We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one to come back to”
Review of Makis Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Makis Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We spent two weeks here in early September. Very nice hotel, run by lovely people. Literally just across the road from the excellent beach. Staff were unfailingly friendly, polite & helpful. Angelo the barman makes a particularly fine mojito by the way. Denis the owner is really nice too, but watch him; he's a bit of a prankster!

Breakfast was simple, but sufficient. Beds comfortable, rooms clean etc. Safe and air conditioning at no extra cost. Pool area was nice, with enough sunbeds; but the beach is really good, and so close, that we hardly used the pool.

Lots of places to eat in the surrounding area, but we particularly liked the Paspalis (turn left out of hotel and walk about 200 yards; and try the Spagheti Marinara!), the Manor House (behind the kiosk, above Sally's Bar), and La Luna (corner at end of Main Street). For drinks, the Captain's Bar is fun for (rather weak) cocktails; plenty of other decent places too.

It's worth taking a day out on Vangelis' boat; we went to Ithaca, but I believe he does Zante too. A specific word of advice. if you're going on the Panem 'Southern Comfort' coach tour, don't go on Monday; St Georges Fort, one of the main attractions is closed Mondays. Funny, but they forgot to mention that when we bought the tickets. Good tour otherwise though; knowledgeable guides and plenty of stops.

We'll be back I hope!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roger_durutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

Recently back from celebrating a "special" birthday here. Well run, clean hotel with easy access to the beach and local restaurants. Our second visit to Skala. Excellent value, we are not used to having beach sunbeds, safe and air con included in the price unless going more upmarket. All helps with the spending money! Friendly staff and beautiful island.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I spent two weeks here 6-20 sept 2011. Thought we had found the perfect place in Menorca but glad we strayed to Kefalonia. We have done the kids bit and now like more of a "couples" holiday. First time we have ever been met off the transfer coach. Angelo the English speaking barman made us feel very welcome and even took one of our cases to our room. He was keen to advise on places to go on the island and was the resident cocktails man as well. Dennis the Menace (his words), the owner, lives on site with wife and toddler son; is very friendly also very efficient with 3 foot long bolt cutters when case key left at home. Can't fault the staff at all. Place spotless, although our shower cubicle was getting a bit tired. I just mentioned a split in the shower flexi-pipe to Angelo at the bar and within two days it had been replaced. Free air-con, fridge and safe! Amazing. Breakfast adequate and the views whilst eating it were great. Scala itself must be the mecca for restaurants. Agreement of all the owners means prices are all much the same and not inflated by any means. It shocked us to get complementary drinks, coffees, glasses of wine. Even a bottle of wine to bring home from our favourite eating place, used to be called the Scandinavia but now called The Mikiletos Family. Sugar Lemon for drinks or lunch and evening meal although not the variety of larger establishments, but friendly. Could rant on about how friendly the Greeks are compared to the Menorcans. So sad to have to leave. Already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Top floor facing sea if you want more views. Maybe not an end room as air con units on outside walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jimbob194822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My husband and I went to the Thursday evening "Hollis rock show" while we were staying in Skala - lovely seating area surrounding the pool and pool bar - a very enjoyable time.
Coming back again next year and hoping this entertainer will be booked for this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianneBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here in July 2011 for 2 weeks.
Nice clean hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Typical greek breakfast.Good size bedroom and a larger than average bathroom. The only down side was a music bar nextdoor, this could be a little noisey but I think they now have it under control.! Skala as a resort is very nice, plenty of resturantes and bars for every taste, The beach is clean with golden sand and a few pebbles.Always enough sun beds and it never got crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WHITS-IS-BEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just spent 2 weeks (july 26- Aug 9) at the Makis, and Denis the owner couldn`t have been more welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the barman was brilliant and spoke the most perfect english I`ve heard. The rooms were really clean and well kept and with ample space for storage (cos I always take loads of clothes much to the despair of my hubby!!) The beach is literally just across the road and is a mixture of sand and pebbly shingle but the water shelves really quickly hence its really quite cold so a tip from me is take a cab to Kamnina Beach (approx 30 euros return) which is perfect for kids as you can go out for ages and its really warm, there`s a snack bar there with a toilet as well and sunbeds and loungers (6 euro per day). We would definitely go back, so see you soon Denis!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed at the Makis 23 August to 6th Sept 2011, for the price you pay it is a great base, very clean and very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.
DO NOT let other reviews put you off these Hotel, all beds in Greece are hard even some of the luxury resorts we have been to 37 Greek Islands and they are all the same , its only somewhere to put your head if you go on holiday for the Bedroom stay somewhere in Engand.
The owner Dennis is very friendly and so is his team which makes your stay here very pleasant,
I would agree on other reviews for this year the bar is quiet in the evenings may be it is the music, the bar next door is very loud but once your doors are closed you can not hear it very much.
The continetal breakfast has a good selection, more then I have at home, if you want a fry up you will have to find a Taverna which does it there are plenty.
The beach is accross the road it sand and shingle clean and the water is very clear, it also goes quite deep after a few steps, beach shoes recommended . There is a lovely pool at the hotel, but we prefere the beach.
We have already booked to go back next year with Thomsons.
There is a steep hill to get to shops and resturants, we both walk with sticks and did not find it to much of a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a tree in front of it as it blocks the light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Suzzan59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.2 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
46 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Villa Costa
Villa Costa
#15 of 23 in Skala
178 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Hotel

Address: Skala 28086, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Skala
#10 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Makis Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing