We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant holiday!”
Review of Makis Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Makis Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A brilliant holiday!”
Reviewed 28 July 2008

I have just come back from a relaxing stay at the Makis Hotel in Kefalonia. It really is as good as the reviews say.

We booked through Kosmar and found them a really useful and friendly company. They told you everything you needed to know, whereabouts they were if you needed them but you weren't pressurised to take part in any of the excursions etc (of which there a few and all looked very tempting though we didn't go on any of them. These included a trip of the whole island and a boat trip with a glass floor!) A small word of warning though, the hotel is about 50 mins from the airport on a very bumpy and windy coach journey. If you get travel sick, take some sickness tablets before. But it’s so worth it when you get there and there are some stunning views along the way.

The accommodation was good. Air conditioning in the rooms, a good shower and general bathroom, a safe, fridge, comfy beds and pillows. It was very clean, cleaned once a day and the towels and linen were changed half way through the week.

The staff at the hotel were fantastic. Very friendly, excellent English and it seemed like they enjoyed working there! They were very helpful and made you feel very welcome! The swimming pool was also great and a good temperature! Really good to swim in. And you MUST try the chocolate milkshakes – they were amazing!! The breakfast was basic - bread, toasters, cheese, ham, jam, honey, cereal, yoghurt etc - but exactly what you needed on those hot mornings!

Skala is a lovely little village/town with lots of places to eat and drink. Our favourite for food was the 'Scandinavia' - very tasty lamb shanks! I recommend them highly, you must try them. We had one in a mint sauce and one in a tomato sauce - so tasty and tender! Pizzas were also very good if you’re very hungry and their local Greek dishes were tasty too. ‘Siroco’ bar next to the ‘Siroco’ restaurant (next to the Scandinavia’!) was also lovely and cheaper for lunch than the hotel. Most places were. The desserts were also lovely – the waffle is huge!

We managed to see a traditional Greek dance and music show at the local school (performed outside) which brought a bit of culture to the holiday. It was thoroughly enjoyable and watched by a big crowd.

The beach is beautiful. Stunning blue sea and very clean. The hotel is literally opposite the beach. It costs 6 Euros for one umbrella and two sun beds and you can keep them for the whole day. There is generally a bit more of a breeze on the beach which can make it slightly more pleasant in the heat!

If you are looking for a relaxing, friendly holiday to just get away from it all then this is definitely the place. It really was fantastic and I would definitely go again!

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere and how close it was to the town.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Clairey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    121
    50
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
269
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, Merseyside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Returned home from the Makis Hotel 2 days ago, booking through Kosmar staying the first week in June and I have to agree with previous reviewers that it was an excellent base for a holiday.

The room accomodation was good my partner was very appreciative of the free air conditioning you have to pay extra normally for this with a lot of hotels/apartments in Greece. Breakfast was fine also toast, cereal, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, greek yoghurt all good stuff. We also found having breakfast set between 8-10am got us out of bed earlier so we could make the most of the day too.

The staff were very friendly and polite Rula and the rest of the team were great I understand that the hotel is family run. There was a good age range of british tourists whilst we are at the hotel and everybody seemed to get on well with each other.

Hotel pool and bar area was good never really hung round it all day except for the first day waiting for the holiday introduction from the Kosmar rep as we preffered the beach across the road mainly. Though there seemed plenty of spare sun beds/tables & chairs although I suppose it was early season. There was plenty of space on the Beach though I would suggest buying some aqua shoes if you want a swim in the sea as it is quite hard on the feet with the stones. We preffered going to the sunbeds located to the far right of Scala Beach as it was a more quieter area, 6 Euros for 2 sunbeds, brolly and table.

The location of the hotel was another plus, a 5 minute walk to the main street in Scala with the restaurants, shops and tavernas, beach across the road. Can't say we had a bad meal there is plenty to choose from, though we found better value for money on the tavernas at the top of the main street and of the various side streets.

We only booked one excursion, day trip for the 3 island cruise to Scorpios, Lefkas etc. with Kosmar which was good. There are plenty of excursions to do put I found the travelling quite tiring so one trip was enough for us. I read on here before that it would be cheaper booking independantly with Greek travel firms but we checked what was available on the evening when we arrived, the following morning meeting the Kosmar rep we found they had reduced prices this year for their excursions to make them more competitive with other travel companies.

Overall a great holiday and would reccomend a stay at the Makis, only bum note was the flight being delayed for 6 hours due to an earthquake on the Greek mainland which affected aircraft radar for planes to land at Kefalonia airport.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — No Tv
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarrow, tyne and wear
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Have just returned from a week at the Makis 25th May 2008,
We booked a room with a lovely sea view balcony it had a fridge,
but no tea making facilities, the room was very adequate with
loads of storage space, the room was cleaned daily to very acceptable standard by our filipino maid who incidentally spoke very good english and always a smile, the continental breakfast
was very satisfactory endless toast eggs and coffee.
I cannot stress enough how the management go out of their way
to make you feel very welcome Dennis the boss and Dennis
the Yammas,Ruala. not forgetting Poppy, and all the staff, we had a wonderful time, would i go back, most definitely.
Love to all - Cockney peter and geordie margaret.

  • Liked — Location and the whole management team.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jarracockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skala hotels
0.2 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
2.3 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mounda Beach Hotel
Mounda Beach Hotel
#19 of 23 in Skala
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Hotel

Property: Makis Hotel
Address: Skala 28086, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#10 Family Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Makis Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing