We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!!”
Review of Melidron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melidron
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel was in a great location, a couple minutes walk from the beach and a short walk to the town centre. The room was a great size and included a fridge and small kitchen area. The staff were lovely, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The pool area was great and the whole hotel was exceptionally clean. Was a really great deal and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with a side view over the main front door. We could see the sea but the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Now this isn't a large, expensive, corporate hotel. If you would rather go to one of those look elsewhere.
If you want a really welcoming, small, clean, comfortable hotel then this is the place for you. The pool area is great, with comfortable sun loungers and lots of parasols. Our room was very comfortable - we had two rooms, including a small kitchen area with sink, fridge and kettle (no cooker). Really spacious and a lovely large balcony with an airer for drying out your beach towels and swimming gear.
It was the welcome from Sula and her team though that really made us feel so relaxed and comfortable here. Nothing was too much trouble, we arrived weary in the afternoon and Sula had soon rustled us up some lunch, including some very carefully considered food for our 1 year old.
The short walk into town was perfectly do able (there is a short sharp hill just before you get into town proper - though there are plenty of tavernas before that point if this is an issue for you)
Breakfast was continental, which may not suit everyone, but I really enjoyed it.
Would not hesitate to go back
My only issue was that I only found out mid week just how good those mojitos were! Oh, the missed opportunities ;)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Had a really wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel in September. The hosts Sula and George gave us a very friendly welcome. The hotel was spotless and very comfortable. The pool area was very relaxing with amazing views of the bay. The positioning is great with all restaurants, bars and shops within easy walking distance along the beautiful bay. We travelled as a family and I cannot speak more highly of Sula, who went out of her way to ensure our stay was as relaxing and smooth as possible, even going as far as to cook us a most fabulous greek feast one evening, sampling all the wonderful tastes of the island, with the help of the sweet smiley Romana. Each morning sat by the poole enjoying the greek breakfast with lovely fresh jams, greek yoghurt and fresh fruit was a wonderful treat. The staff at the hotel always had a ready smile and worked tirelessly to please. Will most definately be returning !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just returned from our best holiday ever. This was down to not only the beautiful island of kefalonia but also to the simply amazing melidron hotel. We arrived to a warm and friendly welcome from all of the hotel staff. Our room was spotless and spacious, and kept clean daily. The pool area is simply stunning, felt instantly relaxed upon arrival. As per the previous reviews sula is warm and welcoming without bein overbearing. Her only intention is to ensure that your every need is met. Cannot fault the hotel or staff in any way, if u have the privilege of staying at the Melidron we r sure your holiday will be as unforgettable as ours.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank niki9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Had 2 weeks stay at the Melidron. Sula greeted us and made us feel at home straightaway. We were given the room overlooking the pool which had amazing views of the sea. Our room was spotless and it was a pleasant surprise to see a proper shower in the bathroom - no horrible shower curtains here! Air-con is free to use in the bedroom - most welcome at night and the towels and bedding were changed regularly. The pool area is one of the best I've come across - lovely wicker sunbeds and settees surrounding a lovely pool. The hotel was pretty quiet in September, so some days we had the pool to ourselves. It was lovely to be able to swim in a pool without fear of children! Sula and the staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The cleanliness in the hotel was to a very high standard. The breakfasts are buffet style and pretty much what you would expect - bread, cheese, ham, tomatoes, fresh fruit, greek yogurt, cereal and boiled eggs. The freshly squeezed orange juice was lovely. One morning we had omelettes which was a pleasant change. Everything was presented very well and was really enjoyable. The bar snacks in the day are lovely and good value. Had we gone in high season, the hotel puts on bbq nights and greek dancing, but because the hotel was quiet we went into town for our meals which is a 5-10 minute stroll along the road which runs alongside the beach. You walk past other hotels and restaurants before you get to the main street where there are some lovely restaurants to choose from. We hired a jeep for 3 days from the hire car place just below the hotel. It's worth taking a trip to Fiskardo and Assos - the scenery is amazing. There are boat trips that run daily but we didn't seem to find the time to do one - but we will definitely do the Three Island cruise next time we go. It was my husband's 50th birthday while we were there. Sula ensured we had a lovely day by decorating the room and I arranged for champagne in the room which she organised for me. She dressed the room up for us and provided a platter of fruit. Nothing was too much trouble. We will, without doubt, stay at the Melidron Hotel again. It is a superb hotel, Sula and George are wonderful hosts. You will not be disappointed if you book this hotel. An amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stato66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A brilliant time, 2 weeeks with george and Sula, not wanting to repeat the previous reviewers words, but nothing was amiss,cleanliness,second to none, and treat like family, My kids loved the pool, and I had to to make deals to get them to go to the fantastic beaches of mounda and kamini, where this year there were 36 Turtle nests all hidden beneath your sunbed or around you. we have been to many islands and to scala 3 times, if we were to return we would book melidron without a moments hesitation

Room Tip: we had A5 groundfloor 2 sets of patio doors slept 4 easily sleep 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sjwassell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just got back from 1 weeks stay at the Melidron hote in Skala And all we can say is fantastic We have been so well looked after by George and Sula nothing was to much trouble for them The room we had was seperate from the main hotel across the bar area past the pool and it was spotless we had a change of bedding linen and towels more than we could remember and biggest bonus of all was the air con which we had in both the bedroom area and the living room it was free to use for as long as you like and with august temps reaching 40 + it was perfect Skala its self is superb with plenty of great places to try all the special greek food and drink Take our advice and give it a try you wont be dissapointed we will be going back

Room Tip: All first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.3 mi away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
0.1 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
442 reviews
1.9 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
18.9 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
17.6 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melidron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melidron

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Price Range: £29 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melidron 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the friendly family run Melidron Hotel in the unspoilt island of Kefalonia, an island full of stunning scenery, which includes mountains, pine forests and beautiful beaches. Charming and modern the hotel is situated on the famous Skala beach and offers accommodation comprises of studio rooms, which are clean and spacious with living area and modern bathroom and facilities. There is an on site restaurant and bar offering some authentic tasty cuisine and local drinks. Guests are invited to relax at this retreat either by the pool with a cool drink, the terrace area or beautiful surrounding gardens or why not hit the beach and take a dip in the crystal clear water of the sea. For those who wish to be a little more active watersports, mountain hiking and excursions are popular or why not hire a car and discover more of the island. The centre of Skala is a pleasant walk away and has many shops, bars and restaurants with traditional home cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Melidron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing