We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playamar”
Review of Playamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playamar
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hi,
Iv been looking at reviews for my next holiday and looked at this hotel which I went to last summer and saw how awful the reviews are. I have travelled a lot in some beautiful hotels all around the world, however I am a university student and therefore have also done the cheap hotels too. Reading some reviews are so frustrating. Complaining about mosquito bites is the most ridiculous thing I've read. That's not the hotels fault. Anyway, I had an all inclusive room with my boyfriend and my 2 friends had a self catering room. The self catering was much bigger, naturally. It had all the necessary kitchen appliances. Its got a large amount of restaurants nearby with a few bars if you like to drink. I went all inclusive and the food is fine, its never going to be high standard cuisine when you've paid a few hundred quid for it. In England for all inclusive at a hotel for a week it would cost a fortune, so why expect it to be the same standard in another country for one tenth of the price? Pool was also fine. Its all pretty basic but nothing to be worried about. With regards to no air con, read what it says properly and it tells you there are only fans. The fact there is no TV should not make the slightest difference. If your on holiday and have simply come to watch TV you might as well sit at home. Its pretty suitable for families and for youngsters. So basically, this hotel is fine, its not a Hilton but if you paid £300 all inclusive for a week what the hell do you expect?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank emma f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

my wife and i stayed at this hotel for a period of 1 week in july of this year, quite pleasant surroundings but this to us is only part of your stay dont be fooled by first impressions, we booked half board, first of all your room size aprox 12ft x 10ft no facilities not even a kettle, no air conditioning, bed linen never changed,room and tiny balcony never cleaned, en-suite so small while sitting on WC your chin rested on hand basin, no plugs in hand basin or bath, bath so small only enough room to sit, never hot water and no water pressure, over bath shower trickled only with cold water, restaurant small and food always cold and unappetizing. we tended to eat out, security during the night very slack guests bathing till all hours very noisy. will never return to this hotel ever again.

Room Tip: all rooms basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank billfurbank55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

we have just returned from a weeks holiday and stayed in the playamar apartments in S'illiot Majorca.We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation as some of the reviews I read did not rate this hotel at all well. We had a one bedroomed apartment for four people. There were two daybeds in the living area and two beds in the bedroom,these were very adequate and very comfortable. for those self catering there is a functioning kitchen and fridge.There is air conditioning which you do have to pay extra for but well worth it.The room was very clean and décor a little dated.We had change of towels every other day.We were all inclusive and found the food ok but not much variation on a day to day basis and yes for us brits there was bacon,eggs and beans.The only complaint that I have that you only got your meals and drinks for all inclusive there are no snacks or icecreams included.There is WIFI but you only get 10 mins free you can by additional time 1 euro for 30 mins.The two pools were nice and cleaned daily as was the terraced area.There are plenty of sun louingers but I would advise that you claim a lounger early as the best are taken by the old towel saga there is entertainment which was ok I spose.The beach is a two minute walk from the hotel, this is not the best beach but has a small area ideal for young children.There are additional beaches a short walk either left along the front or right which are in better kept condition.There are a few bars and shops and while we were there market on separate days. This is a very pretty part of Majorca.Overall a good hotel and would def stay here again.The staff are accommodating and on check out day for 20 euros we were allocated a room in the main hotel as we had an evening flight.This was a twin room these rooms do not have air conditioning we noted but still maintained the same standard as we found in the apartments.We would like to say thankyou to the staff at Playamar we enjoyd our stay and will return in the future.

Room Tip: the apartments around the pool seem to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Convenient and really cheap. I booked it when I was out of work because my brother was having his 40th there. It was really cheap, and on that basis I can't make any really complaint. Everything was all very basic, but the staff were helpful (when asked) and it was close to the main strip in S'illot. I only had B&B, and the breakfast was adequate - no worse than the hotel I was stopping in the week before on business for 125 euros per night. This was £110 for 7 nights! Nuff said! They didn't even charge me for the extra night I had to stay because Ryanair messed me about. It's not plush or well spec'd, but it's cheap - so cheap!

Room Tip: pot luck really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rooms ok but clean, the food was disgusting worst ever had in an all inclusive package and the bar closed at 10 o'clock so couldn't a drink after that time. Hotel staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. Yes cheap but still not worth the money

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked this last minute and in a rush, when we arrived our room was not ready but hotel staff greeted us and took us for coffee and cakes while they had room cleaned, we were very disappointed with the room, below ground level and bed was very uncomfortable, we asked to be moved and were, the next room were were given smelt awfull and had not been cleaned, another visit to reception where we were given the keys to another room in another hotel El Dorado this time the room was ready and clean but had no lift, we accepted as we had already wasted 3 hours, there are no Kettles in room and where this is located it gets noisey from sunset till almost sunrise, the rooms were cleaned everyday to a basic standard but in reality it is only two star, the restaurant caters for Germans and most of the signs are in spanish and German, the breakfast was basic, lots of different bacons, fried eggs, cheese, ham, bread and brioche all buffet style, i was relived that we had only booked bed and breakfast as i could imagine the food throughout the day would not be very interesting,
The sunbeds are tired and worn and uncomfortable and we were surprised that they were not reserved with towels at the crack of dawn, 5 mins laying on one and you realise why they were mostly free, usually we spend a lot of time by the pool when on holiday but this time we went to the beach every day, the hotels location is very close to shops restaurants nightlife and beach, the best thing about Playamar is its location and its staff who are friendly helpfull even though very few could speak any english, the rooms have no air con or fans so do get very hot,
Even though Playamar was below standards we still had a great time, its location is great for couples or families with young children, there are lots of reastaurants that are very good value, especially Platja Brava less than €5 for a meal and pudding and only a min or two from Playamar, there are lots of things to entertain younger kids and the whole area has a very safe feel about it, we will definately return here but we will not stay at Playamar when we do,

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Was a bit worried after reading other posts but we were pleasantly surprised.
Our apartment was spacious and cleaners came in every day to make beds and give a clean through.
Apartment was basic but suited our needs.
Will definitely go again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'illot
0.1 mi away
Playa Moreia Apartments
Playa Moreia Apartments
#4 of 13 in S'illot
954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Colombo
Catalonia Colombo
#7 of 13 in S'illot
306 reviews
8.9 mi away
Club Cala Romani
Club Cala Romani
#11 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
#11 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Universal Hotel Perla
Universal Hotel Perla
#1 of 13 in S'illot
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#17 of 29 in Sa Coma
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playamar

Address: Calle Rosa Dels Vents 7, 07687 S'illot, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > S'illot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Price Range: £27 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Playamar 2*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Playamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playamar s Illot
Playamar Hotel s Illot
Playamar Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing