We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel disappointing male staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel disappointing male staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Lovely hotel, nice rooms and bars etc. The main pool bar run by Minolee is very nice and Athena is a great asset to 9 Muses. We used Avra bar most evenings as Amanda, (who runs) this bar is so professional and very friendly to everyone who goes there, she always has a smile and makes the best cocktails in Scalla. However on one occasion Amanda had to collect a full crate of 24 Beers from the stockroom. Watching her struggle with the weight my husband offered to help her. At this point I looked over to the restaurant only to see two Greek male waiters watching the unfolding problem. Neither of them offered help!, we were shocked to see this, from such a lovely hotel. .Reading more Trip Advisor comments it seems this was not the first time this has been written about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    104
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
113
441
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

But our first to 9 Muses as always fully booked before,so we were looking forward to this holiday with great expectations and we were not disappointed.
On arrival we were met by reception,our cases were whisked away to our room and then we were escorted there by a lady who pointed out various useful facts along the way.
On the whole we were very impressed with our ground floor room 132 in the last block near the smaller pool. It was very clean and quite spacious with ample storage, fridge,air-con, safe and TV. The bathroom had a large walk in shower so much better than the usual Greek tiny bathroom with flapping shower curtain. The only minor issue was no privacy at all on our terrace. Our maid was great and everyday surprised us with her amazing towel art.
We only used the smaller pool as there was never very many people there so it felt like a private villa pool at times. We were looked after there by Maria who worked there everyday. Always so happy and friendly and hard working a real credit to the hotel.
We didn't use the larger pool but seemed much busier and always lots of people round pool bar.
Only ever ate breakfast,( perfectly adequate) at the restaurant as we went out into Skala for our meals and evening drinks, though the snacks we ate at the small pool were all very tasty.
We enjoyed our time at 9 Muses and wouldn't hesitate in returning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank daleyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Have to say great hotel. We spent many nights at Avra Bar with Amanda who runs this bar. Amanda could not be more helpful and friendly and is a real asset to 9 Muses. She is always there with a smile and fantastic personality, a truly lovely person. However imagine our shock to find Amanda had to carry a full crate of beers to her bar, on her own, whilst at least 3 Greek waiters watched her struggle with the weight!. This happened on two occasions, lazy Greek waiters watching a woman carry a crate of 24 beers! We were so shocked that even when we helped her (as guests) and patrons. The waiters in the blue tee shirts still looked on or played with their phones. Come on guys! whats happened to helping the fairer sex?. Obviously these lazy Greek men didn't get a tip from us at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

It was our first time stay at this hotel for a week in July and I must say it was absolutely fab! Staff could not do enough (especially Athina, she was such a hard worker and so lovely with a constant smile), it was relaxing with a lovely friendly and comfortable atmosphere. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Wifi was available in the restaurant and by the pool but not always in the rooms. Bars were well equipped and fun company, particularly Amanda in the bottom bar. Cocktails were lovely! Rooms are in close proximity to the pools. Pools were always very clean and no sunbed reservations allowed before 9am which was respected by almost all guests. Food was good, breakfast was ample and lovely and freshly cooked/prepared with continental or cooked options. the whole hotel area was well managed and so clean, such a credit to all the staff there. Cannot offer enough praise. Location was great, so peaceful and yet still near to everything. The beach was across the road, some sandy areas but mostly pebbles as you go into the sea which is a bit uncomfortable underfoot so be warned. Will definitely visit again and can only highly recommend the resort and the hotel.

Room Tip: some rooms have steps on access so if you have mobility problems you may want to ask for a low floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked direct with the hotel as Thomson had no rooms, apartments or studios available and didn't want one of the hotel rooms that we had in 2012 as no facilities for self-catering.

Only option when booking direct is a "suite" at just over £100 a night.........forgive me but this is a Greek Island and not St. Tropez or Monaco ! Anyway we bit the bullet and looked forward to our visit. Arrived at the hotel mid-afternoon and checked in, no great welcome to be honest but that tends to be the norm here unless you're part of the 9 Muses clique who visit every year & spend every waking day and night in the hotel bar and restaurant. The 2 suites are to the right hand side of the pool a small 2 up 2 down style building containing 2 suites adjoined. The doors to each are on the die of the building. Ours thankfully had a covered patio area outside the entrance door unlike the left hand side suite.

On entering I was struck by how small the main lounge area was, 1 small sofa, coffee table portable TV, built in wardrobe & desk and chair. There isn't a kitchen as such but a tiny, tiny space built under the stairs, small fridge, sink, couple of tiny cupboards & a kettle....that is your "kitchen" no way you could self-cater here, so a little mis-advertised in my opinion. There's also a small shower room with sink and toilet downstairs.

Upstairs wardrobes on the landing area, bathroom with large whirlpool bath and hand held shower attachment, plenty of cupboards in here too all in all a nice main bathroom, Then the one bedroom, large bed with a huge overhanging bed frame that we both ended up black and blue from as you couldn't help but walk into the bed at every opportunity to the tight space in here. Large mirror, draws and a couple if bedside cabinets and a small TV. Got to say though that the bed was very, very comfy due to the memory foam topper...........although the heat it produced was unbelievable

All in all it felt like a dolls house. There is a small patio area outside the patio doors in the lounge, 2 chairs and a table along with a stone seat. Upstairs a tiny balcony with clothes hanger, 2 small chairs and table and no room at all.

My main issue is with the situation of the suites, if you're paying top dollar you expect some semblance of privacy...........absolutely NO chance of that in this building. The frontage is directly on a main pathway route for the entire complex, therefore whether you're on the balcony or patio there are people shuffling back & forth from 7am to midnight, no privacy at all. All that coupled with the fact the only thing partially separating you and the adjoined suite next door both upstairs and down are some small shrubs, again none to private. The walls were also very thin and we regularly heard the adjacent couple arguing in the evenings!!

Thanks god we thought that we had this large covered and walled in patio area to the side of the suite, our little oasis..........to a degree, obviously no sun as covered in with shrubs. Plus this is adjacent to a grassed area that people use when the pool sunbeds are full. Despite their being a pathway and steps to this area everybody just walked up our walkway to the suite and stepped over our walled area!!!!!!! It was so frustrating and downright lazy of them. This also meant a lack of privacy. It also turned out it was staff "hangout" area for using the hotel WiFi, on our 2nd evening I stepped out onto the side patio and had the fright of my life as the pool boy was sitting on a sunbed in the pitch black using our patio wall to rest his laptop. He didn't even flinch or apologise and I felt terribly uncomfortable with him sat there whilst I tried to relax & read a book. This happened every evening without fail and was quite frankly off putting to use our own space.

We didn't partake in the pool area over our 2 week stay other than one day. It was hysterical to watch all the sad brits doing their sunbed dance/ritual EVERY single day. Never has it been so rife, despite their being signs to say you couldn't place towels on the beds until 9am........the saddos are out there at 6am onwards some in their nighties and PJs......scurrying around in the dawn light to ensure they acquired THEIR sunbed for the day. Even on dull days where the sun didn't come out or following a thunderstorm the night previously and all the mattresses being removed to dry them out, these sunbed hoggers still placed their towels on the beds. It was good sport to watch and laugh at that's for sure.
Of course you do have the added option of using the piece of beach in front of the hotel that they’ll kindly charge you €5 per sunbed to use despite the fact you’re a paying guest at the hotel…..another nice little earner for them !

Breakfast was exactly the same as our 2012 stay, plenty of it albeit very, very repetitive when you're there for 2 weeks, nothing changes other than the meagre selection of hot items, which they frequently ran out of most days. Fresh fruit, toast, muffins (dry) cake slices (dry) 4 cereals, yogurt and juice from concentrate cartons bleurghhhh. Not the worst breakfast selection but could be better. Special mention must go to the hardest working and friendliest staff member who starts her day at breakfast

When I paid the final bill on the evening before departure……..in excess of £1200, I did not get asked if I’d enjoyed our stay, was everything okay, absolutely nothing. Exactly the same at check out, they really couldn’t care less. It’s ALL about the €€€€€€€ here that’s for sure and the apathy of the reception staff and management is truly terrible. Not once did that years “manager” ask how things were either despite knowing who we were and seeing us on a daily basis along with being repeat guests.

We’ll never stay again as I’d be loath to give them my hard earned cash. I’d rather it went to a small and friendly local hotel/apartments who at least appreciate your custom and don’t charge sky high pricing.
Summing up the grounds are lovely, the top pool area is peaceful but as per the main pool lacks any atmosphere. The regular apartments are okay, the suites are absolutely not worth the money charged and there’s a huge disparity in the staff, some are absolutely top notch, so much so we visit now despite not staying to simply see certain staff members including Amanda and in particular Manos at the top bar.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the overpriced "suites" they're simply not worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Miss_Chief1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Have to say had the most enjoyable holiday at this fantastic hotel. From the minute you arrive you are treated to excellent customer service. The hotel is clean comy and in an excellent location. The staff are so helpful and friendly its that good we are returning in September.

Room Tip: All room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkFaragher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the first two weeks in July. the 9 Muses is fantastic. When we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and we were shown to our room, not told how to get there with a map (lovely touch) and once we had arrived our luggage was waiting for us outside. The guy who delivers them works very hard all day long!
The rooms are very pleasant and very spacious with a fridge and safe (had to pay €36 for two weeks which I thought was a little much tho)

We chose to use the smaller pool for our stay because are room was very close. This pool was lovely and quiet and Maria who runs the pool bar is very friendly and helpful. There was a lady there who struggled walking up the steps that lead to the pool and I saw Maria many of times helping her and her husband with task such as putting the sun brolly up and getting them a chair from the other side for the lady to sit on. She keep the area very clean and tidy.

Breakfast was excellent with lots to offer from fruit, cereal, yoghurt, toast, eggs, bacon etc, pastries, cakes, ham and cheese. All staff very helpful especially Athina who always had a smile on her face.

The main pool bar was run by Athina during he day but in the evening was Manos who was very friendly and always quick to serve you and it was great to receive free nuts or crisps too.

The avra bar and restaurant was excellent. Food great and at good prices too. The bar was run by the lovely Amanda in the evening who was happy to keep serving the cocktails one after the other.

Overall the 9 Muses gets a big thumbs up and I can't wait to return. Gutted to have left.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#8 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
17.9 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
2.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Property: 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Skala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing