We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One would expect more at these rates”
Review of Ibiza Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibiza Gran Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“One would expect more at these rates”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

At EUR500+ a night i was left slightly disappointed by my stay at the Ibiza Gran. The positives:
1) Great breakfasts, huge variety, live egg station, great assortment of fruit and pastries which is unusual for a Spanish hotel.
2) Fantastic pool areas, with plenty of day beds and well serviced by the overstretched pool boys.
3) Great location
The negatives:
1) Poor housekeeping; upon entering our room, we found several black hairs in the bath tub, there was a layer of dust on night tables.
2) We asked for some clothes to be laundered, when they were ready a chambermaid brought them up and despite a do not disturb sign on the door and several shouts by me not to enter the room she opened the door and entered the room! When she realised we were sleeping, she took the clothes away and it took an hour and 3 calls to housekeeping to have them brought up again. 3) The place is characterless and the finishes are cheap, the floors and doors are scratched, there was a mouldy smell in our shower room probably caused by a partially blocked drain.

I was left cold by my experience. If you can get a good rate then go, but I would not return and shan't be recommending it to my friends and family.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank travelkat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    92
    17
    15
    14
See reviews for
52
228
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stunning hotel, cool staff with amazing food. It's not cheap but it is good value for money especially with wine and drinks in general that are not at five star prices or even close to what you will pay in a night club or bar! The pool area is very chilled and the staff are fairly attentive and for the size each area feels fairly private. Great location for the old town, pacha and probably in one of the best areas in Ibiza.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cool1review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Ibiza Gran hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance to Ibiza Town and a short drive to anywhere on the island, unique for this type of luxury resort property. The lobby and communal areas are everything you would expect of a 4-5 star hotel, albeit it in a bit of a bland colour palate (brown/beige/cream) with interesting artwork dotted around. Service at reception is in general very friendly and competent. I had a junior suite. The rooms have bathrooms incorporated into the bedroom which adds a little character, with dual basins, a great shower with additional hand attachment and separate loo and bidet. Complementary Aveda toiletries too, nice brand!! The rest of the room's interior was a pretty bland luxury 4 star style, again creams/light yellows/beige/brown. The hardwood floors and modern wood panelling detail in the bathroom area did up the quality of the room somewhat. The balcony had a side view of Dalt Vila, as do most rooms in the hotel, only a small section of the hotel directly faces Ibiza Town. The pool areas are lovely, with the upper deck having views of Dalt Vila, Ibiza Town's UNESCO world heritage site. Lots of sunbeds, daybeds, including four poster daybeds that also had a little seating area, that I loved! The hotel buffet breakfast was lovely, had everything you would expect and more and had a great omlette chef!!! The quality of some items could be improved. The waiting staff at breakfast were also lovely and were happy to cater to any whim. The poolside food and drink service including fresh juices was excellent. Maybe give the food a miss, I had a pizza that was below par. The bar has a good drinks menu and service was good here also. I also visited the spa and had a treatment. Considering the entry price for the spa alone is quite steep, the treatments are quite good value. All staff in the spa were lovely, including the therapist who gave a great massage. The hydrotherapy area was fun and relaxing and is a great area to relax in. Unfortunately, I did have some negative experiences at the hotel. The air conditioning at the hotel was particularly poor, in communal areas in the hotel, but definitely in room. I would go so far to say it was inadequate for a climate where temperatures often reach the 30's. Excuses from the receptionist were that the air conditioning was slow and is bad for health anyway. My partner did ask reception for a fan, however this was "impossible". Not great service I think for a 5 star hotel in a hot country. The receptionist also would not let my partner check another room, this was also "impossible". She did say she would send a technician. I wasn't aware if one ever arrived. The spa, however, had air conditioning blasting away, which leads me to believe that air conditioning is deliberately rationed in the hotel to save on their electricity bills. Poor. The housekeeping service whilst very friendly, was not that great. The room remained somewhat dusty throughout my 7 day stay and the maid did not go out to the balcony once. Another thing I didn't like was that towels were not readily available at the pool. You had to wait for the pool staff, who were run off their feet, to get you some and for them to set up any umbrellas for shade. Despite the all the good things that this hotel has going, I don't think I would stay here again, due to the air conditioning. This is something that could have been very easily changed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent 11 nights in Ibiza, having the first two nights here. Check-in was a bit slow. The room (Junior Suite on Floor 4) was great, exactly the same as the pictures on their website, with a large balcony with great views. The walk to the old town is about 20 mins and Pacha, Lio, Downtown and the Casino are all on it's doorstep. The drinks and food are quite expensive, but there are supermarkets right outside if you want to bring in your own snacks/drinks, like we did. What really made the hotel excellent for us was the pool area, the staff were so helpful, friendly yet discreet. The design of it is really outstanding, with super comfortable sunbeds and daybeds, either in the open or in well designed private areas. The pool guys came with towels as soon as you arrived and then with water sprays, additional towels, fresh fruit and sangria throughout the day. The breakfasts were excellent too, so much choice and great service. We loved the hotel so much that we returned for another night and I proposed to my partner. The Junior Suite this time was on the 3rd floor and had a massive balcony and even better views as it was on the corner nearest to the old town/marina. There was a bit of a cock-up on them making a restaurant reservation which could have been handled better. The reception/guest relations staff were helpful but quite impersonal and came across as cold, possibly due to it feeling quite corporate, big and cool - this is not a 'package holiday' hotel. A few of the staff, including the general manager knew that I was going to or had proposed and there wasn't a single 'congratulations' from any of them. This however didn't spoil our 3 nights / 4 days at the hotel. We got nightly rates for about 300E. We didn't use the Open Spa, other than the showers and changing room which they allow you to use after checking-out if you want to spend the day around the pool. I would highly recommend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_boys_Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed here a month ago in a suite, excellent location. English are the minority, lots of french, german guests. Beautiful arty hotel, staff were excellent from reception to waiters/waitresses, pool guys and room attendents. The rooms are very spacious and clean with various pieces of art on the walls. The hotel overall is immaculate you wont be disappointed staying here, location great too. However, it is mega expensive, drinks although the food i thought was quite reasonable, the food is amazing even the simple sandwiches and wraps are big and tasty. We ate at La Madrigal which was recommended by concierge, an eye watering 700 euros!

The hotel has a boutique shop on site, a couple of restaurants, bar area, two pools (one adult pool, the other is mixed), huge sunloungers if your lucky to get one of the double beds they are great.

If you are prepared to splurge that little bit extra then you must stay here.

Room Tip: i would recommend a suite, rooms are bigger and the balcony is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clr2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Ibiza Gran did a really nice job in developing a large scale property with a boutique / intimate feel. The staff was very nice and concierge helpful. The spa is a great facility and my massage for 85 euros was reasonable and quite good although I will say the massage table could be a little more comfortable / nicer. The rooms are "cool" but not as functional (i.e. shower is separate with door right into room, tub is in middle of room so when sharing with a friend it's awkward!) Beds were decent but the pillows need an upgrade to feather. Not good.

The location is perfect and very central. Walking distance to everything. I ate at the pool cafe and the Casino restaurant and overall the food although slightly expensive is better than average.

If I were to go back to Ibiza (which isn't likely) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Gran Hotel is a top notch hotel. Great rooms, great staff and overall a pretty good standard of fellow guest.

The hotel has a really chilled ambience and the pool and chill out areas are fantastic. Breakfast was also very good with a wide selection of healthy food.

Strolling distance to clubs and a nice walk to the restaurants along the Marina. Also a good base for getting to Salinas beach or over to Formentera.

A deservedly five star option in Ibiza Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustafarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibiza Town
3.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,207 reviews
7.2 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
917 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
#5 of 52 in Ibiza Town
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#5 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
929 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#8 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Montesol Ibiza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibiza Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiza Gran Hotel

Property: Ibiza Gran Hotel
Address: Paseo Joan Carles I 15-17, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ibiza Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Ibiza Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ibiza Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibiza Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiza Town Gran Hotel
Ibiza Gran Hotel Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing