We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rough around the edges”
Review of The One Ibiza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The One Ibiza
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Ibiza Town
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rough around the edges”
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Travel Date June 26th 2009, Booked this hotel with 7 other friends so 8 of us in total. When we arrived we had an awful time checking in, how difficult is it to check in 8 girls? , The reception staff had no manners they were rude and I have never come across a hotel were they refuse to call their guests a taxi when required instead they think that throwing a taxi card at us and demanding we call one ourselves is acceptable. Reception really struggled when it was busy and the language barrier clearly did not help. No hellos no friendly banter. The hotel is actually made up of small blocks of rooms, what troubled me was the hotel has given us 4 rooms in separate blocks and not had us together.

Once we got over the trauma of checking in, the actual hotel was in a really nice location and is lovely, the rooms are good to and I was not disappointed with that. The swimming pool area was great, loads of beds and beautiful views. The pool area is not quiet and relaxing there is the constant Ibiza beat being played so beware, often it can be quite lively, which I did enjoy.

The bar staff also had a language barrier but they were much better than reception. Approx 20 euros to bora bora and 25 euros to the airport.

All in all the hotel was a nice place the staff just spoiled it totally for me, it lacked professionalism and it they do not grasp the concept of customer service, as we discussed by the pool it was rough round the edges and could be one of the best hotels around if they just worked on the customer service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    43
    24
    14
    17
See reviews for
10
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Upon arriving at the one hotel, the lobby and surrounding area is very promising. Unfortunately, from here on everything goes downhill.

The management are very rude (receptionist better, but shouldn't the management be leading by example), and check-in was an ordeal. Service and politeness is certainly not their strength. I should point out that the bar staff were polite, and certain staff in the restaurant.

I think they have 2 classes of room - doubles and suites. We had a double. Note that the "double" beds are annoyingly 2 singles put together, and each half has its own sheet rather than a double sheet. Not too good for romantics! The rooms are tiny, and badly designed (the shower in the bathroom is positioned such that water leaks all over the floor). The air conditioning works well (not true of all ibiza hotels!). The balcony for the rooms is nice, but to be expected in a hotel in a hot country.

Hot water in the rooms is intermittent, luke warm. It seems they are trying to save money, as it was rectified by calling reception everytime we needed a shower. Pretty unbelievable, but true!

One positive is the pool area. The backdrop of the pool area, and hotel site, is picturesque as it is right on the coast. If you don't intend to spend much time in the rooms, this could redeem the hotel with you.

The hotel seems to attract a lot of German couples/newly weds. Not a criticism, but an observation.

Dinner is a buffet affair, and one sitting was enough to encourage me to never eat there again. There were one or two edible things amongst the salads starters table, but the mains were a case of "keep costs down" (fatty bits of chicken in a sauce, old fish etc). I think this is all-inclusive for many of the guests. Even many of the touristy restaurants in Ibiza town serve better food than this. The included wine (only tried the white on this occasion) was just about drinkable.

It's a real shame that this hotel fairs so badly, as there are some things that they got right, such as the pool. Ultimately though, staying here is an ordeal, not a pleasure. I would say the problem stems from the management down. Also, I think they are asking 200 euros a night during peak season, which is just shocking. Under new management, I think this business could be turned around by improving the food, refurbing the rooms, customer service etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foiegras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ibiza Town hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Our room was on the first floor with the balcony over the pool. Every morning we woke up because of an annoying tune they played to greet the Going customers. The room was a simple double but had a third bed (but was definitely small for three people). The restaurant had a lot of choices every night. The staff spoke fluently italian (better than spanish) and most of the tourists were from Italy. The hotel is 10 minutes away from the port of Ibiza and we spent a few euros taking cabs every night (you've got to call them yourself. you can also rent a motorbike at the reception); the pool was big and clean, the animation staff wasn't needed.
The hotel had just a low wall that sepatared the pool area from a rocky trail accessible to unknown Ibizians or possible thieves, and we heard that several robberies have occurred (not in our room though).

The last day of our vacation (Sept 1st 2008) we had our flight at 11.30 PM and so we scheduled the hotel checkout for Sept 2nd, but in the morning of 01/09 a rude receptionist, Alessandra (I guess that was her name), called saying we were late for checking out. We explained (for the second time, because she already knew it) that we had our checkout on 02/09 and she was like "you've never told me any of this. I have guests arriving so pack your bags and leave". We were disgusted by such rudeness.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanky87panky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I went to this hotel last year because of a special price of the tour operator Going. I was a little worried because of the reviews I'd read before.
The hotel is very good ( non a four stars but an honest three) with an amazing view from the swimming pool. The rooms are very simple but clean and with a very large and new- painted bathroom.
It's not so closed to Ibiza town but you can easily reach it in 10 minutes by bus or by motorbike.
The only negative thing was the meal; the menu was repetitive, and the fish dishes not so good.
Going staff was ok, very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroDeUrsua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2008

The Good: Sensational location, very nice rooms, excellent price for what you get.

The Bad: They overbooked the hotel when we arrived and sent us to a different hotel. They cater to tour groups and the twenty individuals that came for a wedding were sent packing.

After two night at a different hotel they had a room for us. It was excellent. We just had a sour taste from the frustration of arriving after traveling around the world to get to the hotel and finding out they overbooked. If we went back to Ibiza we would stay here again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not having a room when we arrived
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellojvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2008

fantastic place to stay close to everything worth being around, treated very well by staff spoke good english could not have been more helpful. room clean and tidy food great cannot fault in anyway would stay again had a great two weeks all of us 7 girls fantastic!!!!!

  • Liked — staff were so helpful
  • Disliked — nothing it was great
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chelseagirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Well what can I say about this hotel....

Great location, gorgeous buildings, amazing pool, breathtaking views..

unfortunately i didn't get to enjoy any of that...as when we arrived at 3am tired and groggy from the in-flight, diazepam, we were informed by the receptionist that there was no room for us (in the hotel that we had already paid for) as the hotel was over booked!
May I just take a moment to add here, that this was despite us having confirmed the room with the hotel both 14 and 7 days prior to us arriving..

anyway..back to the review..

The very compassionate and friendly receptionist clearly did not appreciate that my italian extended much further than Grazie and per favore...and explained to her manager on the telephone in her mother tongue...that there were 3 suites available (a fact which she denied when I explained that I understood italian very well - the only positive coming from a very negative relationship with an ex boyfriend...but again .. i digress)
This being an avenue that they didn't care to explore, we were told that we would be shipped off to playa d'en -chips and curry sauce please -bossa (no thanks) to another hotel..

Both my friend and I had spent many an hour pouring over brochures and websites, taking care to book just the right location....and ironically it was the negative reviews from fellow brits on tripadvisor who had commented that this hotel was "not for the brits" that actually persuaded us to book this particular hotel...hoping for a touch of italian elegance, in favour of being vomited on in an irish bar, hair waving frantically like mad women from the static from a sea of england football shirts

..and thus - much against our will we were bundled into a taxi with a ci vediamo dopo (unlikely) and a buona fortuna - and assured that the cost of the taxi would be met by the hotel...(perfectly reasonable under the circumstances you might think) to another hotel in playa d'en-dont look up now, at the risk of being scalped by the landing gear of a 737 flying an inch over the top of your head every 5 minutes-bossa.

Well as you can imagine, true to form, once we arrived at the destination - after several "no hablo ingles" and "YOU GIVE MONEY"'s later we eventually had to stump up the cost of the taxi ourselves, lest the taxi driver burst. spraying us with angry man.

Both of us agreed that the fact that we were english was a definite reason why we were moved to another hotel - the receptionist mentioned several times during her phone call to her manager that we were in fact English, which to us seemed irrelevant in the scheme of things and im sure was just to check that they were not turning fellow italians away, thus potentially jeapordising relations with the hotels primary target market.

Despite our horrendous experience with this hotel - and despite us being out of pocket - not just from the endless taxis we ended up paying for commuting to restaurants that we had booked which were within walking distance from our intended hotel and our intended hotel being at least £50 more expensive than the one we were put in for that week (despite it having an extra star)
and receiving no money back... we really made the best of it and had a great week, despite being slightly thinner on top, clothing still tinged with the smell of vomit and my skin still itching from my new 20 euro footie kit....

well we figured if you cant beat em..join em.

To sum up though..dont bother booking here unless you want to end up in a different hotel in a different resort..in which case..you may as well book the other hotel directly and cut out the middle man fee of £50 +

  • Liked — the view from the outside
  • Disliked — can't say the view from the inside as we didn't see it
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank itchymoimoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
292.2 mi away
Apartamentos Llobet
Apartamentos Llobet
#2 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
292.4 mi away
Hotel Cenit
Hotel Cenit
#27 of 50 in Ibiza Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
292.6 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#4 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
293.0 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
Hotel Mirador de Dalt Vila
#6 of 50 in Ibiza Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
293.5 mi away
Hotel Argos
Hotel Argos
#1 of 10 in Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
292.2 mi away
Hotel Es Vive
Hotel Es Vive
#1 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One Ibiza

Property: The One Ibiza
Address: Avenida de Cap Martinet s/n | near Ibiza Cathedral, 07819, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The One Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1 Ibiza
The One Ibiza Hotel Ibiza Town
The One Hotel Ibiza
The One Resort Ibiza
The One Ibiza Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing