We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, shame about the location !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apollo Apartments Skala
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Reviewed 27 July 2011

A last minute booking to beat the rain in the UK sent us looking for the sun, which we certainly found in Skala. Lowest temperature was 28C in the shade at 10am/pm, rising to high 30's/ low 40's during the day. Scorching 6 days spent at lovely quiet apartments, however they were a bit too far away from anything ! Nearest supermarket was a good 15 mins walk away and Skala was approx 40 mins walk (a previous reviewer said it was 15mins - he must have been Lynford Christie !). Unfortunately the taxis were on strike and buses were non-existent so walking was the only option. However, a torch is a must at night because there are very few lights and little pavements so this makes it a bit dangerous at night. We would recommend hiring a car to anyone thinking of holidaying here not only so that you can get to the village, but also to see the rest of the island.
The apartments left us a little puzzled as we went self-catering but they were not geared up for it, i.e. lack of sockets in the right places (we had to disconnect the bedside lamp to plug in the kettle and to use the toaster we had to use a socket by the patio doors across the room next to the dressing table!), utensils and crockery were particularly limited. We had to go out and buy tin opener and bottle opener. Basic 2 electric hobs on which to cook. The cleaner should have done as her title suggested and cleaned ! We had to ask her to come back to sweep and mop up,and also request clean towels. She said she would come back to change the sheets but she didn't. Another guest said that when they pulled out the bed there were lots of dead insects so obviously cleaning is not a priority. This guest also had a plug socket with bare wires showing. We requested for 2 light bulbs to be replaced but they still did on our departure ! However, the rest of the complex was clean as was the outdoor pool. There were ample sun loungers and parasols, even though it was the height of season, it was not too busy.
At first we thought the menu prices on the complex were expensive, but when we ventured out to eat at restaurants we realised it was much the same across the board, it was just quality that altered, i.e made fresh not frozen.
Views from our apartment across to mainland Greece and Zante were stunning as was the little harbour down below our apartment.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a "high room"
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1sttimers011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Apartments Skala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

Absolutley stunning views of the sea, you can also see the Greek mainland and Zante. The rooms were clean, comfortable and adequate with cooking facilities, shower and aircon.
The grounds were well kept with colourful flowers and green lawns and the pool was lovely and lit up at night to the point that everytime you looked at it you just wanted to jump in.
There is a pool side bar that serves food and drinks and the food we ordered was very good. Places to eat i would recommend are Old Times 10 mins towards Skala and also The Old Village in Skala.
All in all the most peaceful and quiet place i have ever stayed and wouldn't hesitate going back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malc-burbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Coincidentally, we were in the same room (next to the bar) as the previous reviewer the two weeks before. We had the same reservations and asked for another room but there wasn`t any available. The lady seemed a bit put out explaining it was really a room for four (we are a couple). But it was the location we were not happy with not the size of the room(s). In the end there was no problem with noise from the bar as it was little used late at night. Only once when the bar was occupied by a rather loud couple for half an hour. Could imagine it wouldn`t be a problem anyway as there are only a dozen apartments. Although a lot of people say how friendly the staff are we have stayed in friendlier places. We mainly dealt with the lady and perhaps we got off to a bad start asking for another room, although we were polite and didn`t persist but she did seem a bit offish from then and didn`t thaw out for the rest of our stay. Anyway first of all the bad points, the bathroom sink was quite badly cracked. Some of the crockery was cracked and chipped. It is a good 25 minute walk into Skala which seems a lot longer in the heat and we are good walkers. I read one review that said they did it in 15 minutes, they must be olympic walkers! Some might say this is nit picking but not in my book. That`s all the bad points out the way. Now for the good points. Beautiful surroundings, wonderful views, immaculately maintained. The cleanest apartments, inside and out, with the softest towels we have ever experienced in many times we`ve been to Greece. Although we didn`t get on too well with the lady as you can read on here a lot of people do and find them very friendly, perhaps she didn`t like my face even though i made sure it was always fixed with a smile. Lots of people go back. A few who were there when we were had been before and a two couples came and visited and had a good welcome while we were there even though they were staying elsewhere. One last thing, I wouldn`t recommend it for children really, I would say it`s more for couples. Not much for kiddies to do other than the pool. Overall, the good points far outweigh the bad and I would recommend it for couples that are fairly mobile, unless you`ve got a car, and those that like peace and tranquility. If you are hiring a car I would recommend "Greekstones" down in Skala. Excellent service.

Room Tip: I think the first floor rooms have private balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desiwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Just back with my husband and 15 year old daughter from a week in the Apollo Apartments, Skala. We had a wonderful time and thought that the accommodation was ideal, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the air conditioning was a God-send. I was a bit concerned at being put in the room next to the bar at first but it was so quiet it wasn't a problem although I would ask for a balcony the next time. The pool area and gardens around the property are maintained to a beautiful standard and the surrounding views are stunning. Natasha and her family are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The pool is freshwater and kept immaculately clean. If I were to pick a fault it would be that it is quite a hike into Skal itself when the temperature is high and I would not have been so keen to walk back at night as some of the locals drive quite fast. That aside, if you are looking for peace and quiet and ultimate relaxation then this is the place to be - I dare you not to relax.

Skala itself is gorgeous with each meal in the restaurants matching or surpassing the previous one. A couple of highlights was the Old Village - we went there twice, the second time for our last meal so that says it all. Also a highlight is the tiny taverna Kaliva where the opportunity to join in with some traditional dancing or even just watch as well as wonderful local food is well worth a visit. If you want to splurge a bit then take a taxi to the Taverna in Old Skala - it cost us 15 euros each way with Dennis the friendliest taxi driver on the island and the views and the food there was out of this world. We went to be able to enjoy it at sunset but the flying ants and other insects started to become a bit much so if you want to avoid that then go earlier in the day. Not to be missed and Paulos the waiter is very friendly.

We also hired a car at a local hire place and drove around most of the island, up to Sami, Fiscardo and round to Myrtos beach then Lourdatas. Absolutely stunning scenery but you do need your brave boots on for some of the roads, nervous or new drivers would best not attempt some of the scarey and twisting roads with sheer cliff drops to the side. But if you do brave it you will enjoy seeing more of such a beautiful, green and friendly island. I always wanted to go and I think I have left part of my heart back in Kefalonia.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifegal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

fantastic location,that is if you do not mind walking

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_kent285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed here for one week in July. We travelled as a family of 3 our little boy being 3.

The room we were given was in my opinion the best room in the block, we were ground floor and the one with the flowers growing all over the balcony. Put me up bed for the little one was perfect and with A/C in both rooms the temperature was great.

Food/drinks were good reasonably prices and reception was helpful.

Only a couple of small downsides; pool was sea water and it's just that bit too far out, easily a 45 minute walk into resort, taxi is 5 euros way which is fine but another 70 euros on your holiday! We hired a car as it suited us better, just picked one up from the resort center.

Would go back maybe in a few years as we've still got lots of greek islands we need to see first.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Fantastic small and friendly appartments. Only 12 units so pool never busy and sometimes have the place to yourselves! Balconies are huge with amazing views over the sea to Zante. Beautiful flowers everywhere and we even had our own grapes on a vine over the balcony.Only drawback was the saltwater pool for us but some people don't mind that and the pool showers are excellent to use each time you get out.
Great to be so close to the sea and we jumped off the pier each day and did some great snorkelling just behind the hotel.There is a steep uneven track down but just becareful and it is worth it.There are a couple of lovely coves on either side of the hotel that you can walk to with proper steps down and again,great for snorkelling.
Natasha,Christoph and their children Thanos and Alex look after you very well and are lovely to have around.Look out for Spot/ Athena the gorgeous little kitten who lives at the Apollo and is well looked after by everyone.We fell in love with her!!. Snack bar is very reasonable with good choice of food,best Saganaki we tasted on holiday and cool beer.Closes between 5pm and 7pm but quite flexible if you need to have a few drinks beforehand.
We stayed in one bedroom apartment which was very spacious with free air con in both rooms.Something you don't often get for free so definate bonus.Kitchen facilities were adequate and bathroom great with bath/shower attachment and always plenty of hot water.Bedding changed 2/3 times a week,towels every other day and bins emptied every day so always clean.
Quite surprised at how many children were there but they all amused themselves and never much noise,no loud music etc.Great place to bring a family if Mum and Dad need a peaceful time and kids enjoy the pool. There is also a games room with large TV,pool table and internet connection.
Location is drawback if you have no transport as it is a good 30 minute walk into the town of Scala but taxis are only 5 Euro each way. Nearest supermarket is 20 minute walk but there is a mini market in San Georgio Hotel 10 mins down the road.
We hired a moped from Sunbird in Scala and had great time using it to explore and go out each evening.13 days cost 200 Euros with petrol extra 30/40 Euros which we thought was good value. Lots of families had hired through the Rep though and all seemed happy with the price and service.
We fell in love with next town called Poros which is only 8kms away and ate there most nights. Much more Greek feel to it and lovely atmosphere.Our favourite taverna being the first one you come to on the right as you enter Poros called Taverna O Tzritai.A traditional Greek taverna having been there since 1958 and run by a lovely man who speaks very good English.Always busy with the locals which is a good sign. Litre of local wine only 5 Euro and great meats from the oven. We tried the lamb,pork,shrimps,steak and Kefalonian meat pie and they were all fantastic with scrumptious dauphinoise potatoes!!
Have to say that everywhere we ate was pretty good though and never paid more than 25 Euros for meal with wine. Scala has loads of places to eat and people we spoke to said most were very good.Scala itself is a busy town at night,catering more for the tourist market with a park and playground for the children and a few souvenir shops to look round.
We also spent some time in Katelios about 6km away and that is more low key with lovely fish tavernas on the seafront.
Try and get up to see Old Scala which is very intesting and quite sad when you realise what the Earthquake must have been like.The large supermarket in Scala sells a booklet for 2.50 Euros about the disaster and has a very helpful guide to the ruins.
There is also an excellent taverna up there which has amazing views and great food. Better to go after dark though because the wasps can be a real menace.
All in all, we had a fantastic holiday and fell in love with what we saw of the island.Try and watch Captain Correllis Mandolin before you go and it sets the seen for your pending holiday. You can feel the romance of the place and imagine what it must have been like when the island was invaded.
Apollo Apartments were fantastic in every way and we had such a happy and relaxed holiday there.It really is paradise by the sea!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheshireTinsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.0 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
0.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koukounaries Studios
Koukounaries Studios
#9 of 33 in Skala
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Avithos Resort
Avithos Resort
#1 of 8 in Svoronata
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Apartments Skala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Apartments Skala

Address: Skala, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Apollo Apartments Skala Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing