We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Princess Antonella of Orleans-Bourbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Torre del Canonigo
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Princess Antonella of Orleans-Bourbon”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Quite,relax,nice pa\norama on the port.Small hotel but with charme in the old pedestrian area oh Ibiza town. The staff was kind and my suite with jacuzzi was really confortable.
Antonella de Orleans-Borbon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annerose m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naihara, Director de Recepción at La Torre del Canonigo, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are pleased to know about your comfortable stay with us and we will keep working to offer you as good service as possible. You will be very wellcome if you desire to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    35
    12
    5
    13
See reviews for
12
103
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2012

If you like the purity of places while enjoying an Island that offers non stop amusement, La Torre del Canonigo is the best and most luxurious place to be. Too sleep around centuries old walls while enjoying the best view the Island offers and the best walk, is priceless.

Room Tip: Rooms that look at the port or rooms that look at the old town have it's own magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naihara, Director de Recepción at La Torre del Canonigo, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion. We continue working to offer a good customer service but always conserving the essence of the place: a centuries old building. We would be glad to offer you again an unforgetable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Torre del Canonigo and have mixed feelings about this hotel.

On the positive side:
- The location is stunning, set right at the top of Dalt Villa. The pool is fantastic and the rooms are large and well equipped (with the exception of our bathroom - see below)
- The air conditioning in our room was excellent, and almost silent so ideal for light sleepers
- On the whole the staff were helpful and worked hard (especially the bar staff/waiters) & they were very happy to arrange table bookings or make reservations at beach bars for guests. They also ordered a taxi for us at the end of our stay to the airport which arrived within minutes.
- Breakfast was served until 2pm and must have improved recently as we were offered fruit, fresh juice and eggs for no additional charge
- The hotel is quiet and peaceful despite being in the centre of the old town, we slept brilliantly here each night - the shutters blocked out every ounce of light

On the negative side:
- Our experience from a hotel management perspective sounds very similar to the other negative reviews on tripadvisor. We arrived at 2.30pm to check in and were told that the person in our room had not left yet so our room was not ready. As a result we went for lunch and came back at 4.30pm to find that our room was still not ready. We were offered no explanation as to why, but instead offered a drink from the bar which ended up on our bill when we checked out!
- There is absolutely no information on the hotel in the rooms and the staff didn't know the answers to a number of our basic questions. e.g. 'Is there a price list for the mini bar? 'Erm, no.' 'Ok, how much are the beers?' ' Erm, we don't know'....!
- Bottled water was provided on arrival in our rooms but not when they made the rooms up each day. I found this really surprising given there are obviously no supermarkets nearby and staff were not able to tell us how much the bottled water was in the mini bar.
- On the whole our room was beautifully laid out, the bed was really comfortable and the ipod docking station and TV were modern and worked well. However, the bathroom was really sub standard and the walls around the shower were dirty. The bathroom was what I'd expect to see in a 3* hotel, not 5*
- The restaurant setting is stunning (by the pool) and is open to the public. The food is excellent but it desperately needs some strong management/guidance if it is to be a success. We observed a mix up in reservations while we were dining there and numerous people turned away at the door (there are only 4 tables)

On the whole I would recommend this to someone looking to stay in Dalt Villa given the fabulous setting and pool area. However, my advice would be to reconfirm your booking and arrival time before turning up and be prepared for 'laid back' management during your stay.

I've given this a 3* rating due to the lack of management, but the property itself would get 4* and the pool area would get 5*

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripreviewerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have been a returning guest for a couple of years. This year, my (early) booking request was ignored for two months. When asking about the status informed, that junior suite no longer available for first night. Booked another room for one night inestead, should then move to JS.

When arriving was told that we would be in a separate appartment. Was confused, asked where/why. Was told, that - despite booking confirmation - hotel was full. Offered Appartment would be close by. Asked for manager. No word of regrett or sorry. Said, that there was a problem and he ould not expulse other guests. Showed from hotel the other appartment, where heavy construction work was going on (even the roof was under construction). Told him, that no option. He just laughed and said that ther is a problem and no other optin. Next offer: appartement next to hotel, which we could enter at 4 a.m (in the middle of the night)!!!!! Refused, again. Got fianlly very tiny room to the street for one night.

Found out, that couple prolonged its stay and thus had no room for us. Is that the way you treat well paying (always book the JS) guests?

When checking out at the end of the stay were billed original price of the booked room instead of the fee for the lowest categorie we got.

Really, really disappointing: never experianced such a mis-managment. No appology, no courtesy for the inconveniance caused by preferring other guests, instead tried to even bill more than the room consumed. As said, have been returning guest...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Axel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

This is a unique and fabulous hotel set at the top of the Dalt Villa hill. If you hire a car they give you a special pass which gets you through the Dalt Villa road barriers and allows you to park outside the cathedral at the top - very VIP. Our room (suite 8) was beautiful with a large outside terrace that had nice sun loungers, table and chairs and a mosaic outdoor tub and amazing views of the port of Ibiza. Staff are friendly but not pushy. You feel more like you are in a private home rather than a hotel. That said they do all the nice touches like a well stocked room bar, nice robes, good quality local herb toiletries in the bathroom and breakfast in your room, in our case of course on our lovely terrace. Heavenly. Would not consider staying anywhere else in Ibiza Town now, we've been spoilt. And the exercise we got walking up and down the steps of the old town meant that we didn't put on a single kilo in weight on our holiday, despite all that paella and tapas!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BellG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you want flash stay in Ushuaia, Pacha or Ibiza Gran, if you want subtle class stay here. They won't mind me recommending the competition as they have none. We are over 30's clubbers and after a hard nights raving you want.... tranquility, a late breakfast and no hassle. Welcome to La Torre del Canonigo. I'm not telling you which is our favourite room as you'll book it!

We've stayed in truly the best in the Maldives, New York, Paris and London. If you thrive on survile staff go elsewhere, this is Ibiza.

You'll have to leave Dalt Villa for the clubs and bars as we do and the taxi's might not quite take you to the door so whip your heels off for the last 100m and look down on the harbour when you awake.

PS lots of lovely restaurants and a bar or 2 top side of the castle gates.

Room Tip: the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I return to this hotel year after year. what i like is the lack of fuss and stuffiness. If i need anything i just have to ask and the staff (who are now like friends) always deliver.I met Ainara - new head of reception - for the first time this year and she is absolutely great - very funny but efficient and Sem brilliant and charming as always. These guys are not 'in your face' types, they may appear reserved but they are GOOD at what they do. Several well known and famous people return to the hotel year after year - and it is the discretion of the staff and lack of fuss and stuffiness which they value the most. I felt that the hotel this year was ready for redecoration and up - dating. I have been informed, on good authority, that come October the place is being totally gutted and transformed. Looks like the old place is going to be even more special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockstaruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.4 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#4 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
#7 of 50 in Ibiza Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Montesol Ibiza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Es Vive
Hotel Es Vive
#1 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Llobet
Apartamentos Llobet
#2 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#14 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torre del Canonigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torre del Canonigo

Property: La Torre del Canonigo
Address: Calle Major 8, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ibiza Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ibiza Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torre del Canonigo 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Torre del Canonigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Del Canonigo Hotel Ibiza Town
La Torre Del Canonigo Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing