We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Torre del Canonigo
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have been a returning guest for a couple of years. This year, my (early) booking request was ignored for two months. When asking about the status informed, that junior suite no longer available for first night. Booked another room for one night inestead, should then move to JS.

When arriving was told that we would be in a separate appartment. Was confused, asked where/why. Was told, that - despite booking confirmation - hotel was full. Offered Appartment would be close by. Asked for manager. No word of regrett or sorry. Said, that there was a problem and he ould not expulse other guests. Showed from hotel the other appartment, where heavy construction work was going on (even the roof was under construction). Told him, that no option. He just laughed and said that ther is a problem and no other optin. Next offer: appartement next to hotel, which we could enter at 4 a.m (in the middle of the night)!!!!! Refused, again. Got fianlly very tiny room to the street for one night.

Found out, that couple prolonged its stay and thus had no room for us. Is that the way you treat well paying (always book the JS) guests?

When checking out at the end of the stay were billed original price of the booked room instead of the fee for the lowest categorie we got.

Really, really disappointing: never experianced such a mis-managment. No appology, no courtesy for the inconveniance caused by preferring other guests, instead tried to even bill more than the room consumed. As said, have been returning guest...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Axel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a unique and fabulous hotel set at the top of the Dalt Villa hill. If you hire a car they give you a special pass which gets you through the Dalt Villa road barriers and allows you to park outside the cathedral at the top - very VIP. Our room (suite 8) was beautiful with a large outside terrace that had nice sun loungers, table and chairs and a mosaic outdoor tub and amazing views of the port of Ibiza. Staff are friendly but not pushy. You feel more like you are in a private home rather than a hotel. That said they do all the nice touches like a well stocked room bar, nice robes, good quality local herb toiletries in the bathroom and breakfast in your room, in our case of course on our lovely terrace. Heavenly. Would not consider staying anywhere else in Ibiza Town now, we've been spoilt. And the exercise we got walking up and down the steps of the old town meant that we didn't put on a single kilo in weight on our holiday, despite all that paella and tapas!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BellG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you want flash stay in Ushuaia, Pacha or Ibiza Gran, if you want subtle class stay here. They won't mind me recommending the competition as they have none. We are over 30's clubbers and after a hard nights raving you want.... tranquility, a late breakfast and no hassle. Welcome to La Torre del Canonigo. I'm not telling you which is our favourite room as you'll book it!

We've stayed in truly the best in the Maldives, New York, Paris and London. If you thrive on survile staff go elsewhere, this is Ibiza.

You'll have to leave Dalt Villa for the clubs and bars as we do and the taxi's might not quite take you to the door so whip your heels off for the last 100m and look down on the harbour when you awake.

PS lots of lovely restaurants and a bar or 2 top side of the castle gates.

Room Tip: the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I return to this hotel year after year. what i like is the lack of fuss and stuffiness. If i need anything i just have to ask and the staff (who are now like friends) always deliver.I met Ainara - new head of reception - for the first time this year and she is absolutely great - very funny but efficient and Sem brilliant and charming as always. These guys are not 'in your face' types, they may appear reserved but they are GOOD at what they do. Several well known and famous people return to the hotel year after year - and it is the discretion of the staff and lack of fuss and stuffiness which they value the most. I felt that the hotel this year was ready for redecoration and up - dating. I have been informed, on good authority, that come October the place is being totally gutted and transformed. Looks like the old place is going to be even more special.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockstaruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Our recent holiday in Ibiza was meant to be a special one... but this was spoilt somewhat by the choice of hotel.

I pride myself on being able to find great hotels and often research thoroughly but this was the worst mistake I have made.

In 30 years of travelling this was probably the most disappointing hotel I have ever stayed in.

It is an expensive hotel so of course there was an expectation of some degree of luxury and also service. Apart from the Bose i-pod deck in the room there was minimal luxury and absolutely no service whatsoever.

First of all, the location of the hotel is a nightmare if you want a relaxing holiday. Very few, if any, of the taxis will bring you this far up in the old town. We had to walk quite often and it is a very strenuous walk in the Ibiza heat. The hotel's own vehicle had broken down and to compensate they had offered us a trip to the beach or a taxi to the airport. This never materialised. In fact, there was such confusion around ordering a taxi to the airport back to the airport that I had to walk with all my cases into the town as the taxi never turned up. I nearly missed my flight. I have since written to the hotel to ask them for an explanation and to express my disappointment and they haven't even bothered writing back to me.

This lack of service is typical of this hotel throughout.
- No help with cases on arrival
- Only one person ever present, often trying to do the breakfasts and reception at the same time
- A very poor breakfast of a couple of bread rolls and a doughnut: outrageous given the price of the room - if you want fruit or eggs you have to pay €10 or more extra
- Little service at breakfast
- No wifi in the rooms despite the website saying they have it
- No bar service to the terrace
- No response at reception when calling down

All in all, this is the most disappointing hotel experience I have had and would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone.

I have written to the hotel and they had promised me a response from the owners but so far I have received nothing (over 2 weeks later). I even offered them some advice on how to improve the hotel as I work for a leading international tourist board but given the attitude of the hotel and the lack of attention to the customer I cannot see them implementing these very necessary changes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank baby_boy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Most TripAdvisor reviews do not reveal several important points about this hotel. First, and most importantly, this hotel is quite remote and inaccessible. Unlike all other Ibiza hotels,it is hundreds of meters up steep,dark and narrow cobblestone streets (really alleys) above the main Dalt Villa area (where the Hotel Mirador and restaurants are located). In transferring from another Ibiza hotel , it took us two hours to get a taxi ( four separate taxis refused to go to this hotel) and the one taxi that took us left us 150 meters below the hotel (you need to travel very light to stay at this hotel). The hotel supposedly has a van but it is often not available and the operator is quiet rude and difficult. At night (Ibiza is a very late night place), the last several hundred meters up to the hotel are dark and deserted, and one should expect to meet occasional prostitutes and undesireables. This is a very small hotel and run by amateurs. Generally one person is on call most of the time, but the front door is often locked at night and getting in can be an adventure. The hotel also refused to honor our Venere reservation, demanding three hundred euros (one hundred euros per night) more than the Venere booking. Service is not good. On arrival at 9:30 at night ( we had visited earlier in the day to seek assistance in getting a taxi and were refused), the beds were not made and there was not enough towels, and upon returning at 1:30 am , the beds were still not made ( we had to wake the night attendant to find bedding). The staff is typically unhelpful and generally has poor English language capacity. We have stayed at many small hotels throughout Europe, in London , Paris (de Buci), St. Remy (Chateau des Alpilles), Florence, Avignon, Aix, Cannes , Capri (La Flora), Venice, Roma, Sorrento, Santa Margarita, Barcelona etc. , and for its price, this hotel ( which is quite high) was the worst.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dogsandantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We had the suite with the bath outside on the terrace. Very very nice to stay there. Our nights were long, so during the day it was very comfortable to relax there. Also very very nice people of the hotel, really great staff!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefaniEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
#7 of 51 in Ibiza Town
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Montesol Ibiza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Sud Ibiza Suites
Sud Ibiza Suites
#15 of 51 in Ibiza Town
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nautico Ebeso Hotel
Nautico Ebeso Hotel
#19 of 51 in Ibiza Town
666 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Es Vive
Hotel Es Vive
#1 of 51 in Ibiza Town
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Puerto Hotel Apartments
El Puerto Hotel Apartments
#38 of 51 in Ibiza Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torre del Canonigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torre del Canonigo

Address: Calle Major 8, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ibiza Town
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ibiza Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ibiza Town
Price Range: £153 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torre del Canonigo 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Dalt Vila, an old medieval village declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, next to the Cathedral of Ibiza is LA TORRE DEL CANONIGO; old building of the fourteenth century built on the walls of the ancient Roman acropolis. The privileged location of the HOTEL allows that from its luxurious rooms the clients can enjoy a spectacular and impressive view of the bay of Ibiza or of beautiful view to its historic old town. LA TORRE DEL CANONIGO, just 10 minutes walk from the city center ', (comfortable shoes are recommended because the streets of the village have the original stone floor) The HOTEL is structured in different levels: LA TORRE, the upper part, with its exclusive suites, the breakfast area, intimate, cozy and with one of the most beautiful views of the Mediterranean THE POOL, is at the foot of the Tower, with a beautiful terrace - solarium and our gastronomic restaurant, CASA PUGET, the lowestpart of the complex, with its wonderful gardens and of recent construction . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Torre del Canonigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Del Canonigo Hotel Ibiza Town
La Torre Del Canonigo Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing