We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place but spoilt by kids!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georg Ots Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Georg Ots Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Kuressaare
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely place but spoilt by kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

Lovely hotel - smart, clean great towl service, food and atmosphere. Spa area lovely - pools, sauna, steam room, outside pool and plenty of lovely towels.
spoilt by kids who were jumping into the pools, not showering between pools, going into the sauna and generally messing about, taking over and spoiling the peace and quiet. It was a real shame but no on - parents or staff- seemed to care or do anything.

Small place - you have to make a big effort to book cars (Rent a car in town in good), bikes (from Meri hotel next door) and try the bus station in town. Drive to Saare - like the end of the world but beautiful. Beaches are not worth bothering with but the lake is worth a visit. There may be some free concerts at the music school in the town centre - we saw a poster at the Meri hotel.
Try John Bull pub near the hotel - good food and overlloking the river. Castle is interesting.
Weather disappointing even in August - not a place for sun - it was rainly and cloudy.
Go for the lovely treatments and small time activities!

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Too many small noisy, behaving in a manner regardless of others
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank williawebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    96
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
101
120
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

What a great surprise. Big rooms, robes, clean, good showers. Pools, spa's, sauna, breakfast included, perfect spot

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

Spent 5 days with family (2 small kids) in this up-market spa resort. The hotel is Soviet style from outside, but public areas inside are nice touch of luxury. Location very nice at the harbour, 500 m from the center of Kuressaare. Hotel itself is rather small (maybe some 40-50 rooms only) - which gives an intimate touch.

Hotel had very relaxed athmosphere. Visitors clearly upper class from Estonia, Latvia and Russia (compared to other spa choises in the neighbourhood which seem to be more budget class).

Rooms are a bit mixture of strange colors and trendy furniture and style. We hade a deluxe room which was very comfortable, huge (believe 50-60 square meters) enough to accomodate our family of four. Std rooms are smaller.

Spa is really nice with different kinds of pools inside and outside. Again it's more fore relaxation than for swimming or water games (e.g. no water slides). Anyhow, it was very good and safe also for the kids, mainly due to not being overly crowded.

Eating: breakfast very good, lots of choise. We hade 3 dinners in hotel restaurant - very tasteful, a bit Italian style I think. Expansive compared to other places in Kuressaare, but still very reasonable for western standards. Very nice drinks and fruit smoothies in the lobby bar.

Overall - the GOSpa is very nice place for some days relaxed mini-vacancy. The only thing that bothered a little was the sevice attitude in the hotel. As a guest I would expect some more attenttion from waitressed e.g. in the dinner. Weonly got some smile & attention in our last dinner at the restaurant. Otherwise very nice place, if you would like to get something more stylish and different compared to other spa's in Kuressaare.

  • Liked — Style and relaxed feeling due to not too crowd
  • Disliked — Service attitude at dinner restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

This hotel was interesting! Ambiance was very relaxing, services good, food excellent, pool super! The clientèle was what was a bit odd. It seems as if everyone was in their own music video to music from Sting. It was all about looks, what kind of baby equipment you had and being seen. Too much stress for me! The price was a bit on the high side for what the island has to offer and the small rooms- not to mention, odd shower stalls. Two great things close by were the best castle in Eastern Europe and fantastic little Italian restaurant in the middle of the town. Would I go there again- mmm only if a large group was planning to go. A plus was the "kid cage". This was a play room with climbing apparatuses and a glass wall. The parents could lounge in wicker chairs with drinks and watch their kids play!

  • Liked — Services were good
  • Disliked — Clientele
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IntnlTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

A friend and I spent the weekend at Georg Ots on a spa package. We really enjoyed the pampering - the hotel provided spa slippers and bath robes for its guests and the spa where the treatments are conducted was just a short stroll away from our rooms (we had rooms on the same floor as the treatment rooms).

The rooms were simply but tastefully furnished, complete with a CD player and we could rent CDs from the concierge for free. I wasn't too taken by the bathroom - it reminded me too much of a communal shower facility because of the green square tiles. Water tended to flood the floor as well as the shower area was not self-contained. We noticed however that for some reason, the water tended to evaporate very fast and the area dried quickly.

We also liked the hotel restaurant - it's not cheap but the food is of a high quality. I had fish soup (both nights we ate there), squid ink seafood pasta and grilled lamb and all food dishes were well-prepared. Breakfast was a simple but sufficient spread as well.

I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anybody for a nice weekend out of the usual touristy places in Estonia (we were informed that most of the guests at this hotel were Estonians rather than tourists).

  • Liked — Restaurant, spa treatments
  • Disliked — Toilet in the hotel room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bertrande80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2007

This is a relatively new hotel that overlooks the Bishop's Castle. The rooms are spacious and our's had a balcony. The bathrooms were nice. The lobby bar services an area where you can drink on the patio or inside beside the fireplace. The fireplace area is outfitted with great reclining "sofa" type chairs. The hotel's restaurant serves the included breakfast in the morning and has a great decor. The food is excellent as is the wine selection. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety. The hotel has ample free parking, has a small grocery store nearby and is a 5-10 minute walk from the castle and downtown. The only downside, which cannot really be attributed to the hotel, is that it sits beside a small inlet and the mosquitos there eat you alive. Bring repellent if you plan to hang outside after dusk. Lastly, the women in our party raved about the spa services. These services were quite cheap when compared to US prices.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank capturedplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,348 reviews
376 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,975 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2007

Georg Ots Hotel is situated overlooking the Tori Yacht harbour and the medieval Bishop’s Fort. It’s approx 5 min drive into the village. The village of Kuressaare is tiny but there are some attractive historic buildings, cafes and restaurants to visit. The main attraction is the medieval castle and the parkland and paths surrounding it.

Check in – We booked this room over the internet with a great rate, through www.booking.com and absolutely had no problem with check-in.

Room – Our room 404 was on the smallish size and consisted on a double bed, bedside tables, mini bar, small working desk and a balcony. The carpet was unusual and distinctive with big bold colourful stripes which one could absolutely loathe or adore.

Bathroom – On the small size but was extremely well designed, with a separate walk-in shower and toilet. A good make-up mirror and vanity suite. Dressing gown was also supplied.

Restaurant – Breakfast had a fine selection of cheese, cooked omelet’s, pastries and pancakes.

Dinner – We dined outside on the terrace and had a pleasant meal. Although not a huge menu it was adequate and the wine selection was excellent.

Facilities –
The dominant thing about this hotel was the indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and the various spa baths set with different temperatures and sprays to choose from. There were plenty of massages to select and indulge and pamper yourself with. This hotel is a great place to relax and unwind from any former stress from driving or traveling on the road.

Tips – Its best to pre book your ferry trip over from Virtus the queues were long and it took us two hours to finally reach the port of Kuivastu.

We noticed pre booked cars just drove straight onto the ferry whilst we had to buy a ticket and queue with everyone else. We did however travel on a weekend with a festival happening in the Bishop’s Fort. The ferry ride takes approx 30mins and there are several ferries operating at the same time.

Overall – An interesting hotel offering excellent spa facilities which was appreciated after a dull drive through the island.

  • Liked — spa facilities
  • Disliked — carpet.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuressaare hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Rose SPA Hotel
Grand Rose SPA Hotel
#2 of 15 in Kuressaare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arensburg Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ekesparre Boutique Hotel
Ekesparre Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Kuressaare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spa Hotel Meri
Spa Hotel Meri
#8 of 15 in Kuressaare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Johan Spa Hotel
Johan Spa Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kuressaare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spa Hotel Ruutli
Spa Hotel Ruutli
#9 of 15 in Kuressaare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georg Ots Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georg Ots Spa Hotel

Property: Georg Ots Spa Hotel
Address: Tori 2, Kuressaare, Saaremaa 93810, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Saare County > Saaremaa > Kuressaare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuressaare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuressaare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Georg Ots Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georg Ots Spa Hotel is located on the largest island in Estonian - in Saaremaa in the city of Kuressaare, near Kuressaare Castle. Georg Ots Spa Hotel opened its doors in May 2004 and was the first wellness spa in Estonia. Ever since, the prestigious travel magazine "Conde Nast Traveler" has included the hotel on its list of top spa hotels. The hotel also underwent refreshment in 2015. The hotel has 92 rooms, including 85 double rooms, 3 family rooms and 4 suites. There are also rooms suitable for people with allergies or special needs. We offer rooms for families with children where you can find towels and bedclothes featuring cartoon characters, colored pencils along with images to color. Come and discover with your whole family. We love all spa fanciers, big and small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Georg Ots Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georg Ots Hotel Saaremaa
Georg Ots Spa Hotel Kuressaare, Saaremaa, Estonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing