We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good treatments, fantastic rooms, boring breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Georg Ots Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Kuressaare
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good treatments, fantastic rooms, boring breakfast”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel is a great venue for conferences and I can imagine for traveling as friends, family or couple too. The room was spacious, very comfortable bed-with-a-view. The spa treatments are very reasonably priced. The only thing, like another reviewer mentioned, is the breakfast is a tad bland in comparison with the rest of my experience of the hotel.

The Island and its people are also awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMVDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    108
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
136
134
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Georg Ots together with two other hotels are located at abt 30 min walking distance from Kuressaare village center, close to a small boat harbor and the Baltic Sea, in a carefully landscaped, clean and safe location with good, free parking space.

The hotel exterior could use some fresh paint, but the hotel interior is well maintained, clean and orderly.

The concept of this hotel is a SPA (vs. neighboring "Sanatorium") which means that they do not have medical services. The offered package includes -besides the room and the breakfast - a good sized interior pool (heated to 27C), and a smallish heated, outside pool with an innovative access from the main pool area, very comfortable even at 11 C outside temperature. There are two saunas, a Finnish and a steam room which both are clean and worked well. The weak unpleasant smell in the dressing room shower area is still there. A smallish gym with half a dozen or so machines is OK for us middle age folks, but might be short for young gazelles. The massage services offer a dozen or so different "packages". The ones we enjoyed were very professional, in well designed and clean installations - a superb experience which can be recommended.

This hotel does not have medical services or health packages, and except the SPA facilities, massage and an outside tennis court, there is not much else to do. The neighboring hotel (a 100 m walk) has a bowling, optics, small drugstore, and a small shop.The Kuressaare bishop castle (main attraction) and main streets are abt 15-30 min walk away.

The rooms are OK with a comfortable bed, very clean and with all the normal accessories. The flatscreen TV has English cable channels. The bathroom is small and a bit awkward but again, it works well. The hotel restaurant is a bit dull and the service maybe a bit shy, but the menu was OK and while no grand gourmet, the food is OK and the wine selection good. I found the breakfast selection a bit boring - the basic is there, but no daily changes. It took some practice to discover which one of the three coffee machines makes the good stuff.

In all, our three day visit was a pleasant experience. Late September is not a holiday season, so most of the attractions at Kuressaare and in Saaremaa were closed despite of what is announced in travel guides and in the Internet - so you may wish to call in advance to check the situation, to avoid facing closed doors and frustrations.

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony facing the small boat harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jouni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Spent there a weekend and enjoyed it a lot. Room was spacious and most important- very clean. Dinner in restaurant was tasteful. Waiter seemed to be not very experienced but despite that extremely diligent. The biggest positive surprise was the breakfast.
Only thing that slightly disturbed was the noise made by all the children during the dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We took 5 days out of touring the Baltic States to rest here, and it did the job.

Good points:
Clearly family friendly
Nice rooms
Incredibly lovely staff
Good massages at a fair price
Excellent room cleaning service
Excellent wines by the glass
A really comfortable, large, bed
Good food
Excellent location
I asked if we could have a sea view, and we got it

Small minuses
The changing rooms for the pool area smell of drains
The menu doesn't change, I do like hotels that offer a different daily special or fixed price daily menu
There isn't a kettle in the room
Duvet is smaller than the bed!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, although the views towards the castle are lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

pros: stunning location, most beautiful view from the window, stylish room decor, excellent spa, ok breakfast (though presentation could have been more imaginative), attentive staff.
special gratitude to Marja from the reception - sincere, smart, trying hard to accomodate guests wishes. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Despite of the changing weather that is in Baltic region we enjoyed our stay in Georg Ots Spa Hotel. Thumbs up to its spa quality and variety of procedures. However, I suggest to communciate with the hotel/spa reception to ask for your favorite spa procedure, since one of us wanted to have chocolate spa, but it was not in the list, however staff told us that it is available. Besides this only accident I believewe paid a fair price, which could be a bit lower taking in consideration seemingly low occupancy at that time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrisK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We spent two nights here and it's a nice hotel situated in nice surroundings. The rooms are nicely furbished with modern color, some of them has sea-facing balcony, beds are comfy and there is air condition. Spa area has indoor/outdoor pools, whirlpool and saunas but it would need a few hours a day when kids are not allowed. The hour we spent there was not very relaxing with noisy kids everywhere. Service is typical for the Baltics - not a lot of smiles but you get what you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuressaare hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Rose SPA Hotel
Grand Rose SPA Hotel
#3 of 15 in Kuressaare
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arensburg Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ekesparre Boutique Hotel
Ekesparre Boutique Hotel
#2 of 15 in Kuressaare
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spa Hotel Meri
Spa Hotel Meri
#5 of 15 in Kuressaare
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Village Suur Toll
Holiday Village Suur Toll
#10 of 15 in Kuressaare
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Staadioni
Hotel Staadioni
#6 of 15 in Kuressaare
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georg Ots Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georg Ots Spa Hotel

Property: Georg Ots Spa Hotel
Address: Tori 2, Kuressaare, Saaremaa 93810, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Saare County > Saaremaa > Kuressaare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuressaare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuressaare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Georg Ots Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georg Ots Spa Hotel is located on the largest island in Estonian - in Saaremaa in the city of Kuressaare, near Kuressaare Castle. Georg Ots Spa Hotel opened its doors in May 2004 and was the first wellness spa in Estonia. Ever since, the prestigious travel magazine "Conde Nast Traveler" has included the hotel on its list of top spa hotels. The hotel also underwent refreshment in 2015. The hotel has 92 rooms, including 85 double rooms, 3 family rooms and 4 suites. There are also rooms suitable for people with allergies or special needs. We offer rooms for families with children where you can find towels and bedclothes featuring cartoon characters, colored pencils along with images to color. Come and discover with your whole family. We love all spa fanciers, big and small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Georg Ots Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georg Ots Hotel Saaremaa
Georg Ots Spa Hotel Kuressaare, Saaremaa, Estonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing