We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the views, and peace and quiet”
Review of THB Los Molinos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
THB Los Molinos
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, UK
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth it for the views, and peace and quiet”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

There's a lot of nonsense written about this hotel in these reviews, so it's time to set the record straight. As with all Spanish tourist hotels, the star rating used bears no resemblance to the rest of the world. It is usually necessary to lower one's expectations by 1 star when booking a tourist hotel in Spain, and the THB Los Molinos is no different. As other reviewers have said, it is not a 4 star hotel by UK/USA/Europe standards, but that is what you should be expecting anyway. So, here we have a 3 star hotel...

The staff were friendly and courteous at all times, especially the guy working on reception. Check in was handled quickly and we were in our room within minutes. All the staff we encountered spoke fluent English.

We had paid extra for a sea view room, and we were given room 526 on the top floor. The sea was so close you could almost touch it! The room was away from the street so it was extremely quiet. The only noise we could hear was the waves on the rocks below. I would recommend anybody staying in this hotel pays the extra for a sea view room, as you will probably leave with a different opinion to those who are located in a room next to the street, with those irritating noisy Spanish mopeds passing by every few minutes.
As other users have commented, the decor in this hotel is very dated. Our room was furnished with blue carpets and bedspreads, yellow and blue curtains and chairs, and pastel yellow walls - the kind of colour scheme that went out of fashion in about 1995. In that respect, the hotel is long overdue for an update.
The bed was not at all hard. The mattress was extremely comfortable and seemed to be very deep and quilted. It looked pretty new- maybe they had been replaced recently? However, the main problem with the bed was the pillows. They were so hard that I woke up with sore ears in the morning!
The bathroom was modern and in good condition. The shower was excellent - nice and hot and with good water pressure at all times. A small selection of complimentary toiletries and a sewing kit/comb/shower cap etc were provided. Both the bathroom and the bedroom were all kept spotlessly clean.
The air conditioning was a bit pathetic. We had to have it on full all the time, and even then the temperature in the room was warmer than I would have liked it to be. It did pump out nice cold air, but just not enough of it to cool the room enough. Likewise, the mini bar in the room was unable to keep the drinks cool.
A small LCD TV was provided in the room but, as with other hotels in Spain, whereas other nationalities get the choice of about 10 channels, the Spanish seem to think that English speaking people are only interested in watching CNN. Free Wi-fi was provided throughout the hotel, although it was a bit slow at times.

Breakfast was served from 0730 until 1030 and it was excellent. There was a wide selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and dried fruits, cold meats and cheeses, and Danish pastries and croissants. There was also a wide selection of cooked items- sausages, bacon, fried and scrambled eggs, baked beans, cooked tomatoes, and mushrooms. There was a toaster to make your own toast. Tea, coffee and juices etc were all provided. The breakfast room was large and there were plenty of tables. We never had to wait for food and it was all kept well stocked up. However, we didn't arrive for breakfast 3 minutes before the end of service and expect to be able to eat...

The pool area was great with great views out across Figueretas bay. There were lots of sunbeds and parasols. It is true that towels are not available until 12.30. is This because you have to get them from the pool bar, which doesn't open until 1230! I have no problems with this as such, as it means that inconsiderate people don't rush to get towels and leave them on their sunbeds whilst returning to there rooms for 2 hours. We moved our sunbeds onto the grass to take advantage of the view, but we would never have taken a parasol onto the grass as it would probably have fallen over in about 5 minutes, or even been blown away in the breeze.
Absolutely the best thing about the pool area though, was that it was quiet, peaceful and relaxing. No screaming kids, no groups of noisy people, no loud music. Just perfect.

We were not interested in the hotel spa and gymnasium, so we only had a quick look inside. There was a small indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna. It looked perfectly adequate to us, considering most people would be there to spend time outside in the sunshine.

One final word about location. The THB Los Molinos is located in Figueretas. If you haven't been to Figueretas before, you will find it a peaceful and quiet resort with a pretty seafront to stroll along, and a small beach. There are various bars and restaurants along the front. However, this is not at all how you expect Ibiza to be. You won't find groups of drunken youths here as you might do elsewhere on the island. Everything was relaxing and laid back, and you won't find loud music blasting out from the bars all day. However, if you do want to access the nightlife, the centre of Ibiza town is a 15 minute walk away. When leaving the hotel, turn right and walk past up the street past the car park. Continue up the dust track, following it round to the left. When you reach the road again, turn left and walk through the tunnel. You will then see the Ibiza old town walls.

In summary, whilst this is by no means the best hotel I have stayed in, it is better than most other hotels nearby. The decor was dated, but the fact that it was so quiet means I would definitely stay here again. This is not the kind of hotel to stay in if you want to party all night. It is peaceful and relaxing and seemed to attract a more mature crowd. The views alone were worth the money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chippy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    335
    114
    31
    18
See reviews for
36
382
49
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stay twice at Los Molinos, before and after a 10 days sailing around Ibiza and Formentera. The Hotel is clean, niced and well located. Walking distance to everything but keep in mind that Ibiza is a town better suited for taxi rides. Friendly staff and spacious rooms, that need and urgent update, with nice pool&ocean view.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfonsoML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I totally agree with Mr. Rossell. All I can add to his comments is that we ask for a taxi at reception, they told us we had to wait outside. (At 35 ºC for 20 minutes, imagine).
However, with 4 stars, the hotel’s philosophy is: the first to see the taxi, is the first that picks up.
Then, why I reserve the taxi?
Regarding the food outside the rooms during more than 12 hours: horrible.
The classification should be maximum 3 stars.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pere_Nogueroles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I say this words based that this is a 4 star hotel. We've got lots of problems. Basically for its poor service. In our arrival we wait for 20 minutes for the check-in, an top of that we had to carry our lugagge to the room.
Next day we went to the lobby bar and there were nobody. We had to go to our rooms to take coca-colas and bring to the bar and drink it there.
Later we went to the swimming pool, and they didn't provide us towels till 12:30pm. Not bad.
At night we saw some plates back the doors from guess who ate at the rooms and the next morning were still there.
and.... more, more and more...
Rooms are very small for 2 people, we booked a twin double room and they gave us a twin room but the beds were together and they couldn't be splitted. and... well, I'm tired to say bad things of this hotel.. I can accept this for a 3 star hotel but not for a 200€/night.
Never more! oh! I forgot it.. my bath is bigger than their SPA!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet_Traveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This hotel is quiet, in a noisy town. It is directly on the Med and has a beautiful view with a fine pool, bar, and other amneities. Many good restaurants within easy walking distance.The rooms could use some refurbishing but are generally clean. Superb free breakfast. Problems are the distance from the hotel to clubs and other recreation on the island. Taxis are VERY expensive. Do not try to use the printing machines at the hotel, they are expensive and unpredictable. Wifi worked fine in the rooms with 3 computers simultaneously. A/C was adequate. Rooms are small but have patios.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Had read recent reviews about this hotel and wondered if a chance to return to it was a mistake. Quite the contrary. I had a most enjoyable week - staff in all sections were friendly, helpful and professional.The hotel is so well located for a stroll into Ibiza town and located right on the sea with beautiful gardens and at the end of the promenade where there are a number of very good restaurants by the sea. I booked on a B and B basis and the breakfasts were perfectly fine with a good choice of breads and a very good selection of hot and cold food. I will certainly return in the future. Just hope I don't ever bump into the likes of bonbonballerina. Her review reveals more about her than the hotel I would suggest.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0hnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Spent 4 nights at Los Molinos. Hotel was chosen due to its proximity to Ibiza Town centre. I had noted previous bad reviews, particularly directed at the staff. We did not experience any problems. In fact, they were alway courteous and extremely helpful. Breakfast was good, as was the service at the pool. Have to pay 1 Euro for 10 min internet access on computers in the lounge area, but you can take it or leave it. Beds were comfy. Air conditioner worked. No problems with the usual suspects. Quickest walk into town involved a strenuous walk uphill, but you can not blame the hotel for geography or my lack of enthusiasm for a bit of a work out. Not the cheapest hotel, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatacircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibiza Town
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
843 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Llobet
Apartamentos Llobet
#2 of 52 in Ibiza Town
313 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautico Ebeso Hotel
Nautico Ebeso Hotel
#17 of 52 in Ibiza Town
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Los Molinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Los Molinos

Property: THB Los Molinos
Address: Calle Ramon Muntaner 60, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ibiza Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Los Molinos 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THB Los Molinos Class is open the whole year and has a privileged location on the very seafront. With views to the beautiful beach of Figueretes, you can enjoy a fantastic day relaxing by our pool, having a cocktail at our pool bar or even enjoying a massage. This hotel is the clear illustration of the island of Ibiza has to offer: calmness, Mediterranean beauty and its famous nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your THB Los Molinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb Los Molinos Hotel Ibiza Town
Los Molinos Ibiza Town
THB Los Molinos Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing