We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay at excellent hostel run by a very good hostess!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vara de Rey Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Ibiza Town B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good stay at excellent hostel run by a very good hostess!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

If you are going to Ibiza and if you want to see some real and original Ibiza, stay at this hostel. It is good and the owner gives excellent tips!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janwillem67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erantre, Propietario at Vara de Rey Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
We want to thank your grateful comments, which we welcome and encourage us to keep improving. We are also pleased that our recommendations have been helpful and we hope to see you soon in Ibiza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    25
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
30
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My boyfriend and I recently visited Ibiza. We decided to stay one night in Ibiza town upon our arrival in order to catch the ferry to Formentera the next afternoon where we stayed for 3 nights. I spent weeks trying to find a charming, traditional style and affordable place to stay in Ibiza town. It was so hard to find exactly what I wanted! Until I found this place. I wasn't one hundred per cent sure about it until we arrived, but it blew me away. We had a fabulous suite which overlooked a lively square and D'alt Vila. It was full to the brim with gorgeous antique furniture and a very comfortable four poster bed. Double glass doors opened onto a beautiful view. The bathroom was very cleverly designed with glass walls, allowing as much light into it as possible. There are some nice restaurants in the square below with a lovely view of the old town - they are very reasonably priced and we seemed to be the only tourists there. There was a lovely atmosphere around the area, but I can imagine that during the high season, it could get noisy. We found that we didn't hear much noise from outside at all when we closed our glass doors. I would whole-heartedly recommend this unique hostal. It is also very cheap, considering the details in the rooms. Since we were visiting out of season, we were asked to pay for a receptionist to be there when we arrived to show us around and let us in. This cost 20 euro, but I was happy to pay it considering the very reasonable price of the suite. I am extremely picky when it comes to choosing accommodation and I was over the moon to find Vara de Rey. I certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Go for a suite and one which looks over D'alt Vila.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KNMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erantre, Propietario at Vara de Rey Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
We want to thank you in advance for your comments, despite arriving a little late. Every opinion of our guests motivates us to keep improving day by day.

We are glad to know that you liked the suite, the furniture and decor, as we like to take care of every detail of the customers stay. We know that the views of Dalt Vila and good location are some of our values​​. We hope that the treatment was also enjoyable. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for a week in the suite with a great view of the D'alt Villa (old town). The suite has its own bathroom and shower, AC, TV, small safe, fridge, couch and plenty of space. Free WIFI is also available.

The location is great, in the middle of town, between the two main squares (Plaza del Parque and Vara de Rey). We took the bus, #10, from the airport, it only costs 3.35 Euros per person each way and you buy the ticket on the bus. The bus (http://www.ibizabus.com/Page18.html) passes by the Paseo Vara de Rey and we got off at the next stop by the port. It's just a few minutes to walk back to Paseo Vara de Rey 7 and the sign for the Hostal is quite easy to find. In case you miss getting off the bus at the port then it will continue to the main bus station and you will have a longer walk, maybe 10 minutes, to get to Casa de Huespedes Vara de Rey. The main bus station is also where all the buses to the other places on Ibiza leaves from.

The place is on the third floor, 55 steps, but the owner Louis was waiting for us when we arrived and helped us with the luggage. There is a winch at the top of the stairs which he used to get our bags lifted to the 3rd floor.

Louis was very friendly and helpful. Providing us with suggestions on where to eat and so on.

In the mornings we had breakfast either at Madagascar Cafe on Plaza del Parque, right below our suite or at Cafeteria Ebusus just across Paseo Vara de Rey. Both places were very nice and not too expensive.

Louis suggested a few not too expensive places for lunch or dinner. We tried Bon Profit across from Cafe Madagascar at Plaza del Parque and Comidas Bar San Juan at Montgri 8 (3 blocks from Plaza del Parque) and liked them both. They are very popular, there is usually a line outside when they open and the table might be shared, which means you might meet some interesting people. :-)

We made our reservation at http://hibiza.com/ and sent a few e-mails afterwards with questions which were quickly responded to.

Room Tip: The suite with the view of the D'alt Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank csn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erantre, Propietario at Vara de Rey Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
We wanted to thank you sincerely your comments, although a little late arriving. We are glad to know that your accommodation was good and our recommendations for restaurants and places were useful.

We want to offer the best service and pleasant stay in Ibiza . We hope to continue to offer the best deal and service. We will be glad to welcome you soon in Ibiza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel in ibiza didn't take down my correct cc information and decided to email every person on my work website (which was on my signature and she also included people from organizations that are completely unrelated to me) instead of just calling or emailing me because they "didn't want to harass me" - describing to my cohort, managers, the dean, and several unknowns a rather long narrative that I am denying paying the hotel balance; oh and they forwarded all the past correspondence leading up to our stay at the hotel which included my full CC information. Fortunately, that account is closed now. But not the most rational thinking place to stay...in fact everything was a bit counterintuitive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yovanni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Very glad we stayed here for 5 nights this past week. Located in one of the main squares in Ibiza town. Lovely old building, we stayed in room 3 - a double overlooking the square. Full of character, well soundproofed, and nice aircon. Great value and look forward to going back next year. We found a great drinks spot down stairs (Madagascar) and also a good breakast place also (forget the name but it's on the corner of the same block as Madagascar, but at the other end of the block)

Staying in a pension in ibiza town made a change from a hotel with a pool - which we didn't miss at all (beaches are much more fun than pools anyway!) Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoNeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erantre, Propietario at Vara de Rey Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
We wanted to thank you sincerely your comments, although a little late arriving. We are pleased that your enjoyed your stay and you find charming places close to our hostel. We know that our location, in the heart of downtown, is one of our values​​. We hope to continue to offer the best deal and service. We will be glad to welcome you soon in Ibiza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the start of our week in Ibiza. We had the best room in the house which got us a big room with a seating area and big windows that you could open onto a teeny tiny balcony to get a fantastic view of Dalt Vila.
We thought it would be noisy being so central but with the windows closed we didn't hear a thing! The room had air con which was brilliant in the heat.
We did consider staying in Dalt Vila but are glad we stayed here and got the fantastic "money can't buy" view instead!!
This place is great value for it's location - there are countless shops, bars and restaurants on the doorstep, although Ibiza town is really small so nowhere is very far.
There are no facilities but there are countless places to have breakfast etc.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Have the special suite - the best room - if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erantre, Propietario at Vara de Rey Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
With some delay, we wanted to thank you have spent some of your time to this comment.
We thank you for your good review and we are glad that your stay enjoyable and silent.

We hope to keep improving every day to every customer feel at home. We are fully convinced that the good location of our hostel is one of our strengths.

Best regards and hope to see you soon on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed there for ten days and couldni't have chosen a better location. Close to everything. Our room had a fantastic view of Dalt Vila. Only dissadvantage: a little bit noisy at night. Great price!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESCARZAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erantre, Propietario at Vara de Rey Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Better late than never! We are fully online and want to respond to each of your comments. They all help us continue to improve, so thank you for having spent some of your time.

We want to thank your positive comments. We hope to keep improving every day to achieve that every customer feel at home. Best regards and hope to see you soon on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.4 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#3 of 51 in Ibiza Town
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panoramic Apartments
Panoramic Apartments
#27 of 51 in Ibiza Town
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Montesol Ibiza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
0.3 mi away
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#12 of 51 in Ibiza Town
395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Llobet
Apartamentos Llobet
#2 of 51 in Ibiza Town
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vara de Rey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vara de Rey Guest House

Property: Vara de Rey Guest House
Address: Paseo Vara de Rey 7 | 3rd Floor, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Vara de Rey Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vara de Rey Guest House, a true "home away from home", and the coolest hostel in Ibiza town!The hostel is located in the very heart of Ibiza town, surrounded by early 20th century buildings, and faces Vara de Rey and Plaza del Parque, with unbeatable views of D'alt Vila. It is only a 2 minute walk to the Port of Ibiza: all the best shops, restaurants, bars, cafés and even Pacha nightclub are within walking distance.If you are looking for comfortable, friendly, cool and cheap accommodation in Ibiza town this is it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vara de Rey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Huespedes Vara De Rey Hotel Ibiza Town
Vara De Rey Guest House Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing