We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good middle class”
Review of Melidron

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melidron
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good middle class”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Small family owned hotel near Skala beach, only 200 meter from beach. Small pool, middle class clean rooms with working air conditioning, very familiar and helpful staff service and atmosphere. Breakfast very, very simple. For independent couples who need only simple room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linnainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
133
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Korsør
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have just come back from a very hot holiday in this nice little hotel. People were very friendly and they would help you with anything you asked for. It was very near to the lovely beach and the small town Skala in which there were plenty af restaurants with fantastic homemade food (very different from other greece places).
Because of the heat 40 gr in the daytime we spent most of the days on the beach and in the ocean (29 gr) but we also went on a trip round the ireland - very green and lots of flowers. We would absolutely like to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at Melidron. The owners were exceptionally friendly and helped with whatever we needed. Large rooms with tv, a little kitchen, sofa, table and a large balcony. The breakfast was very simple and you get it on a tray every morning from 8:30 - 10:30. It's a little "upgraded" saturdays and sundays. :) We wish the towels and sheets got changed more often, but otherwise the room was very clean. Threre was a good selection of food in the hotel-menu and nice to eat out in the hotel-area by the pool. Free internet in the lobby and, if you're lucky, in your balcony. It's a short walk to the beach and up to Skala center.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is friendly. The swimingpool is great. Calm surroundings, and close to the beach. A pleasant walk to Scala center.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrostieTromso_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

My partner and I have been to the Greek islands quite a few times and the Melidron Apartments are definitely the best self-catered apartments we have stayed in for the price. George & Sula (the owners) are really friendly and the rooms are large and clean with nice bathroom facilities (compared to some self-catered apartments where a shower tray is all you get!). The location is great for a quiet, relaxing beach holiday. The apartments are right by the beach and a five minute walk from the restaurants and bars on the beachfront. The pool at the Melidron is also very nice and the atmosphere is pleasant. We are a couple in our mid-20s and went at the beginning of the season in May so it was quieter than I imagine it would be in July/Aug. Scala is at one end of the island but you can easily rent a car/scooter to see other parts of the island and we ventured all the way to the northern part of the island to see Fiskardo (recommended for a day trip - beautiful scenery but only if you don't mind a three hour round trip). I would definitely stay at the Melidron if I were to go to Scala again

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0nd0nReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Well, where can i start!!

The Melidron was amazing, possibly the reason we returned to Keflalonia!

The rooms where so clean, the bathroom was modern
(unusual for greece)
We had all the simple supplies we needed and possibly more!
There was a little dressing table and mirror area which was a godsend for me and my mum haha!
The Food we had at the little resteraunt/bar area was delicious, i personally enjoyed soula's Omlette!!
I could sit by the pool all day, the pool was big enough to swim around in to cool off.
I made a friend during the holiday and she had a little sister who was just turning 6 and she absolutely loved the play area!
The Drive way was beautiful :)
I dont think i had one bad word to say about this wonderful place!!!
Soula and Geogre where so helpful with everything,
The BBQ night we had was extroadanry, it was a chance for us all to stay in by the bar and relax with the friends we had made for during our stay.
I made a friend who i will keep in touch with (hopefully) forever :)
The town it's self was wonderful too, my mum and dad loved to sit and have a drink in the bars hahaha!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank randomer_Laura13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2007

We stayed in the Melidron Apartments in mid september 2005 and had the most amazing week. The apartments are just 2 stories high and are situated about 100m from the beach at skala. Both the Greek owners/managers and the english bar man were exceptionally welcoming and made our stay very memorable. The view from the pool was out of this world looking striaght onto the ionian sea. The apartments were large and well decorated with all the amenities we needed. Bathroom and bedroom were done in a modern style and we had a large balcony. The apartments are situated about a 10 minute walk into the centre past various restaurants and along the vast beach. We hired a car from Greekstones in the centre of Skala for 2 days and again had a great service. We saw a lot of the island inparticular Fiskardo, Myrtos Beach and Sami, although the interior countryside of the island is just as breathtaking as the coastline. There are so many amazing things I can remember about Melidron and Kefalonia, but so as not to bore you probably the best advice is to say go and find out for your self, you will not be diappointed!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nizcopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.1 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
17.8 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
18.9 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melidron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melidron

Property: Melidron
Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melidron 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the friendly family run Melidron Hotel in the unspoilt island of Kefalonia, an island full of stunning scenery, which includes mountains, pine forests and beautiful beaches. Charming and modern the hotel is situated on the famous Skala beach and offers accommodation comprises of studio rooms, which are clean and spacious with living area and modern bathroom and facilities. There is an on site restaurant and bar offering some authentic tasty cuisine and local drinks. Guests are invited to relax at this retreat either by the pool with a cool drink, the terrace area or beautiful surrounding gardens or why not hit the beach and take a dip in the crystal clear water of the sea. For those who wish to be a little more active watersports, mountain hiking and excursions are popular or why not hire a car and discover more of the island. The centre of Skala is a pleasant walk away and has many shops, bars and restaurants with traditional home cooking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing