We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Shame About The Location”
Review of Hotel Grand Callao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Callao
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Shame About The Location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here with my wife and two teenage kids from the 19th to the 265h July. It wasn't our original choice as there was some sort of mix up with our agent and this was given to us as a replacement with a month to go. The Hotel itself was clean and there was plenty to do at the complex. There weren't many British families there that week, about two others, the rest of the guests were mainly Spanish, French and some Germans, so at least there weren't any stag parties! The food I felt was good although my wife who is choosier than me wasn't so kean. The pool area was nice and well maintained, the staff were also good and very helpful. The rooms were good, we were up by the tennis courts although they were quite dark due to there only being a window at one end of the room. The golf course was decent and my wife enjoyed a massage in the spa. My only complaint is that the location is fairly quiet for things to do in the evening, the entertainment wasn't up to much in my opinion so we ended up retiring to the room to play cards. We were all inclusive due to my original booking and to be honest we have had better packages but overall a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the lower end of the complex by the Spa have private patios and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    212
    130
    81
    61
See reviews for
118
339
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend (both 29) mid July, it's very quiet - only 80 rooms. Not many British (if any)
Food is good for hotel food
Spa is first class (€15 extra)
Walking distance to nearby seafront
Rooms not special - clean(ish)
Spanish TV
Golf pitch and putt is good

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhydian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My friend and I were lucky to stay at this hotel, it was everything we expected and more. The complex was well looked after, staff attentive and friendly. Our room and large patio were a delight. The food was well presented and waiting staff friendly and helpful. The hotel was family friendly and we spent time relaxing round the poolside, swimming and watching families enjoying games of water polo. There were lovely gardens to walk round and we enjoyed an afternoon in the spa inc steam room and jacuzzi pools. We also used the free bus to take us to Costa Adeje for shopping in the markets a short distance from the beaches. We found some lovely cafes and shops in Fanabe along with a favourite beach bar with a fabulous view across the sea. All in all one of the best holidays I have had in a super hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are ground floor, with just a few steps and slopes around the hotel and garden areas, we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I world like to share our amazing experience at the hotel! We celebrated our wedding there! In the day i arrived to set up some of my thing a i was helped buy several members of staff that where wonderful. We were given the suite for the evening which was beautiful and i got ready there! The evening was amazing the hotel manager had full control of the whole evening and was just wonderful we were greeted buy him and his staff and we had champage on the chillout terrace photos on the golf course an amazing 3 course meal that the guests and us enjoyed very much also the hotel organised for us flamenco dancers and a singer the evening was out of this world enjoyed buy all! Fantasticly organised and a lot of little details that i had never thought of were Well talen care of! We highly reccomend it as a fantastic venue for events and as a holiday destinación with Well kept grounds cleAn and modern rooms and very friendly staff and the hotel manager we cant thank enough for all eh díd for us! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sampengelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesus M, Director General at Hotel Grand Callao, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Google Translation
Gracias pareja..... si digo la verdad.... yo también me lo pase en grande.
Saludos, felicidad, suerte y lo mejor, mucho muchísimo trabajo para el futuro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from week at Grand Hotel Callao and it was lovely. Hotel spotless and staff really friendly. We had good weather, hot but occasionally cloudy which was a relief. Some days we had the pool to ourselves which was fine by us. Smaller pool heated and just like being in a bath. Not sure how long walk into village was as it is a straight road so you do not think of time, downhill there and uphill back but worth experience of local bars

Room Tip: Room numbers starting 100 or 200 are at back of property and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devoran, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Would willingly stay here again. Beautiful setting with 2 pools and outside Jacuzzi and bars, set in palm tree gardens and golf course. Other bookable sports activities were available. Spa area is excellent, we didn't use the gym. The food was good with a wide choice of buffet service menu changed daily and covered European and British diets (including a full-English if you don't mind very streaky bacon), but no English tea - take your own tea bags. All the staff were professional, attentive and pleasant, always willing to assist and engage in conversation, even those with less skills in spoken English. The majority of guests (when we stayed) were French and Spanish but major staff were bi-lingual with good level of English. The nearest town Adeje is a 15 min drive, we used the twice daily 'free return bus service' provided but local buses are frequent and reasonable. Can recommend the 'ViaJes Teide' coach trip to the Volcano which had excellent guides. Negatives were: our beds had very firm mattresses so I didn't sleep much. No tea making facilities in room - we took our own kettle. Flies are a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel has it's own beautiful setting with superb gardens and pools. A wonderful spa and indoor water spa is great. The entertainment team led by Ruben and Mario were friendly, professional, and approachable and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were incredibly interested in making your stay a happy one. The food was not exactly to our taste but most people seemed to enjoy it. In all we can say we had a very happy time with much laughter and enjoyment and this was all down to the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large patio instead of a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callao Salvaje
0.6 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
878 reviews
7.6 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,436 reviews
24.2 mi away
Puerto Resort by Blue Sea
Puerto Resort by Blue Sea
#66 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Alborada Beach Club
Alborada Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Las Galletas
2,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
24.2 mi away
Interpalace by Blue Sea
Interpalace by Blue Sea
#69 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Callao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Callao

Property: Hotel Grand Callao
Address: Avda. del Jable s/n, 38670 Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotel Callao Sport)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Callao Salvaje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Callao 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Callao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Callao Tenerife/Callao Salvaje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing