We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place To Stay in Skala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captains House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Skala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Place To Stay in Skala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Captains Hotel is quite simply, the best place to stay in Skala. Lovely, simple rooms, right by the beach and run by the loveliest family ever. They also have the best bar in Skala - The Captain's Bar, right across the road, where you can drink and chat the night away. We had an amazing week there, and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    46
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked this hotel based on the positive reviews which probably has contributed to our disappointment. While Skala and the island themselves have much to offer the hotel is only ok. Lots can be improved by little means.

We had little interaction with the personnel as we ourselves planned our daily outings and trips. On arrival information offered was sparse and too general, not really adding much to our experience. WiFi was free, a standard for hotels and tavernas rather than a special offer to customers.

Location - good, very central in Skala, off the Main street and near to the beach.

Breakfast - was a major disappointment. Properly cooked eggs (not cold inedible rubber) and some veggies for morning sandwich (tomato and cucumber) would provide a MAJOR improvement. Both are easy to fix and at nearly no cost for the hotel, but oh such a great improvement. If you ar on GI or LCHF it will be a challenge.

Our room nr 44 - dark and with strange design from 80's (?), not possible to put on makeup since lights are so dim in the room and in the bathroom due to the slanting roof not possible to stand up straight facing the window. AC worked well. Cleaning was good, actually the positive point about this hotel! If possible avoid this room, we got a peak into other rooms and they are much nicer.

Captains bar - if you are planning on going to sleep before midnight pack some comfy earplugs for a good nights sleep. The music is loud and if we had our balcony door open it was like standing down in the bar itself. Some evenings it was disturbing as I wanted to relax in peace and quiet. We visited the bar 2 times and we concur with those commenting that drinks lack one essential detail - enough alcohol. Same goes for so called house wines at tavernas. Bottled beer and wine is to prefer if you want the real deal.

Bottom line: Chances are slim that we are coming back or will recommend this place to dear friends. Probably if we were allocated to another (better) room and if the breakfast were better, we would have given 4 to Captains House. As it is now it is a 3.

Room Tip: Do not take room 44, dark room, only natural light source is balcony door, bathroom gets all wet aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying at The Captain's House Hotel! All of the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was at the front of the hotel, with two balconies; one overlooking Captain's Bar & the other with a sea view. We never had any problems with noise from the bar, with the music being turned down/off at midnight. It was brilliant value for money, in a good location and and our room was cleaned every day, with clean sheets and towels every other day. Theo had kindly sorted out our transfers for us & we met Tina, Andreas and George over at Captain's Bar, which I would highly recommend everyone visits. There is no other bar like it in Skala & you are always made to feel welcome. Plus they have the biggest cocktail menu I have ever seen and each one I tried was delicious! We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: If you think you maybe going to bed before midnight and might be disturbed by possible noise from Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SophEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first time staying at this hotel, ( we have used their bar on previous visits). All the staff are so friendly, when ever you saw them they all had a big smile and wanted to make sure that everything was ok, and it was everything was perfect, from the breakfast to the evening cocktails. Our bedroom was big, comfortable and cleaned every day. The holiday booking was looked after by Theo, who checked before we arrived did we mind a bit of noise from the music in the bar or did we want a quieter room away from the front of the hotel, (and as the music is turned down about midnight there is hardly any noise in the bedroom). He arranged for the transfers to and from the airport, nothing was to much trouble for him. Tina and the gang that run the Captains Bar were fantastic, they managed to find us seats every night and had so much energy you had to come out of their feeling good. Plus they do make the best cocktails in Skala, and we checked out a few in the interest of research :-) WE can't wait to go back for YAMAS TIME.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbaz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff. The location was perfect the next street away for restaurants and bars in Skala. 2 mins to beach walking only thing no pool but on main road 2 mins away hotels you can use pools and facilities so no problems. Best located hotel for small b &b In Skala!!!Rooms cleaned daily and new sheets and towels changed every other day. Breakfast basic cereal toast bit fruit tea coffee etc but does trick. Had fridge and kettle and cups in room, only thing is busy bar Captains bar across road can be bit loud we was on the front so ask for room at the back, once we shut shutters patio doors could only hear slightly. Didn't bother us but could bother some people! Really didn't know where to stay in Kefalonia but Skala was perfect hired a car for 2 days and went around beautiful island it is a must Kefalonia is gorgeous!!! Defo stay here you won't regret it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo19831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have stay a few times in this hotel and always i enjoy my vacations.Captains is centally located near at the long beach of skala.There is no swiming pool but thats is not problem for us because we spent our time at the beach.Some rooms they have spetacular sea view and is enough comfortable.The stuff is briliant and you can give you always great tips about island excursions.Across of the street there is captains bar which run from the hotel owners and is the best bar in skala by far.There is a lot of good restaurants around of hotel,super markets,gift shops,bars...We have already booked our 2014 holidays in captains house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazioSalonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is a very Nice, clean Central spot by the Harbor. With a Nice balcony in the "apple" og Scala Your really can feel the Greek life. Vice pool for relaxing after a warm day. The breakfast was exelent - everything a "10"

Room Tip: Central, clean and Nice With the best hospitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibeke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
1.7 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#8 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#17 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains House Hotel

Property: Captains House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Captains House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Captain’s House is situated in the centre of Skala, only 50-metres from one of Kefalonia’s most beautiful beaches. Friendly staff, a great location and free Wi-Fi make this a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Captains House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing