We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystal Palace Studios
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Crystal Palace for 2 weeks in July. Our room was right next to the bar overlooking the pool. We were worried that it would be noisy at night but apart from Greek night we didn't hear a thing. The rooms are very smart and very clean and it was good to have a shower that didn't soak the floor! The owners spoke very good English and were always very helpful. Irene made a special trip to the shops to replace our toaster which wasn't working. Our rep, Felicity was lovely too. Skala is a nice little resort with plenty of good restaurants. Unlike on other Greek Islands we were not pestered by waiters trying to get us into their restaurants and we were able to look at menus in peace. The walk to the resort is about 10 to 15 minutes and the return journey involves a very steep hill but this wasn't a problem for us. All in all an enjoyable holiday and we would recommend the Crystal Palace if you can manage the hill.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeshirePoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    41
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
105
238
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Having stayed the previous year we asked for a room with a sea view we got one from balcony although when you open blind you had car park view sadly anyway we never spent hours there we were out most of the time it's already been said that the staff /family nick vicky eirini are all great people always at your call we ate out most evenings but we did enjoyed the BBQ night lovely food and the entertainment afterwards most people visiting are regulars returning annually we remembered a few and made new friends daily cost for two eating out for two cost on average 40 euros including drinks that's starter main beer or wine lunches we walked to the centre and got sandwich baguettes cakes from the bakers and sat in the square for lunch never cost more that 12 euros for both bars on the main stretch on average cost us 30 euros had good night's watched world cup final match if you're coming over I would recommend hiring a car for 4 days and see the island it's absolutely amazing scenery Plus you get your tan I have several more reviews on other places in skala I have not listed here but have fun travelled as a couple 40 to 50s

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mofiz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After hours of research we decided to book the Crystal Palace because of all of the great reviews. We wanted self catering with a view. Yes the apartments were lovely and very clean. However, the view was not what we expected. We were shown to our room and when we opened the curtains we were horrified to see that we had the "carpark" view. Literally all we could see was the car park. The cleaners were lovely. They parked their car every morning outside the room and said good morning to us. At least the people above us could see over the top of the cars. We were left for 6 days being told by Thomson 24/7 that they were trying to move us. We were even told we had a 99.9% chance of moving for our second week. Hmmmm we were obviously the 0.1%. They admitted it was their worst room and wasn't used if the apartments weren't full. Tad annoying as we booked our holiday nearly a year in advance and then get the worst room. All of the reviews state that Nick, Vicki and Irene were lovely and friendly. We were obviously the people with THAT room. They didn't even look at us let alone speak to us. We did have a lovely holiday as Skala is amazing and we will be going back but we will not be staying at the Crystal Palace. I have never before felt the need to put a review on trip advisor but just don't want someone else being as gutted as we were when you expect a sea view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank 161Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The best self catering rooms I've stopped in the whole of Europe ,clean spacious and lovely decor, my only grumble was 99% of the rooms had a sea view but we got room number 405 which overlooked the car park , but we didn't let this spoil our holiday !! All in all we would certainatly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve47Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

my wife,her cousin and husband and myself spent two weeks at the palace in june and july the whole holiday was brilliant and nick,vicki and Irene looked after us well.apartments were spotlessly clean and the views over the sea made a pleasure to sit on the balcony drinking tea in the morning and something stronger in the evening.we ate three times at nicks bar in the evening really good food and a good bottle of wine.we also attended the barbecue on one occasion well worth the the money.sorry I could not dance so much this year due to knee problems.would like to say thanks to everyone at the crystal palace for a great holiday.dave and maureen

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pantpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

stayed at this resort in june 2014 . The resort is in a great location within a ten minute walk to skala main centre. We emailed the resort three times to request a sea view room but had to say that we were a little disapointed that we had no reply at any point from the owners.We booked very early also in the year ,but thought it would have been only a bit sincere to reply to our request either way. First the few little niggly things, The facilities very limited for self catering. The quality of the tv picture was quite poor and quite often we had to
adjust the aerial lead in the wall. We did also feel that room requests and priority seems to be given to returning guests.On one occasion I requested that the towels were changed in the room as they had not been changed for a couple of days and, the owner lady did look at me quite shocked, talking over me in greek to another member of staff, leaving me feel a bit silly, I even stated i would get fresh ones myself as well and felt it was a little rude of her
This being said all our requests were attended to quite promptly.The rooms and resort are spotlessly clean, and the views and location are very good, being a short walk into town. We had a few nice little treats on arrival like water in the fridge and sweets in the table. The facilities were a little limited but this did not effect us to much as we ate out all the time. I would say also that the complex is not suited to anyone who is elderly and infirm or who has any type of mobility issue as the walk up ur apartment was very steep. The barbecue was excellent also and great fun , and the food at the resort very tasty in the poolside bar . Drinks however a little pricey. We would stay at this resort again because the resort overall was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffygirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week stay in this hotel, it was completely faultless! The room was immaculate and the beds were the comfiest we have had whilst in Greece; I can honestly say we have never slept so well on holiday! The rest of the hotel, pool and bar was also kept immaculately! Everybody was very friendly and we were made to feel welcome from the start. We had a great time at the weekly BBQ and Greek Night and the food was lovely. The food at the pool bar is also good. The location is great, it's a short walk to the beach and nearest mini-market which sold everything you could possibly need. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Skala along the road that runs parallel with the beach. Many of the guests come year after year and we can completely understand why, we had a fantastic holiday and can not wait to return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.3 mi away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#7 of 23 in Skala
398 reviews
1.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#12 of 23 in Skala
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Skala
Hotel Skala
#20 of 23 in Skala
41 reviews
15.6 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Palace Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Studios

Property: Crystal Palace Studios
Address: Skala, Skala 490 84, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Skala
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Studios Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing