always want for nothing. See you next year! Sarah and Poppy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Staff are wonderful - I have never met a friendlier and happy group of Staff ! Even the Manager saw us off yesterday with a wave ! The Hotel restaurant was great - We ate there several times and were only there B & B. The bar was well stocked and the barman was brilliant and ready to please ! Food and drink were reasonably priced ! The location is ideal - opposite the beach and near to the town. Nearly every guest we met had been before and the atmosphere was very genial. Every area was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveCass59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at Nine Muses two weeks in June '14 absolutely fabulous. This hotel is like a little village of coloured houses with charming lanes between full of flowers we had such a lovely short walk to the main building. There is also a quaint little chapel where wedding ceremonies are held. Perfect room spotlessly clean was serviced every day by a lovely lady, super soft bedding, large thick towels change almost every day and left on bed in many different shapes, frogs, elephants flowers so lovely. Its little touches like this that makes this hotel special. After boozy cocktails in the bar we were served delicious food in the picturesque restaurant overlooking the beach and sea. Breakfast served in same restaurant by super efficient staff, everything you could want to start the day. Two pools that were perfect for relaxing lots of sunbeds and bars at both that served lovely lunches. If I was asked to find one thing that was wrong I truly couldn't we had a perfect holiday thanks to the Nine Muses full marks thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I can completely understand why folk return to this lovely, laidback, well positioned hotel.

Rooms: Ours in Polimnia Muse was in nice quiet position (as requested), certainly large enough, tidily presented and cleaned daily, good water pressure in shower, plenty of storage, small but serviceable balcony. Beds and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. Some coffee/tea etc left upon arrival but not replenished, neither were the toiletries. In our case the aircon unit was not effective enough. Maintenance did look at it, and initially left a pass key in the slot – which made sleeping comfortable for a few nights until someone remembered it was there and removed it. Room never really got cool after that. Others however said there’s was fine. It will be assumed you wish to use the safety deposit box if you do not return the key to reception cost -18 Euros per week.

Pool area: well presented and although small there always seemed sufficient beds. Many went to the beach, out on trips or had car hire, there was also the top quiet pool, which did live up to its name. However on the top pool as the patio area is very limited and parasols fixed often it was not possible to remain completely in the shade. Good policy of no reserving beds before 9.00. Beds by the main pool were very comfy and good parasols however it did feel a little sardinish at times as area not over large. Some overspill area on lawn to side.

Bars/restaurants : All staff very friendly and quickly got to know people. Prices for drinks and snacks very competitive with the main area. Great ice cream frappes. The main Avra restaurant was one, if not the smartest, looking restaurant we came across in resort. Lovely setting across the road from the sea, some great background music, and good selection of meals. Breakfast was served in the Avra which was lovely each morning looking out over the sunlit sea. Breakfast was repetitive but very nice. Liked the individual pots so coffee stayed hot. Happy hour 6-8 very popular – Amanda does a fantastic black Russian.

General: No pool towels issued – take your own. Changing sterling money anywhere is 2% commission, No bank in Skala, but there are about 3 ATM’s and some businesses did currency exchange. We charged everything to the room and paid by credit card which was not surcharged – excellent itemised bill at end of stay. Exchange library by reception. Pool loos had a shower but initially no table, hook, chair or anything to put your stuff down – however to be fair once mentioned a table and double hook appeared in the room – good customer service. The hotel runs some beds and brollies on the beach however guests have to pay 6 euro for a set. Some others are 5, but the 5* hotel further out of resort is I believe double that. Excellent guest artist on Sundays who does good easy listening music – very good. Same act though appears at adjoining hotels other nights so you could see plenty of him if wished. Weekly Greek night.

Out & About: We hired a car for 3 days from Greekstones (up main street take about 3rd left). Make sure car is powered enough as some of those mountains are quite a climb. Some times we felt we needed to do a Fred and Wilma and help the car run the inclines. Very narrow, tight bends in places but the island is SO worth exploring, stunning scenery. Drogarati small 1 main cavern about 5 euro each, Melanissi also small but novel and about 7 Euro each. Both visits probably less than half hour each. We ate out somewhere different every night, similar menu’s and charges but we enjoyed all but one – which in fact was the only one who didn’t take credit cards. From our experience the most enjoyable meals were at : Avra itself, Manor House – great views over resort and sea, Flamingo where they did a bespoke carbonara for me, Mikelatos Restaurant , The Pines – great club sandwich.
We would definitely return to this hotel in the future .....

Room Tip: Some rooms do have some steps to access so make sure you emphasise your need at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travisgud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
0.1 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
43 reviews
2.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Property: 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Skala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing