We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place bit pricey though”
Review of Theo's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Theo's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place bit pricey though”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My wife and i went for a relaxing holiday in Jul 09 on a bed & breakfast basis. After an interesting bus journey (driver going round blind hairpin bends at speed and whilst on the phone!) we arrived to a warm greeting from Theo and Elena. We were shown to our room which was what we would expect from a 2* hotel, clean and simple but were surprised with the size of the bathroom, i could touch all 4 walls at once and sitting on the toilet meant having your face in the sink or your feet out of the door.

On the first morning we went down for breakfast and arrived about 15 mins before they stopped serving. It appeared that we had missed breakfast as the only things available were crusty bread, 1 choice of cereal and some boiled eggs but we later found out that this was in fact a normal breakfast with 1 item being changed each morning (tinned fruit or ham and cheese were the other mornings options instead of boiled eggs). Cooked breakfast was also available at additional cost.

The pool was warm, clean and there was a nice relaxed atmosphere with the other guests. It was never too busy and although there was no bar, there was a help yourself drinks fridge which relied upon guest honesty. The pool furniture was in dire need of replacement, the loungers were old and uncomfortable, the umbrellas had seen better days and and kept blowing away with a slight gust of wind and the lounger cushions were grotty.

The restaurant served a decent variety of foods in the evening with a daily special, i wouldn't go as far as some of the other reviews and say it was amazing but it was nice. The greek night was more about the entertainment than the food, it was a normal evening menu but with greek dancers. Also the price of the daily specials wasn't displayed.

The bar/reception area was also in dire need of refurbishment, the wicker chairs and their cushions were dated and looked a bit tired.

The beach and town were only a 10 min stroll away and there was a decent selection of bars and restaurants. the beach itself was clean and there were plenty of loungers and umbrellas to go round. It was worth walking a bit further down to get past the pebbly bit and find a sandier area.

My main gripe about Theo's was the extortionate price we paid for a week's holiday in a 2* hotel. we booked a couple of months in advance and didn't have much change from £900! I would expect better breakfast, more up to date facilities and a bathroom which i could actually dry myself in for that kind of money, regardless of the * rating. The fact that we paid an extra 5 euros a day for air conditioning just added insult to injury! Put evening meals and drinks on top of that and it's not exactly a cheap holiday for 2! This may just be the price of Greek holidays as a whole but it's still pricey.

Don't get me wrong we had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday, Theo and Elena were great hosts and as it was such a small and intimate hotel it was easy to spend the evenings talking and drinking with others guests into the wee small hours which isn't easy to do in larger hotels. If you can get this on a last minute deal then it would be a great choice for a budget holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klaus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    69
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
48
176
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We stayed at the hotel in May for a week. When we arrived the reception was great from Elena and Theo. The hotel staff were very good and the hotel was clean and tidy the pool area needs updating lick of paint and new beds and parasols. We did feel as the week went on if you didn't spend time at the hotel for meals and drinks you were ignored and made to feel very intiminated by the owners.The village of Pagi was very nice we found an Excellent Italian restaurant called Mama Mia's. Brilliant service and food . The garden area outside was fantastic for eating and watching the sunset . PS no fridges in the rooms at Theos. !!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smithy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iluvsangeorge, Public Relations manager and ex-guest at Theo's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
The title of this report is very unfair and not at all representative. Many ex-guests would be amazed and mis-believing at what they are reading.

The comments that the owners ignored guests or were 'intimidating' come as a great surprise and are totally contrary to most guests experiences. The hotel and owners have excellent reputations for friendliness and the hotel is famous for its relaxed happy atmosphere. However not all guests wish to get on close chatty terms and the owners respect this by not forcing themselves on guests.
The owners go to a great deal of trouble with the restaurant, including putting on real 'speciaI' Greek meals, often cooked for many hours, as an option each night. It must be disheartening when some guests never eat in. Maybe a misplaced sense of guilt brought about this visitors interpretations.

The facts speak for themselves. Since its opening Theo's Hotel has achieved 16 SUCCESSIVE Thomsons Gold Awards based on guests reports. Even 1 would be unlikely if the owners ignore guests or are intimidating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Me and my partner visited Hotel Theo's for 10 days, and we had a lovely, relaxing time. Apart from being eaten to death by insects (not the hotel's fault, of course!) and came face to face with snakes and locusts we had a very peaceful stay.
The pool area could do with a bit of an upgrade (the umbrella's and sunbeds were a little worse for wear), but the pool was beautful and clean (although cold!) and the lovely little fridge Elena and Theo put to one side and allow you to help yourself to drinks and pay later is wonderful.
Theo is a lovely, kind man; me and my partner missed breakfast on our first day due to extreme fatigue and he very kindly gave us a coke and a plate of cakes and biscuits on the house to fill us up 'no empty stomach!' and Elena is equally hospitable, providing us with a free Frappe' (which are WONDERFUL! You MUST try them if you come here) whilst we waited for our departure coach.
We are quite young and were not often greeted warmly by some guests (not all, for the most part all of the guests staying here were wonderful, in particular Rosalind and Bob (hello, if you're reading this!) ) but all we look for in a holiday is a quiet, peaceful hotel and a quiet resort town and we got both of these during our stay.
The restaurant in Theo's s DELIGHTFUL! The food is wonderful! (try Spaghetti Greek style, it is delicious!), excellent quality and wonderful, polite service. Have a meal whilst enjoying the fabulous greek night Theo puts on every week and while you're at it, treat yourself to a 'Theo's Special' Ice Cream, complete with sparklers!
The rooms were delightful - very basic and the beds were rock solid (no kidding - i hurt my back!) but once you get used to them, they're very comfortable and the cleaning lady had a blanket put under my sheet and gave me an extra pillow in order to improve my comfort, which was lovely. The hotel rooms are exactly what it says - 2 star. Basic, but comfortable. The shower is very small but more than adequate for your needs and the rooms were cleaned (and even neatened!) every single day and it was a delight to return back to them.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone with walking difficulties because for the most part the return is uphill (although the incline is very gradual, the hill to the hotel itself is most certainly not) I have CFS(M.E) and it wore me out, I was only able to manage the walk back to the hotel on the evening when it was cool.
I recommend Aleksander's Moped hire if you're thinking of hiring a moped or a car, it's literally just down the hill and excellent deals.
I would like to mention in particular the wonderful restaurant we frequented in (almost every night!) called 'Mamma Mia's' - it's literally a 10 minutes walk from the restaurant next to the church and on the corner of the hill decline towards the beach -the food is more than delicious, the prices were excellent (Get the pizza - it is amazing! You'll never order out again, trust me!) and the BEAUTIFUL garden setting provides a beautiful eating place, especially on the evening were you can enjoy the sunset from the candlelit tables that they set for you.
The best thing about the restaurant, besides the food, was the service and the owners - I have never met more hospitable, kind and friendly owners ever before in a restaurant. Our waitress, a lovely Italian girl, served us almost every time we went with complimentary starters with my favourite greek food, mennazole (I haven't a clue how to spell it!) and even remembered my Vegetarian preference and brought out food accordingly. She was always friendly and we chatted a lot whilst we stayed there - she was wonderful. The owners, an (English?) gentleman and his Italian wife made us feel at home, providing us with directions how to get about Corfu Town and general chats whenever we went. They were always 110% friendly. I cannot praise this restaurant enough and if you do not visit here if you go to Theo's, or indeed any Hotel in Agios Georgios, you are missing out on a wonderful experience.
All in all, a wonderful holiday for me and my partner and we will be returning :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rem_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed at Theos in June 2008 after a rather hair-raising drive through narrow roads in the dark but cannot fault the holiday. Theo and Eleanor are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The position is perfect, a 10 minute leisurely stroll from the beach means that the setting is very peaceful. This is a two star hotel and therefore you cannot expect too much of the rooms. They are very basic and rather small but scrupulously clean with good quality bedding, the showerroom extremely small but we understand that they are not all so. A nice touch was the little vase of local flowers on the dressing table when we arrived, indicative of the care taken to make your stay pleasant. Most visitors were there for the umpteenth time although we only stumbled upon it as a late deal. The restaurant is on a covered terrace with lovely views of the local hills. The menu is good although a touch limited for a two week stay however, we tend to like to eat out as we think this is a major part of a greek holiday. We did get the impression that Theo was sometimes disappointed when we did this although this did not affect how he welcomed us on our return each evening for a few drinks before bed! All in all a super holiday in a very good simple hotel in a lovely spot.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

I have to say i was very disappointed to hear someone slating theos hotel?,, I have going to theo and elenors hotel for many years! Infact iv been about 10 times because of the service and friendly atmosphere!!!! Theo and elenor have loads of gold awards for their hotel and rightly so.......... Christina (theos sister) runs the bar upstairs next to the pool and she alone is very welcomin and speaks amazing english, Their parents still live in the villiage of pagi and often come down for evening meals to which we have sat with them on our trips!!! My husband and i had our honeymoon there in 2004 and they made us feel really special, bouquets of flowers in our room cards from past friends! Clearly you cant please everyone, but this person was obviously pleased because iv been going back for years!!! WE LOVE THEOS,,,, x0x

  • Liked — pool was on the roof!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank THEFAMOUS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We had a lovely week at Theo's.
Theo,Elena and all the staff really do make you feel so welcome.Our room was perfectly adequate for the price...and we were offered a move to a higher room(due to some shall we say undesirable guests next door to our room!)....the beds are a little hard but the price we paid through Thomson was so reasonable i would not really moan about this!The rooms are kept spotlessly clean which is the main thing.
It's a 10 min walk down to the beach and things were slowing down in Agios Georgios itself during our visit in October, but most bars at the beach were open(if quiet).
We found a lovely little family run restaurant next to the Katoi Bar which was excellent.
All in all,a great week in Corfu....recommend a visit to Paleokastritsa...absolutely stunning!
If you want a great hotel on a budget and you're not that bothered about being slap-bang on the beach we would definitely recommend Theo's....we will be going back next year with any luck!

  • Liked — The friendliness of all at the hotel,staff and guests
  • Disliked — hard bed!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank electrocoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Theo's hotel is a lovely hotel in a lovely location. Everything said about the warm welcome is completely true. I had my birthday during our stay, and the staff (really sorry I can't remember names) made an embarrassing but kind fuss with sparklers and shots. The hotel is in a very peaceful location with stunning views from most balconies and the pool. It's very relaxing sitting by the pool and glancing up from a book to look over the hills and olive groves, and down to the sea if you've got the best spot. When i looked at the web pictures of Theo's, i thought it looked so peaceful, and it really is.

Yes, the hotel is a little away from the main resort and up a slight hill, but it really isn't that bad! It's no further than my walk at home to my local shop, and the only steep part of the hill is very short, right by the hotel. And yes, the bathroom is quite a tight squeeze, but you can get in and out, use the the toilet, sink and shower. If you want a large luxurious bathroom, I don't think Greece is for you. Likewise, as we went in May we did experience some rainy colder days. Again, this is the risk with early and late season in Greece, and why it's cheaper! Greek hotels generally operate in warm weather, so there isn't heating. Taking a jumper and pjs, and even an umbrella, if you're risking October or May is probably a good idea if you don't want to end up grumbling on Trip Advisor.

Most of our fellow guests at Theo's were 20 - 40 years older than us, but very friendly and had far more stamina for late nights than us! It is a fairly quiet hotel and resort, thankfully, but we've stayed in quieter. We hired a car a saw some of the rest of Corfu, and were so relieved we had picked Agios Georgios and not ended up in the 'Brits Abroad' over developed horror of much of the rest of the Island.

The food at Theo's, including the breakfasts, was nice and varied enough even for a fussy vegetarian (me). I would also recommend Katoi Cafe Bar, on the sea front, which does an amazing vegetarian sandwich (I know it sounds hard to believe, but it really was fabulous), and according to my meat eating partner, pretty impressive homemade burgers and hotdogs too.

Overall, it was a very relaxing holiday despite the weather, in a wonderful location and a great small hotel.

  • Liked — Beautiful location and views
  • Disliked — The pool was freezer cold at the start of the holiday, but it was funny watching people's reactions when they jumped in!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty_DoodleDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
3.6 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
8.9 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
24.7 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Agios Georgios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
4.7 mi away
Damia Hotel
Damia Hotel
#7 of 39 in Sidari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tria Adelphia
Tria Adelphia
#2 of 8 in Arillas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theo's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theo's Hotel

Property: Theo's Hotel
Address: Agios Georgios. North Corfu | Pagi, Corfu, Agios Georgios 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Theo's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theos Hotel Agios Georgios
Theo's Hotel Corfu/Agios Georgios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing