We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding venue”
Review of Hotel Grand Callao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Callao
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I world like to share our amazing experience at the hotel! We celebrated our wedding there! In the day i arrived to set up some of my thing a i was helped buy several members of staff that where wonderful. We were given the suite for the evening which was beautiful and i got ready there! The evening was amazing the hotel manager had full control of the whole evening and was just wonderful we were greeted buy him and his staff and we had champage on the chillout terrace photos on the golf course an amazing 3 course meal that the guests and us enjoyed very much also the hotel organised for us flamenco dancers and a singer the evening was out of this world enjoyed buy all! Fantasticly organised and a lot of little details that i had never thought of were Well talen care of! We highly reccomend it as a fantastic venue for events and as a holiday destinación with Well kept grounds cleAn and modern rooms and very friendly staff and the hotel manager we cant thank enough for all eh díd for us! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sampengelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus M, Director General at Hotel Grand Callao, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014
Google Translation

Gracias pareja..... si digo la verdad.... yo también me lo pase en grande.
Saludos, felicidad, suerte y lo mejor, mucho muchísimo trabajo para el futuro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Callao
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from week at Grand Hotel Callao and it was lovely. Hotel spotless and staff really friendly. We had good weather, hot but occasionally cloudy which was a relief. Some days we had the pool to ourselves which was fine by us. Smaller pool heated and just like being in a bath. Not sure how long walk into village was as it is a straight road so you do not think of time, downhill there and uphill back but worth experience of local bars

Room Tip: Room numbers starting 100 or 200 are at back of property and quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Would willingly stay here again. Beautiful setting with 2 pools and outside Jacuzzi and bars, set in palm tree gardens and golf course. Other bookable sports activities were available. Spa area is excellent, we didn't use the gym. The food was good with a wide choice of buffet service menu changed daily and covered European and British diets (including a full-English if you don't mind very streaky bacon), but no English tea - take your own tea bags. All the staff were professional, attentive and pleasant, always willing to assist and engage in conversation, even those with less skills in spoken English. The majority of guests (when we stayed) were French and Spanish but major staff were bi-lingual with good level of English. The nearest town Adeje is a 15 min drive, we used the twice daily 'free return bus service' provided but local buses are frequent and reasonable. Can recommend the 'ViaJes Teide' coach trip to the Volcano which had excellent guides. Negatives were: our beds had very firm mattresses so I didn't sleep much. No tea making facilities in room - we took our own kettle. Flies are a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel has it's own beautiful setting with superb gardens and pools. A wonderful spa and indoor water spa is great. The entertainment team led by Ruben and Mario were friendly, professional, and approachable and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were incredibly interested in making your stay a happy one. The food was not exactly to our taste but most people seemed to enjoy it. In all we can say we had a very happy time with much laughter and enjoyment and this was all down to the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large patio instead of a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Where do I start??? The off is disgusting worst food iv seen, the majority of the staff are very rude some just point instead I'd talking which I was shocked at, it's in the middle of nowhere not even a shop nearest one is 15 mins down a bank,I love going to gym and purposely booked it as it was sports hotel, no air con in the gym it's boiling hot u can't even open the window, the spa was nice I a must admit but you have to pay 12 euros each to use it, the entertainment is terrible,
You don't even get a kettle in your room so u can make a cuppa, it's also full of foreigners don't be mislead by nice photos, it cost us a fortune in taxis and buses as we never stayed in the hotel only really to sleep. Never egain!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank CT200812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus M, Director General at Hotel Grand Callao, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Why not to come to the Grand Hotel Callao??? Because you say so.
I sat with you the day after your arrival and you were already complaining.
You got in touch with your agency and you did not want to change Hotel. I don't know the reason why.
You wanted to eat b/e Fish and Chips, burguers and pies .... Sorry you must learn about travels, you have to learn from other cultures, and not enclosed in what you do every day what you eat every day, and what you says every day at home
You can not put air conditioning in a gym, unless you want all visitors end up sick,We have two windows 3x2 (although you say not) open to a garden with a wonderful temperature of Tenerife, so you can breathe fresh air, and not as the possible underground gym which you may be accustomed to.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Tenerife is a lovely island to visit!

However staying at this hotel I would thoroughly recommend hiring a car. In Callao salvaje, a small village down the hill there are cheap car hires.

You'll need a car to get to las americas (the nearest good beach) to drive up mount teide (brilliant cable car ride ) and to the loro parque in the north- easy drive and well worth it!!!!

Other than this, the hotel and pool itself is very nice. No night time entertainment so you must catch the bus or get a taxi to las Americas. This hotel is a little isolated.

Wasn't too impressed with the food really, not varied and quite bland.

Staff lovely and helpful.

Enjoy... But get a car!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J_P473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful 4 day stay in February.
The location is not great ... Nothing much around the hotel but a 15 minute walk downhill you'll find a selection of small and friendly bars and restaurants.
The food in the hotel was mediocre but not awful as some previous reviews have suggested.
The room was spacious and clean.
Would I go back?? Yes ... The heated outdoor pool and spa more than make up for the slight downsides.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callao Salvaje
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
938 reviews
7.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,833 reviews
24.2 mi away
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
#67 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,153 reviews
2.8 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,165 reviews
4.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Callao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Callao

Address: Avda. del Jable s/n, 38670 Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotel Callao Sport)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Price Range: £79 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Callao 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Callao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Callao Tenerife/Callao Salvaje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing