We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Holiday”
Review of Mounda Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mounda Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just back from our latest trip and cannot praise them enough for such a great time
Alex ,Theo and Larissa make the whole experience a pleasure that you just do not get anywhere else/
We have travelled over the years to many countries but this by far is the best holiday we ever have.
The breakfast bar is really excellent with plenty of choices. The Lunch and dinner menu is varied and inexpensive and better quality than the offerings in nearby Skala, If you want a quiet relaxing break good food good wine, great company, fantastic beach then this is where you need to be. Nothing is too much trouble and we are booking our flights to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    11
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We were there just a few days....unfortunately !! It was more than home from home, wish we had a balcony just like that and food to match..... The perfect escape to wind down and relax. Alex and his family are so kind, they spoiled us every single moment of the day. The hotel is located close to a wonderful beach and the only thing you can hear during the night is the sound of the waves !!
Thank you guys for a wonderful break, for sure we will back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were staying in a villa nearby and were a bit tired and hungry on the first night. You know the form - early flight, plastic food to buy on the plane and the villa welcome pack was a slab of edam, lipton tea bags and a bottle of 2.99 euro wine....

We could see the orange sign from the villa so walked round to it. We ordered the special - think it was Briam that day, with cold Mythos - just what we needed. We went for coffee next evening and were welcomed like old friends, so booked a table for the next night, when we had the special - it was meatballs and rice that time - with the better robola. Clearly we had to return on our last night - special was pastitsio - a very light and flavoursome version.

So of the 7 nights of our stay, we were there 4 times. The people staying there seemed very chilled which indicates it is a good place to stay - but for anyone staying nearby, it is an excellent place to eat and so convenient to be able to walk back. We'd recommend it to you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hampshire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My family and myself returned home from our second trip to Mounda Beach just last week. Over the years we have travelled extensively around the world and stayed in many lovely places. If you want a retreat to relax in for a few days or weeks it would be hard to beat this hotel. so close to the magnificent (quiet) beach yet miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. If you need to get away from all the doom and gloom going around this is the place to go. We spent two glorious weeks with Alex, Larisa and Theo (+Alana). They genuinely go out of their way for each guest to make them relaxed and at ease. The food was excellent streets ahead of most places in the town nearby.Also the creative way it is presented is first class(see photos). The dining area is one of the most relaxed places to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner(photo). Their prices are also very reasonable and they will cook any Greek specialities for you not on the menu once you give some notice. its hard to say how good this hotel is in words. the atmosphere created by the staff is top class and Larisa becme our kids(11 & 8) best friend from day 1. Thanks you guys for another fantastic experience and we cant wait to see you again soon. your Irish family Colm Pauline Hannah and Sean

Room Tip: There are only 2 one bed apts. We had room 202 (see view in photos). The other 9 rooms are studios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrcwicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Just recently returned from a super two weeks staying in this Hotel. Found it by accident and reviews were very good, however never expected it to be as good as it was. We were a family of 4 (10&7 year old kids). As we booked late we could only get a studio for all 4 of us. Studio was very spacious and we were surprised at how much space we had. We would describe this hotel here as a small boutique hotel (11 studios and apartments). It is modern yet authentic, tranquil yet with a nice buzz. Its main assets are its people Theo, Alex, Larisa and Zivile.
So down to basics. Food 5 stars. Breakfast was really nice, lunch/dinner even better. We were asked at the start of our holiday if we wanted any Greek dish cooked for us to let them know at breakfast and they would prepare it. At first we were a bit suspicious however we went for it on night two and had some of the best Greek food we have eaten over the remainder of the holiday thanks to Theo and Alex. Even if you dont stay here go and book dinner you will not find a better setting or food on the island. Only about 12 tables so do it early. No pool means the atmosphere is really quiet and relaxed. You can use the pool at the ajoining hotel free is you want. Beach (reason we never used the pool). The hotel is located 100 yds from one of the best sandy beaches on the island. The sea is glorious and sandy also so no irrating stones to climb over to get yourself immersed. Never packed, so plenty of space. Forgot to mention that Alex must have been a DJ in a previous life as his choice of music is fantastic and adds greately to the relaxed atmosphere. Overall we would rate this hotel way above the average 3 star and we cant wait to go back to Kefalonia soon and enjoy Mounda Beach Hotel a second time.

Room Tip: There are two blocks of accommodation, higher up the better the view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mrcwicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is our 18th visit to one of the best holiday destinations in kefalonia. Alex and Theo are first class hosts always making us feel relaxed and welcome. The hotel is in an excellent position just a stones throw from a glorious sandy beach that is never crowded. Because it is situated off the main roads all you hear at night are the gentle rolling of the waves as they hit the sand.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Plum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Very friendly staff. Sandy beach in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XZandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skala hotels
3.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
1.5 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
43 reviews
3.2 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mounda Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounda Beach Hotel

Property: Mounda Beach Hotel
Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mounda Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Mounda Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing