We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Callao Sundowner”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Callao Sundowner

Heated pool all year round.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated pool all year round.
A becalmed sea view in the evening. Sit and watch the sun go down behind La Gomera. Dinning table and lounge area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Heated pool all year round.
A becalmed sea view in the evening. Sit and watch the sun go down behind La Gomera.
Dinning table and lounge area.
Kitchen area. All you will need to prepare food for your stay.
Lounge area has an HD Satellite TV, blueray player and sofa bed
Comfortable twin beds and ceiling fan to keep cool during the night
Picture of lower sun deck
Heated pool to relax in.
Callao Salvaje town just outside the main reception.
From the balcony, see waves crashing below one of the sun terraces and La Gomera on the horizon.
Peaceful sea view walks are just outside the resort.
Lounge has a safa bed for an extra guest.
Bookcase and HD TV in the lounge. English and continental channels available.
Bedroom has a ceiling fan to keep you cool at night.
Bedroom and wardrobe. (A free to use safe is in the wardrobe for valuables if needed).
Bedroom with patio doors to balcony. Ceiling fan light is operated by a remote controlled handset.
Bathroom showing bath with shower over.
Sit here with a glass and enjoy the view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Callao Salvaje, Adeje, Tenerife, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ali H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Callao Sundowner”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed 11 sunny days in this lovely apartment, everything you need is provided for the views are fantastic, going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the sea was brilliant. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful and mainly English, the food was excellent in the restaurant of the hotel and no dearer than the restaurants in the resort. We enjoyed many meals out all very nice with no complaints. We went to the Chin-dian just down from Santander bank, buffet for 8 euros each and it was lovely fresh and tasty, as was the Pizza Maria just over the road from the hotel. We had a great holiday and will definitely return to this apartment!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the resort
Liked least: I have no negatives at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
We are so pleased you both had such a good time in our very special apartment in Tenerife.
We look forward to you returning soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grassbash...
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous apartment with fantastic sea views”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Enjoyed our weeks stay in this lovely apartment within the Pearly Grey. The hotel and staff were fantastic, nice pool area, bar etc. The apartment is just perfect & we had no complaints. The sea views are the icing on the cake, we left the balcony doors open at night just to listen to sea on the rocks below. We found Callao Salvaje very quiet with lots of nice places to eat and drink, all seemed reasonably priced and clean. The hotel will also arrange excursions for you, we went on the 'Royal Delpin' for the whales and dolphins. They arrange coach to and from. Lunch and drinks laid on in the price.Cost was 53 euros each, was approx 4.5 hrs and we were not disappointed. We have no problem recommending this apartment, hotel and location. Superb!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The sea views/location
Liked least: Didnt get light till 8am!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebsRicha...
cambridge
1 review
“HOME FROM HOME”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed here 2 weeks over new year.Lovely apartment, every thing there you would need. Shops, bars & restaurants just outside the Hotel door. Views are the best in the village. Sun on the balcony from sun rise to sun set. No issues at all, owner very pleasant & helpful.We have stayed in Callao Salvaje a few times,this was definitely the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views& where it was situated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thanks you for your review for our special place in Tenerife.
Guests come back to our Pearly Grey apartment as friends year after year as their 'home from home' in the sun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
South Queensferry, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fully equiped and comfortable apartment with amazing views.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a find, great apartment, with everything you could need, the celling fan is well needed. The view and breeze from the 3rd floor is also great. A must is cocktails at the Edge at sunset its like being on a ship amazing. Great amenities in the complex. Very close to local restaurant and shops. Will definitely be back to the town and the apartment.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great compact 1 bed apartment with fantastic balcony and views.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A very well situated apartment with a fantastic balcony boasting probably one of the best views of the development. Ideal for anyone wanting a relaxing break without having to get in a car unless you want to. Everything is on the doorstep, from supermarkets and restaurants to car hire and banks. The apartment is well equipped with kitchenette comprising oven/ hob and microwave, bathroom with bath as well as shower. Some nice touches such as a good range of paperbacks. It was clean and tidy upon our arrival and there was enough hot water on demand. We slept 3 in comfort, with a teenager on the sofa bed. Lovely pool, bars and two sun-deck areas and also a gym for those wanting to keep fit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nly10d
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great View from A Very Smelly Apartment”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I can confirm that this apartment has a beautiful view of the water (truly spectacular), a stove and oven that work (no microwave), a great television, hot water for at least one good shower, and is in a decent building full of timeshare apartments with a nice pool, and great sun deck for tanning, viewing the water and enjoying drinks at the seaside bar. That's the good.

The bad is that this apartment is tainted with an overwhelming smell that I can only describe as similar to an old age nursing facility (confirmed by a friend who came to visit me and questioned how I could stay there). I'm pretty sure the smell emanates from the aged sleeper couch in the main room but it is pervasive, and that is after leaving the two sliding glass doors and windows open all the time for the 7 days I was there. Moreover, the only escape from this smell is either out on the patio or when in the small bedroom where it is covered by linens that have been washed numerous times in the strongest scented fabric softener I've ever encountered (this is due to the fact that the Perla Gris facility features coin operated washers that automatically dispense this softener with the detergent). Only if you have no sense of smell will this apartment be perfect. The good news for the owner is that these issues are easily remedied and I would suggest that future renters get a guarantee that such has been done before paying fully.

With regard to the Perla Gris (Pearly Grey) facility in general: The wifi, available for 5 Euros per week per device, works slowly but can be accessed from the apartment. (If you wish to use Skype, however, you'll need to go to a place near the pool for a decent enough connection.) While I didn't eat in the restaurant on-site it looked reasonably good. The bar on the lower level of the outside sun deck is very nice to go have a drink and watch the sunset. I did not use the pool while there but it looked very clean and seemed perfect for cooling off after sunbathing though not large enough for an adult to swim laps or anything. The patrons of the hotel were virtually all Brits split about 70/30 between retirees and young families with kids. If you are looking for a vibrant 20s - 30s pool scene, go elsewhere…moreover, probably away from Callao Salvaje. In the evening, the on-site restaurant/bar turns into a karaoke party for those who know the words to tunes from the 60s and 70s with a once a week Elvis impersonator entertaining the older crowd. I didn't get a look at the exercise room as, remarkably, it wasn't open in the morning before 10 am, when most people work out. The staff at the facility are very nice and helpful and the location in town cannot be beat. Local restaurants are all pretty good, especially if you enjoyed simple grilled fish.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thanks you Craig for your comprehensive feedback.
The smell you experienced is something of a mystery to us as we have not had any previous guest remark on this aspect of the apartment.
There was some major building and decorating being carried out in adjacent apartments before you arrived which may, to some extent, explain the smell you encountered but if it is the couch as you suggest we will be having it replaced. (It has probably come to the end of its life and needs to go anyway as it is somewhat uncomfortable).
The linen is taken off site by our agent and does not go to the onsite laundrette. However I have mentioned to our cleaner to go easy on the fabric softener in future!
You obviously have a keen sense of smell.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and thanks once again for your feedback.
It is always appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing